Javier and Leo
Member Since 2020
Hi all,
We're still having some issues controlling Leo’s BG. He's still getting fed via e-tube and has a Libre sensor that we use to control his BG.
It feels like the insulin lasts for 14h+ which means that by the time his BG has raised enough (>250), it's too late to give the morning shot. Any advice?
I did my best to add some numbers to the spreadsheet, I'm learning with every post.
Thank you
We're still having some issues controlling Leo’s BG. He's still getting fed via e-tube and has a Libre sensor that we use to control his BG.
- On Jan. 2 at 9PM we gave 0.5 units of Lantus (trying to give less but it's really hard with the syringe). PMPS was 344.
- During the night, the BG decreased slowly down to 177 at 8:23 am. We gave him 35g of food at that time but BG kept dropping (it's like the food didn't do anything). At 10:30, his BG was <60 so we gave maple syrup and more food until BG started increasing 15min later.
- The morning shot of insulin was due at 9am but because his numbers were low, we had to skip.
- The rest of the day we fed him lunch at 13:30. His BG kept increasing.
- At 20:30 we gave him another 0.5 units of Lantus with food. PMPS was 501.
- During the night, his BG dropped to 150 at 4AM. We fed him 20ml of food but his BG didn't go up.
- Since then, we fed him small amounts at 6am, 7am and 8am. BG is still around 70 and not increasing so we'll likely need to skip the morning shot again

It feels like the insulin lasts for 14h+ which means that by the time his BG has raised enough (>250), it's too late to give the morning shot. Any advice?
I did my best to add some numbers to the spreadsheet, I'm learning with every post.
Thank you