1/4 Phoenix - AMPS 309, +3 165, +6 127

Status
Not open for further replies.

bri4937

Member Since 2014
Today is the first day i've been home at appropriate times to do a curve. Will continue throughout the afternoon/evening.
 
+9 114. What should I do about evening dosage? Had increased to 1.5 this morning because I was having consistent numbers in the 200s.
 
Hi Brianne - here is your previous post http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-to-the-group.130703/#post-1344656
We like to link the previous post so we can see what happened previously and what might have been suggested. One of the key things that Julie posted for you last time, is that Lantus doses are held for at least 6 cycles, unless kitty earns a reduction (goes under 50). Phoenix's spreadsheet shows that you raised the dose to 1.25U last night, then again 1.5U this morning. I'd go back to 1.0U tonight and hold there for at least 6 cycles, possibly more depending on the numbers. It takes at 6 cycles for the Lantus Depot to form and show you what a dose can do. I know it's hard to see those higher numbers, but Lantus requires patience, not my strong suite. :rolleyes:

The SS doesn't show data for January 2nd and it also looks like there was no shot the night of the 1st? Skipping a shot can cause higher numbers.
 
Thank you, she has been getting 1 unit twice a day since the night of the 31st. I tried to do 1.25 but don't feel I can consistently with the graduations on the syringe. That's why i went to 1.5 this morning.
 
Could you update your SS to show the rest of the data? We don't like to make suggestions on doses without seeing the data. I'd still try going back to maybe 1.25U if you can. Kitties are very sensitive to small increases as you can see by today's cycle. One method is to try with an old syringe. Put in 1.5U of colored liquid of some kind, point the syringe up, then rotate to squeeze out drops. Count the number of drops down to 1.5U then cut that in half to get your 1.25U dose. It may take a bit of practice. I use a magnifying glass too and can see if the insulin is to the top or the bottom of the marking.
 
I will try to update the spreadsheet when I can get on a computer. PMPS reading is 265 but not sure how accurate it was. Readings are very hard to get because she will not hold still. I don't know what to do. She is very excited to get her treat and doesn't run, but she jerks and wiggles.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top