1/5 Christy AMPS 144, +4 86, +6.5 97, +8 87, PMPS 76

Michele A & Christy

Member Since 2022
So, I guess I'm doing TR now?

I shot my lowest number, ever.

Even though she dropped in the time from +8 to PMPS, I felt comfortable giving her a dose that was a droplet less than normal because she was super hungry and I fed her a double-treat amount of Young Again Mature LID, which tends to raise her glucose a tad more than canned food.

I, of course, also gave her low-carb canned, which she ate a good amount of after eating the dry.

I'll test again before going to bed, sometime after +2. That number will dictate what time I go to bed and/or how long I stay there before getting up to test her again. :)

I'm liking seeing more greens on her spreadsheet, and I'm liking her behavior changes when she's in the green.
 
If you are following TR, she actually needs more insulin. The idea is to nudge her into lower greens and get rid of the blues. But for TR you would need to feed 100% canned and no dry. Looks like you are following customized dosing, so you might want to put "Custom dosing" in your SS and Signature rather than SLGS.

Good to see more green on her SS :D

There was a cat here on FDMB, whose numbers looked like Christy's do now and she went into remission once the dry was stopped. Even LC dry affects the BG of some cats. Not saying that is the case with Christy but it worth a try if she can do without the dry food.
 
If you are following TR, she actually needs more insulin. The idea is to nudge her into lower greens and get rid of the blues. But for TR you would need to feed 100% canned and no dry. Looks like you are following customized dosing, so you might want to put "Custom dosing" in your SS and Signature rather than SLGS.

Good to see more green on her SS :D

There was a cat here on FDMB, whose numbers looked like Christy's do now and she went into remission once the dry was stopped. Even LC dry affects the BG of some cats. Not saying that is the case with Christy but it worth a try if she can do without the dry food.

Thanks, Bhooma. Young Again is supposed to be Zero Carb not Low Carb, but I get your point about the dry. I used to give her 6-8 pcs of YA kibble at shot time, but then switched back to Inaba fillets and homecooked meats. I've only given more than 8 pcs to her when she absolutely refuses to eat any of the [sometimes dozen] options of canned I've put out for her and her numbers are dropping below 90. I am now, however, more comfortable with 60's and 70's, so 90 doesn't spook me anymore.

And I think what I meant by "So I guess I'm doing TR now?" is "Um, it looks like I need to adopt the TR protocol going forward because Christy and I are now more comfortable (and stable) with lower numbers." So it's a baby-step work in progress. I am still terrified of her having an overnight hypo while I sleep.
 
Back
Top