1/4 Simon PMPS 132 +2.5 262

Status
Not open for further replies.

Georgia and Simon (GA)

Member Since 2010
I definitely need some suggestions. I have been doing this a long time, but Simon is changing up some of the rules. He has been going high during the day and then in the middle of the night, goes very low. He is alerting me when he is low by crying and pawing at my face. Needless to say, I can't get very much sleep when this happens between 12 and 2:00 in the morning. Not sleeping is not good for me, my job, DH and also Simon and Missy. I'm not sure what I can do to avoid having this happen. I give him FF at night before bed. That always kept his BG pretty consistent in the past. I give Wellness during the day when he is so high because that seems to help bring BG down.

Simon has multiple health issues, along with the diabetes. Pancreatitis episodes, IBD, CKD, and ear allergies. I am afraid that because of all the other things, his diabetes is just going to always be very wonky. I just want to make sure he is safe overnight but not so high during the day. Crazy dance! Any suggestions are appreciated!

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/1-3-simon-pmps-349-4-141-6-56.130853/
 
Are you able to leave any food out for Simon to eat during the night? I hope you can find something that helps.
 
I leave fuds out for Trix...but whether she eats it or not is hit or miss. The other kitties eat, it, too, so I'm never sure who ate most of it.

I would add to your subject line that you're looking for ideas ... I'm sure lots of people have tips!
 
No help from me. But I'm going to follow this thread to pick up ideas from others. Thanks for putting the question out there.

Marilyn and Polly
 
I am not sure what time you shoot or what time you go to bed, or your testing availablilty is, but perhapd if you are seeing a pretty quick jump down at the bedtime test, give him a slightly higher carb food before bed? I am not sure how carb sensitive he is, Skooter, my cat, is so even a slightly higher % carb does the trick for him. He also has IBD, so I try to be careful with foods and his stomach. Not sure if this would be an option for you, but thought I would throw it out there...
 
Ok, so Simon has made a liar out of me by going down to 80 at lunchtime. So much for saying that he is high during the day.
I have an automatic feeder that goes off twice during the evening for Simon to eat. Like Trixie, it is hit or miss whether he will eat it all. I have to separate Missy at night or she would eat his food all the time.
Molly, I think I am going to try your suggestion by giving him some MC food right before bed. I probably will do it when his BG is under 200 and see what happens.

Thanks for your posts! I'll keep you updated on his day.
 
I am feeding Simon just his regular low carb food right now to see where he is going today without giving him something that I know will bump up his BG. Of course, If he dips any lower, I will give him some HC.
I guess he is feeling pretty well since he just bumped Missy off of the cat bed next to the heating vent and has claimed it for his own. And it takes a lot to move Missy since she is 20 pounds and rules the roof around here!
 
This is my first time to insert a picture with the new format. Hopefully, it works and shows the pic with Simon in the green bed near the heat vent and Missy pushed out of that bed into the one further away from the heart source. Missy is so big she has trouble fitting into the bed :). I promise I didn't contribute to her fatness -- I adopted her that way, all 20 pounds of her!
Simon and Missy2.JPG
 
They are so cute! I have beds near the heating vents like that, too. I'm jealous of my kitties' sleeping accomodatons!!!
 
Cute pictures. :cat:
Wow, 20 pounds!

I hope the trick works and you will be able to sleep better.
 
I pulled out the HC food. I have to run up to my brother's house to check on it. He got a call from his security company that says an alarm has gone off in their living room. They are in Canada visiting his wife's family. It is going to take me about 1 1/2 hours to do this, so I don't want Simon to get any lower while I am gone. I'm taking DH with me just in case there is an intruder in their home.
 
Hi Georgia :coffee::coffee::coffee:

One has to love wonkiness in kitties. Sure is a nice cycle today though. I used to feed Mannie some MC in the evening cycle too if I had some sort of a clue he was headed down. Sometimes that worked, sometimes it didn't and he went low anyways. I wish you luck.

Love the pic, too cute. Wow on the 20 lbs. We had one once that tipped the scale at 18.

Have a great day today!
 
I'm not sure what dose to give Simon tonight seeing how he went pretty low today and his history over the last few days is to go low overnight. I think i should definitely reduce by .25 tonight or even more since I had to resort to HC food when he was going low. Looking for expert eyes right now. What is your opinion about the dose? I feel like I am a newbie all over again!
 
Georgia

Adorable pic!!! I'd love to make a suggestion but your SS link isn't working and I'd be remiss if I suggested something without looking at his SS. Our master SS list does not have his new SS on it.
 
I may need some help. When I click on the link, it takes me to the spreadsheet. Not sure why you are not seeing it. I am definitely not a tech person .
 
Got it! What I'm seeing is he's switched his cycles around. This is not uncommon (Gracie has done it recently, too).

You can reduce the dose to bring the overall curve a little higher so you, hopefully, don't have to be up all night. Because he's not newly dx and not likely to go into remission, raising his curve to perhaps high green, low blue to keep him safe at night and let you sleep is definitely an option.

The other option would be to feed him some higher carb food before you go to bed but unless that is near nadir, there's no guarantee he'd surf all night.

ETA: you're welcome!! I think reducing him is fine....see above :bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Georgia,
Simon's SS is working just fine.
I hope that you will find the solution to the nighttime cycle. Rusty is an only cat, so we just put food out for him at bedtime: a bowl of his regular LC (usually Wellness Chicken or Turkey or FF T&G), a little bowl of very LC Weruva Paw Lickin' Chicken, and a little dish of freeze-dried treats). He grazes on this smorgasboard and usually finishes it just before AMPS. Rusty is not food-motivated, so it is OK with me if he eats during the 2-hour period before PS. It all evens out over the course of the cycle (usually). I find that, generally speaking, free-feeding keeps Rusty on a more-or-less even keel. But, of course, he still gets bounces and drops. He's a cat!

Have a good evening,

Ella & Rusty
 
Hoping that you're sleeping cosily and don't get any face paw action tonight. But that is way cool that he wakes you to let you know he's low, what a smart kitty :cool:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top