1/5 Blackie pmps 195 +2 248 +4 253

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ele & Blackie (GA)

Member Since 2009
Good Morning, LL and Happy Hump Day!
Blackie surprised me with that relatively low preshot this morning. Today will be the first day that DH & I will be at tbp since Blackie got sick. Since I'm not confident that he'll use his autofeeder, I asked DMIL to go over and make sure he eats around +4. And I think I might run home before lunch and make sure he hasn't gone too low. He is only at 2.5 units and he's eating, but still not as much as before.

WCR: Blackie is eating okay. He was really slow to eat this morning and had to be coaxed with stirring food, adding small pieces of fish, etc. But he did eat! He's still running when he goes from the kitchen to the living room and jumps on the couch. :-D And he's coming into the kitchen at shot time like he used to do. I am still giving pepcid and I don't know when I should try to stop or decrease that. All P's are in place too.

Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=33589
 
Re: 1/5 Blackie amps 203 +2 203

Happy Wednesday Ele & Blackie.. wow! You might want to play the Pick 3 today.. #s 203 twice!
Wishing you both a wonderful day & some pretty blues & greens!
 
Re: 1/5 Blackie amps 203 +2 203

looks like Blackie is doing much better and is almost back to his old self. Hope things go well while you're at tbp

have a great day
 
Re: 1/5 Blackie amps 203 +2 203

What a great report, Ele! So glad to hear that Blackie is feeling lots better. And what a considerate kitty to get better just when you have to go back to work! I hope his day continues in a nice, safe surf. Check in with you later.

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 1/5 Blackie amps 203 +2 203 +5.5 75

DMIL called & told me that Blackie would not eat his +4 food. So I went home and checked him - 75! I fed him some FF Medley 15% to hold him until DH gets home at +7. Either I need to lower his dose or start feeding him higher carb. With his inconsistent appetite, I can't chance him going too low.
 
Re: 1/5 Blackie amps 203 +2 203 +5.5 75 +7 52 +8 69

Can't help with the dosing or the food.

Glad Blackie is spunky and happy :) I have to find the freeze dried fish someone mentioned the other day.
 
Re: 1/5 Blackie amps 203 pmps 195

Hi Ele - It is good to read that Blackie is eating better for you in the mornings, and acting more like his normal self. I am sorry that he still isn't 100% in the appetite area. It sound like he is getting better. I can't help with the dose questions, or the pepcid. I think I have heard that you can give that whenever needed. ?? It does seem like what you are doing for dose etc is OK - he does have good numbers.
 
Re: 1/5 Blackie amps 203 pmps 195

Ele & Blackie said:
I am still giving pepcid and I don't know when I should try to stop or decrease that.

You know Ele, most people who have cats with crf give pepcid if the cat is vomiting (typically white foam) and or not eating well. Its typical for crf cats to get it long term...as in the rest of their life. :sad: IMHO, if blackie is not 100%, continue to give it. If he improves you can try stopping it. But if you end up in this position again soon, you may want to consider using it like any other daily medication. Please talk to your vet about the best option for Blackie.

Im sure you have read about stomach acid, or pepcid specifically. This is a good review and help in understanding why a cat with crf cat might need this on a regular basis vs prn:
http://www.felinecrf.org/stomach_acid.htm

Im still so thrilled things are improving. I know you are heading out soon. I keep my fingers crossed everyday that he feels well enough to give you confidence to go have some FUN! You have a great plan in place, and I know he will be taken well care of.

And those BG's...whats up blackie?!?!?!? :shock: Half your dose (or so) and youre throwing greens???? Yowza!
 
Thanks, Caroline. I always love to have you visit our condo - you always lift my spirits. :-D I'll continue the pepcid and I still have the Mirtazapine if I need it. Blackie ate great tonight, but I can't count on that Yowza is right! :lol: I was shocked by those greens and reduced Blackie's dose to 2.25. I'm hoping to get his bgs stable before we go on vaca.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top