1/4 Ole AMPS 534 +2 600+ +5 413 +10 442 PMPS 600+

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rebekah

Member Since 2013
Good morning,
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=111183

A pattern that I have noticed with Ole over the last couple of days is that he acts as though he feels really crummy just after I give him his shot. You can see that for the past several days, his first test after his shot is higher than his AMPS. Is there a reason for this? Is it common?

He still tests negative for K, his breath is normal, no signs of neuropathy, his 5 P's seem to be in order, but I'm afraid that his purrs are not happy contented purrs. His only real interest is food and going outside for some fresh air. I will increase his dose this evening to 4U.

Rebekah
 
Re: 1/4 Ole AMPS 534 +2 600+

Hi, Rebekah. Ozy often had a spike at about that time. His food raised him, the previous shot had worn off and the onset for the recent one didn't happen until around +3.

So sorry he is so high.
 
Re: 1/4 Ole AMPS 534 +2 600+

How about raising Ole's dose tonight to 4.0u. I'm encouraging you to raise his dose by 0.5u every 4 cycles until we see some yellow.

What would you think about using R as a tool to help with these high numbers? If you're interested, I'll ask some of the experienced folks to stop by to help you learn how to use it.
 
Re: 1/4 Ole AMPS 534 +2 600+

I would love to hear about R as I don't really know what it is, I'm assuming that it is a type of insulin. These high numbers are really stressing us out.

Yes, as I mentioned in my previous post, I will be increasing his dose to 4U tonight.

Thank you,
R
 
Re: 1/4 Ole AMPS 534 +2 600+ +5 413

it's a "regular" insulin, Humulin R or Novolin R. I've written extensively about it for Suzanne/Cobb yesterday. Here's the link to that post http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=111174. I think you've been following Cobb's story, but you could read backwards through a few of his posts if not.

I'd be glad to help you learn and there are others that use R as well. Notice the part in what I wrote to Suzanne about syringes and see if your current ones will work.
 
Re: 1/4 Ole AMPS 534 +2 600+ +5 413

I hope Ole will continue to slide down today. Good luck with the dosecrease tonight. Furball usually has a small food spike too.
 
Re: 1/4 Ole AMPS 534 +2 600+ +5 413

I'll ask some folks to stop by.

R (also called "Regular" insulin, Humulin R, Novolin R) is a short acting, very potent type of insulin. It's duration is about 4 hrs -- give or take. It's available without a prescription. It is used as a bolus insulin -- it's purpose is to boost the basal insulin (in this case, Lantus). In theory, the R acts to lower number so the Lantus has an easier time "latching on" and more gently lowering BG. Where vets often use is is when a cat is hospitalized with DKA so they can get numbers down in a hurry and because they are constantly monitoring. We use it here for cats that have high dose conditions, are very bouncy, or where we need to break through high numbers. It's an adjunct tool but one you need to be cautious using.

I've not used R so I'm reticent to provide more than an overview. What you will end up doing is giving a little bit of R (e.g., 0.1u) and then doing a curve and testing ever hour for 4 hrs. That will give you an idea of how the R is working in conjunction with Lantus. The big difference is that once R is gone, it's gone. There is no depot. The big thing to avoid is the nadir of both the R and Lantus overlapping.
 
Re: 1/4 Ole AMPS 534 +2 600+ +5 413

You also need to try not to give R when a bounce is breaking. I've made that mistake a few times. It's not always easy to tell when a bounce is breaking. Besides not giving R when the two nadirs may coincide, I would try to give it when Ole is flat or rising in numbers. The reason is giving R when the cat is heading down anyway, can add a lot of momentum to his dive and besides it being hard to control to slow it down, it will also cause a bounce back up into high numbers again (a roller coaster).
 
Re: 1/4 Ole AMPS 534 +2 600+ +5 413

do you have questions we can answer? I think Sandy is wanting to give you a hand with it. Timing is everything, so once we've answered your questions and you have practiced getting 0.1u doses with syringes that will work, we'll figure out the time that works for you and Sandy/or one of us that uses it, and give it a shot. literally. hehe.

It's a great extra tool to have in the toolbox. I really liked having it as an option to use with punkin. with him, we were able to prevent bounces and bring the entire range of blood sugar down a level. It's nothing to be afraid of - we'll help you learn to use it safely with him.

we want to get to a dose of Lantus that is mostly good for controlling his BGs, but in the meantime while we raise that dose, this will hep him feel a little better.
 
Re: 1/4 Ole AMPS 534 +2 600+ +5 413 +10 442

Hi all,

Sorry for the delay in getting back to you but I had run a few errands and was out of the house for a couple of hours.

My biggest question is would Ole be on R regularly, or can he be on it only on the weekends. My concern is that because I work full time, I can't be here to test every hour, and otherwise regulate, except on weekends.

I am very interested in trying R if possible. Every day that passes, Ole is sicker and sicker. I believe that I am beginning to see signs of imbalance in his back legs. It is very hard for me to watch him suffer and not seem to be getting better but in fact worse.

My current syringes I believe would be too big for a .1U dose. Alex did order syringes from DSW, but I'm not sure what type he chose.

I truly do appreciate all of the help you have been giving us. I know that sometimes I might seem to be short but it is because I am very worried, over worked and a bit sleep deprived.

Thanks again for your kindness,
Rebekah
 
Re: 1/4 Ole AMPS 534 +2 600+ +5 413

To follow up on Rebekah's questions...

Is R usually a short term use insulin? Meaning you don't use it forever. You might use it for a few weeks to get the numbers down and that gives Lantus the time it needs to work?
 
Re: 1/4 Ole AMPS 534 +2 600+ +5 413

You don't have to use R on a daily basis. You can use it on the weekends or on an evening when you're home. In part, the curve is for your knowledge so you know how Ole is responding. Once you see how he responds, you won't have to test every hour. You might want to look at Dyana's J.D's spreadsheet. Dyana uses R to combat J.D's bouncing and she's careful to use R mostly when she's home. Most people use R on an "as needed" basis. Like I mentioned earlier, it is fast acting and when it's gone, it's gone.
 
Re: 1/4 Ole AMPS 534 +2 600+ +5 413

Hi there :cool:

Just popping in to say I'm happy to help with the R and am having a good look at Oles ss along with putting some thoughts and questions together.

for the moment I will say that R is a powerful tool, to use as needed, and also that it is as important to know when not to use it as it is to know when.

I've seen the spell it can cast; kindof like The Hobbit, Bilbo Baggins and that ring. The more he exposed himself to the powers the ring gave him, the more he wanted to use it. . . :cool:

BBL
Hang in there!
 
Re: 1/4 Ole AMPS 534 +2 600+ +5 413

Hello Sandy and all,

Let's try R. When you are ready, let me know what you would like me to do.

Thank you,

Signed:
Excited but scared in Flagstaff.
Hahahaha
 
Hey all,

I must turn in. I've been spinning like a top and am starting to get sick. Alex will take the PM BG's. I wanted to let you know why I wasn't responding anymore this evening.

Thanks again!
R
 
yikes, rebekah, hope you're feeling better by morning. spinning doesn't sound good at all.

btw, Zener's beans, anne & liz, are also in Flagstaff, so if you can't get 0.1u out of your current syringes and your new ones haven't arrived yet, you might pm them and see if they use something thin like the Terumo's. i'm thinking they might use them.

you'll choose when to use or not use the R. and you only test hourly while you're learning how Ole responds to it - like just a few times.

But with Ole feeling badly, it's time to do something right away. I think using the R to move him down is a good choice. and I'm glad Alex increased his dose tonight.

Are you giving him Zobaline for neuropathy?

take care of yourself!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top