1/5 Alley PMPS 75; +3 64; +9 59

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dan & Alley

Member Since 2016
Previously

Another low reading at +2. Yesterday was 43, today it's 38. I'll hold off on adding a couple carb treats like I did yesterday since Alley's BG recovered strongly yesterday to 68 at +4, to 81 at +9, and to 73 at AMPS this morning. Of course, if Alley stays low or moves lower, I won't hesitate to hit her with a couple grams of carbs.

At any rate, the 38 earns Alley a reduction tonight so I'll drop down to 2.0U from 2.5U. That's skipping over 2.25U but there's method to the madness. Just like Alley's first rodeo, I'll be spending time out of town working and this upcoming Monday through Friday will be such an instance. My wife is deathly afraid of needles and she can make herself do shots for Alley's sake, but doing ear-pokes is out of the question. Non negotiable, full stop. I'd rather see Alley a bit higher by Monday morning than continue with relatively low numbers while my wife shoots blind while I'm away working, thus the dose hop down to 2.0U tonight. Depending on how Alley reacts tonight through Monday morning, I should have a good idea whether to keep Alley's dose at 2.0U next week or drop her further to maintain a margin of safety.
 
Dan any numbers below 40 really should be making you sit up and take notice. Hot on the heals from that 43 last night, I'd be concerned she is going to make her feelings very clear on the reduction. That and the fact she's not getting the pooch carbs.

I really think you should feed something and please test again in 20min, it's very early in the cycle and just because she came up last night doesn't mean she'll do the same today.

I am glad you are reducing and understand the going down to 2.u. given that your wife will be unable to test.
 
Honestly, Dan, I wouldn't mess around with a number in the 30's. Especially this early in the cycle. Please give some carbs to Alley-- the effects boosting BG will be temporary, a serious hypo event could leave permanent damage. This is nothing to be complacent or casual about.
 
Woah! Dan, please post and let us know that Alley is okay. That early in a cycle and the number to go that low is time to spring into action and bring up the number over 50. I hope she is okay!
 
Thanks all. +8 61. Alley took a backseat this morning. My wife went to the doctor with her cold/flu still strong after 10 days (I started feeling better after 7 days). She ended up on an ambulance ride to the ER with oxygen saturation around 78%, which is dangerously low. So I just now got back from the ER myself and found Alley at 61 at +8. Anyway, got to get back to the hospital, wife is fine now and getting supplemental oxygen. She's going to be fine but will need some help getting over this awful virus.
 
Thanks everyone. Alley's mom is resting and getting oxygen and appropriate treatment/care. It will just take time before she's breathing properly on her own.

PMPS @ 75. I was going to drop Alley to 2.0U this evening in anticipation of being away next Monday - Friday (my wife can shoot while I'm away but she can't bring herself to do ear-pokes).

Now with my wife in the hospital under respiratory care while she recovers from the severe case of the crud she's had since Christmas (and she also has spots of pneumonia on top of everything else), I'm going to have much less attention available for Alley. It's going to be a lot of "shoot and run" this weekend and for however long my wife is laid up. For this reason, I'm dropping Alley's dose even further, down to 1.75U. This should be enough to keep Alley out of the dangerous high numbers while going far to keep her away from anything dangerously low. Usually, I have a lot of attention I can pay Alley and I can monitor frequently, but currently this isn't so. Alley, while important, is an afterthought with my wife hospitalized... thus the 0.75U drop from 2.5U to 1.75U.
 
Hi Dan, We are sending very strong healing vines for your wife and hope that she gets a room soon! I'm glad you've decided to drop Alley's dose so that you won't have to worry (too much). Sending lots of good wishes to you all! Wishing your wife a speedy recovery, and wishing for you to stay healthy!!
 
Wife said I had to go home and get some sleep so she made me leave... Translate this to mean I was bugging her and she wanted peace and quiet. Alley gave PMPS at 75 before the very reduced (1.75U) shot Friday evening. +3 and +9 at 64 and 59, so nice numbers tonight. Alley's tendency is to react to changes most noticeably about 2 cycles/24 hours after the change, so if she starts putting up higher numbers from the 0.75U drop, I'm expecting to see it start to manifest Saturday evening. Alley is also back to full appetite, eating like the feline/porcine (literally cat/pig) hybrid she's always been (she throws bits far and wide) in her typical mealtime orgy of "NOM NOM NOM!"

With the critical shortage of hospital beds, there's a good chance my wife will be released Saturday and sent home with an oxygen concentrator since she's responded very well to supplemental oxygen. Her hypoxemia was very severe, dangerously severe, with 78% SO2 Friday morning which has since improved to around 92 - 93% with 3 LPM oxygen, still a bit low but above the clinical hypoxemia range which kicks in at <90%.

Never a dull moment... now where do I go to complain? Lol.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top