? 1/4 Ming PMPS=349, +2=313, +4=261 increase?

The brand name, Zofran, is really expensive. Did you get the generic? It's still pricey here in Ontario but not as $$$ as Zofran.
 
The brand name, Zofran, is really expensive. Did you get the generic? It's still pricey here in Ontario but not as $$$ as Zofran.
No I haven’t talked to my vet about it yet. Wendy was just telling me it was $17 a pill for Zofran and I was just responding to her on this new condo. Hahaha and I just realized I should probably quote her last post to avoid confusion in the future!

How much was the generic brand?
 
No I haven’t talked to my vet about it yet. Wendy was just telling me it was $17 a pill for Zofran and I was just responding to her on this new condo. Hahaha and I just realized I should probably quote her last post to avoid confusion in the future!

How much was the generic brand?
Hard to recall - maybe $49 for 12 tablets of 4 mg each. Dosing was 1/4 tab every 8 hours but I gave it less often.
 
Hard to recall - maybe $49 for 12 tablets of 4 mg each. Dosing was 1/4 tab every 8 hours but I gave it less often.

Oh wow! I don’t think I would give it regularly either unless I see a real difference. Probably just in times like these. This also is pushing me towards again seriously thinking about CBD as a regular thing for Ming. I’m just scared to try it because I can’t consult a vet about it lol but I’ll go again and actually do real research. Maybe go into a dispensary and ask about it.

My vet is going to write a script for me! She said you can give it SC. I think she means subq? I’m asking for clarification but that’s interesting! Maybe it’ll be cheaper too.
 
Oh wow! I don’t think I would give it regularly either unless I see a real difference. Probably just in times like these. This also is pushing me towards again seriously thinking about CBD as a regular thing for Ming. I’m just scared to try it because I can’t consult a vet about it lol but I’ll go again and actually do real research. Maybe go into a dispensary and ask about it.

My vet is going to write a script for me! She said you can give it SC. I think she means subq? I’m asking for clarification but that’s interesting! Maybe it’ll be cheaper too.
Yes, I think SC means subcutaneous. Is that the ondansetron?
 
The generic ondansetron is about $4 a pill locally here too. My kitty's dose is half a pill. I am glad you can get the injectible. I asked Neko's IM vet about it (it's what they used at the clinic) but I couldn't get a script for it. It's supposed to be cheaper and last longer. Let me know where you source it.

Glad Ming is eating today.
 
The generic ondansetron is about $4 a pill locally here too. My kitty's dose is half a pill. I am glad you can get the injectible. I asked Neko's IM vet about it (it's what they used at the clinic) but I couldn't get a script for it. It's supposed to be cheaper and last longer. Let me know where you source it.

Glad Ming is eating today.

Why couldn’t you get a script?
 
He peed! I might be paranoid but the stick doesn’t match any of the colours shown. It’s like a ... wet darker version of the no ketones result. Like if you wet your clothing, it’s going to be darker but it’s still the same colour. I can’t remember if it was always like that when I would say no ketones present.

Maybe he’s just at the brink of ketones and just has trace amounts?

He’s eating right now and I’m about to do a test in a bit.
 
Ming seems a lot better and much more like himself! He greeted us at the door and meowed. Then jumped on the table like usual to get a BG reading.

PMPS = 349

Vet prescribed 0.4 cc of ondansetron but she said she’s going to look in her notes at home to see what exact dose to give since 0.4 cc is the smallest amount to give and she said it has a large range that can be given.

And man.... I’m not even sure if I got it or not. I went to one pharmacy and the lady was not willing to help. Because the vet just wrote 2mg/ml and qty as 2, we assume that means 2 vials of the 2 mL. And when the pharmacy orders the drug, it comes in a package of 5. The pharmacist said, “What will I do with the other 3????” As if it’s my problem what they’ll do with their product after I purchase what I want to.

So on I went to another. Superstore just said the wholesale doesn’t make it... which I don’t believe. I think they have the same issue: they won’t just give me 2 vials.

Then I went to a smaller pharmacy who was VERY nice but had the same problem. They even called London Drugs to see if they had any open already. London Drugs said no but I bet they ALSO have to order the 5 vial package in order to dispense for me.

Finally, I went to Shoppers because it’s closest to my house and in desperation, said, “I’ll pay for 5 vials if you can give it to me. I won’t even take all 5.”

And shoppers said ok! They’ll give me all 5 vials. But she also said something like the doctor didn’t specify the quantity and I don’t know what happened but they ordered it. I’m picking it up tomorrow. We’ll see if it is successful tomorrow.
 
I have seen 0.2 mg/kg as starting dose, up to 1.0 mg/kg of cat. Start at twice a day and can increase to three. That is for the subq version which has better absorption and duration, hence a slightly lower dose than oral ondansetron.

I will be curious to see how much is in a vial and what it costs. And how long the drug lasts before it expires,
 
Yes, doc got back that to me and said her notes say to start from 0.4 cc for Ming’s weight and go from there.

Shoppers told me it’s $54 for the 5 vials. I asked twice if that’s true or if they mean each vial. I guess I’ll know for sure tomorrow! And I’ll let you know the expiry date. Hopefully it’s long enough that I can make this worth my money. If it’s too short then Ming can have ondansetron more frequently than I planned which was just maybe when he’s too high or feeling crummy. ;)
 
Also I guess it’s time to increase to 7.5 units tomorrow morning? Or should I hold off since Ming had an “episode”

I can monitor tomorrow. I have work on Sunday and Monday
 
Back
Top