1/4 Ripley PMPS 121, +2 96

Status
Not open for further replies.

Josie & Ripley (GA)

Member Since 2012
Good Morning! TGIF!

Looks like the dog kibble from yesterday went through her system, and she's hopefully back on track in mostly-greenland :mrgreen: .

I'm looking forward to getting caught up on everyone's condos -- there's so much to learn and understand!

It's been clear but very chilly here; I bet my talented mrs. ripley is going to spend her day on her rocking chair by the wall heater. Hopefully my DH will coax her to some sunny spot in the backyard!

~Josie
 
Re: 1/4 Ripley AMPS 99

Purrfectly wonderful start to the day, Ms. Ripley! TGIF is an understatement! Hope she surfs safely for you!
 
Re: 1/4 Ripley AMPS 99

Hi guys .. that is a great looking start to the day for ripley! Fingers crossed she just surfs here all day for you .. have a great weekend guys!
 
Re: 1/4 Ripley AMPS 99, +6.5 20 please advise!

1/4/13

PMPS 99
+5.5 22 fed 2 tsp. 13%
+6 28 fed 1 tsp. 13%
+6.5 20 fed 2 tsp 13% and 2 drops karo

I just got home at +6.5, DH has been trying to steer/test numbers. I will test at +7, in about 5 mins.

~Josie

ETA: acting ok, eating when fed, sleeping in btwn feeding (normal for her)
 
Re: 1/4 Ripley AMPS 99, +6.5 20 please advise!

Its wearing off fast, maybe give her a little more syrup (2 drops isnt lasting) and some more HC food. Keep testing. You are doing all the right things. Hopefully she will come up soon anyway.
 
Re: 1/4 Ripley AMPS 99, +6.5 20 please advise!

And congrats on the dose decrease she just earned it. My Bailey has been down to 1.9 with no symptoms but lets not have Ripley go there. Test in 15mins (+7.15 and let us know) I HAVE JUST EDITED THIS MESSAGE BECAUSE I MEANT 1.9 CANADIAN WHICH IS 34. SEE BELOW.
 
Re: 1/4 Ripley AMPS 99, +6.5 20 please advise!

Do you have Karo syrup, honey or maple syrup?? Get her to lick it or run it on her gums & retest in 15 min
Sorry just saw the posts yes it is normal to jump that much but it wears off quick so keep testing
 
Re: 1/4 Ripley AMPS 99, +6.5 20, +7 90

Sorry I meant 34 _ i was looking at canadian numbers . But Bailey went to 16 one time and was almost in a coma. I rubbed syrup on his gums and he came up really fast back to normal if a bit wobbly until I gave him more syrup again and fed him.
 
Re: 1/4 Ripley AMPS 99, +6.5 20, +7 90

90! Thats much better. But the sugar can wear off fast so test again in 15. If he keeps rising after that you can slow down the tests.

911 has passed (for now) so you can remove the 911 icon.. but put it back on again if he gets under 30 again!!
 
Re: 1/4 Ripley AMPS 99, +6.5 20, +7 90

Tonite she should get a decrease to 0.5IU but she may be sensitive to insulin for a few days after this so watch her close . Congrats on both the decrease and managing this low! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/4 Ripley AMPS 99, +6.5 20, +7 90, +7.25 101

She's at 101 now (+7.25).

Should I feed, or just test every 30 mins now?

Thank you for all of your help. I'm going to take some deep breaths.
 
Re: 1/4 Ripley AMPS 99, +6.5 20, +7 90

Ohmygoodness I thought I'd be so prepared for this, but she got my heart racing! Thank you for all of your advice. I've been wishing for a decrease, but didn't know it would be this scary nailbite_smile .
 
Re: 1/4 Ripley AMPS 99, +6.5 20, +7 90

You are doing awesome! It is scary but you handled it well! Now when it happens next time you wil feel more prepared! Congrats on the dosecrease!
 
Re: 1/4 Ripley AMPS 99, +6.5 20, +7 90

Great job, Josie and DH! Good luck on the dose decrease - hold 'er steady Ripley! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/4 Ripley +6.5 20, +7 90, +7.75 114, +9 146

:shock:

Sheesh, Ripley, no need to be this dramatic!

Lesson learned for next time Ripley is low: she doesn't seem very carb sensitive at all. Next time you see a number in the 30s, go straight for 18% food and give 2 tsp. If that doesn't bump her up, then add karo to another 2 tsp. of the 18% food. Test every 15-20 minutes when she is that low, especially because you now know that it might take you longer to pull her up than a cat that is more carb sensitive.

Best bet, of course, is to not let her get to the 20s in the first place. You might even find that you need to give gravy in the 40s to keep her from even getting to the 30s. You for sure don't want her in the 20s again.

Good job keeping calm today (your DH too), I just don't like that she sat in the 20s for that long.

I would definitely reduce her dose to 0.5u tonight.
 
1/4 Ripley +6.5 20, +7 90, +7.75 114, +9 146, +11 155

Drama Queen of the day!

I'm so glad that this happened on a day when my DH happened to be at home; any other work day, and she would've been hypo for 2 more hours :shock: .

We have higher carb gravy food avail., but was overlooked by DH ~ he was looking for cans rather than pouches, but now knows that they are there :smile: .

I'm looking forward to monitoring Ripley over the weekend to see how she does with this dose decrease!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top