1/4 Ivy Amps 400, +2 284, +6 189, +9 236, Pmps 260, +1.75 77, +2.75 58 Libre, +4.5 Lo/100 Contour

Staci & Ivy

Member Since 2022
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...tour-6-160-9-267-pmps-400-3-188-libre.285239/
Good morning,
Amps 400 High Libre
Big ugly red bounce from yesterday lows in am and a nice lower 117 Libre number overnight.
Let’s hope she comes back down to earth soon this morning. Drinking much more than normal when she goes high.

Last night at dinner time I got a full serenade ala Pavarotti by Ivy. Reminds me of @Fistuk & Shelly who is known to be a great, Italian born, Swiss opera star. :joyful:
Have a safe surf everyone. :cat:
 
Good morning Staci and Ivy!
She had nice greens and blues yesterday and thus had to land on the Mars this morning.
She'll be ready to return to the earth soon! Overall, she's showing nice progress in the past week!
Sounds like Ivy's trying out for an aria! Maybe to do a duet with Fistuk! :joyful::joyful::joyful:
Have a great day, Staci! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Ivy, you had an incredible streak going. Try to come back down safely today.

Staci, I noticed Ivy had been on this dose for 19 days (I think that's what I counted). Her low yesterday in the 50s was really 90s according to the difference in the libre the reading directly before it. May be time for an increase to help get her to more consistent numbers.
 
Or are you not raising it because your vet doesn't want her over 3 U? Sorry, I don't remember exactly what you said about your vet and 3 units.
 
Good morning Staci and Ivy!
She had nice greens and blues yesterday and thus had to land on the Mars this morning.
She'll be ready to return to the earth soon! Overall, she's showing nice progress in the past week!
Sounds like Ivy's trying out for an aria! Maybe to do a duet with Fistuk! :joyful::joyful::joyful:
Have a great day, Staci! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Morning, Kit, I love a duet for these cats. That would be a hoot. :p
Yes some decent cycles past few days, but Oy, these big *ss bounces. Yuck. And Mars red….really???
Have a nice day, Kit and Mikan :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Or are you not raising it because your vet doesn't want her over 3 U? Sorry, I don't remember exactly what you said about your vet and 3 units.
Hi Sybil, you may be right that she needs an increase. Been on this dose since 12/17/23.

I’m not really following what my vet said. I don’t think she is used to patients doing anything other than what they dictate. And she’s pretty young, unlike a few older vets I’ve used in the past few years.
I’m following the protocol here. The lowest I was able to verify on the handheld meter yesterday was 117 (when Libre said Lo, under the 50s readings). No decrease was earned.
I’m thinking about an increase to see if we can have more of these cycles and bring overall chart lower. Thank you do much for your perspective! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I read your comment the other day about the vet not wanting her over 3 units and I read someone else say their vet didn't want their cat under 300????? I was very confused by both post. Why would a vet set a number for insulin and say that is a hard stop? Basic's old vet said she wasn't comfortable with him on a dose higher than 4 units, but never explained her stance on this. While I would be willing to listen to the reason, it is asinine to me. There is no medical proof or literature to back these stances up. In fact, the literature states otherwise. It is unfortunate because all cat owners aren't in this forum nor do all cat owners have the werewithall or gumption to go against bad advice from a vet. Very frustrating for sure.

I would absolutely love to see Ivy even out a bit. Even if it just means no more pinks. I won't dare say no more yellows, but that is the goal. Just don't tell her. She may be a bit of a rebel. Yesterday morning as she dropped, while it was in safe range, I feel like that is what caused her big bounce today. Maybe some of that higher lc food at +1 or even +2 to help reduce the drastic swing of her bounce too like you did the one day and itbreally helped her.

You are very welcome. Also, I always mean to say hello and good morning too. My brain is just laser focused.

I hope you both have a wonderful day.
 
I read your comment the other day about the vet not wanting her over 3 units and I read someone else say their vet didn't want their cat under 300????? I was very confused by both post. Why would a vet set a number for insulin and say that is a hard stop? Basic's old vet said she wasn't comfortable with him on a dose higher than 4 units, but never explained her stance on this. While I would be willing to listen to the reason, it is asinine to me. There is no medical proof or literature to back these stances up. In fact, the literature states otherwise. It is unfortunate because all cat owners aren't in this forum nor do all cat owners have the werewithall or gumption to go against bad advice from a vet. Very frustrating for sure.

I would absolutely love to see Ivy even out a bit. Even if it just means no more pinks. I won't dare say no more yellows, but that is the goal. Just don't tell her. She may be a bit of a rebel. Yesterday morning as she dropped, while it was in safe range, I feel like that is what caused her big bounce today. Maybe some of that higher lc food at +1 or even +2 to help reduce the drastic swing of her bounce too like you did the one day and itbreally helped her.

You are very welcome. Also, I always mean to say hello and good morning too. My brain is just laser focused.

I hope you both have a wonderful day.
I agree with you on why vets advise the way they do. I can only assume they advise caution in dosing is because the majority of people with diabetic cats won’t test, blindly follow their vets advice, and haven’t done any research other than what their vet advises them.
That would explain why vets would generally give dosing advice that is much more conservative.
The only other person I knew before I arrived here that had a diabetic cat has never once tested their cat and has no interest in doing so. I was horrified when I learned that was how she’s been handling diabetes for many years with her cat. I guess she’s just been very very lucky and had no problems blindly shooting with no knowledge of what’s actually happening.

I couldn’t sleep at night with that approach. But that’s just me.

I agree the drops yesterday caused the bounces last night and today. I don’t think I fed any fight carb foods lately for any drops. I’ve been mostly advised to save higher carbs for when she is very low (on a handheld meter).

I gave her some 12.5% Saturday & Sunday evening for the first few hours since I was out to dinner and needed to play it safer.
Saturday night she had a much more active cycle so that kept her a bit afloat till I got home by +4. The extra carbs didn’t really do any damage to her cycle so that was good.
Thank you for your caring and putting in that time to discuss with me! I hope you and Basic have a pawsome day :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Kit's vet definitely has registered some concern both this time now that she's out of remission and the first go round with the way I'm managing Kit, but that is exactly for the reasons that Staci mentioned - I am the only client she has that tests as much as I do, and when she expressed concern that Kit would be afraid of me because of how much I test, she was shocked when I said half the time Kit just follows me to wherever I want to test her and sits mostly calmly while I test her. (It definitely didn't start that way, there were many tears and yowls, but we got there!) She said she prefers if clients keep their cats above 200, and that it's not easy/safe to keep them in lower numbers. She also knows I'm stubborn, and this is a hill I will die on, so we sort of agree to disagree. She has also said I'm the most observant client she has (I appreciate her phrasing it nicer than obsessive or some other term lol). And even with all that, I'm incredibly glad I found her - the vet who diagnosed Kit with diabetes wouldn't prescribe Lantus, only wanted her on vetsulin/novolin, told me if I didn't feed her the prescription food I was going to kill my cat, and told me I shouldn't believe everything I read on the internet. So I found a new vet. And she trusts me at this point because she sees all the things I do for Kit. And she makes house calls, which *chef's kiss*.
Anywho, that was all just to say, there are vets that still believe all those things and who don't want their clients testing at home and think feeding the prescription food is the best way.
 
I have the exact same experience, with both vets Bella had since diagnosed. They are not used to people who test their cats and prefer to stay safe, which is understandable. I wish they would know more about diabetes, but I think they are getting there, and so many cats in the US have diabetes, it will probably become more and more the case, or at least I hope so!
Ivy looks like she is getting slowly down after her bounce. Maybe the stress from the vet's visit played a role, too.
 
Oh, yes. I am fully aware that vets exist like you described. I just gladly left one. It is disturbing to me that a paid professional, that has voweled to care for animals, would argue with a client about home testing, keeping a dose at a certain volume across the board and not dealing with an individual's insulin needs (i thought my cat was on a huge dose because of her made up protocol), or keeping a cat above 200 bgs because the vet is uncomfortable with bgs being lower. That same vet that is screaming not to home test wants you above 200 because hypo situations are real and kill (while this idiotic vet argued with me about hometesting, she shared with me a patient keeps becoming hypo). Not in any of those situations listed above is a cat's needs being placed first, a vet's ego is tbough. I understand we aren't the average customer. Doesn't negate the reasoning behind what we are doing. I will never be able to wrap my mind around any of it. To me, it boils down to ignorance and ego. My cat's medical files were filled with comments like "client learned everything they needed to online over the weekend" as if I would say something like that. While I learn quickly, I may never know everything about this disease. Or when I explained that my cat wouldn't eat the prescription food that was too high in carbs for a diabetic cat anyway and about the class action lawsuit regarding the diabetic food, (that the public won and the word diabetes had to be removed off the can), she commented on his file "owner refuses prescription food becaaue of something she read on the internet." I have no desire to have a vet like that. I'll go through a lot of vets before I settle for an ignorant, pompous one that could hurt my cat with their mindset and outdated teaching. A vet isn't doing me a favor by caring for my cat, it is actually what I'm paying them for.

And @Staci & Ivy ,I said higher LC food like you did a week or so back. Remember Bhooma told I believe Kona's about this and we both saw it and commented and I started a new thread so we didn't hijack Kona's and bhooma explained it to us? Anywho, the day you did feed her this at the +1 and +2, it helped prevent her drop from being so drastic which then mellowed out her bounce a bit.
 
Pretty much everyone around here has a horror vet story or two :p
The "Internal Medicine Specialist" Mikan saw early last year told me to test 30min AFTER feeding and shoot IF HIGHER THAN 250 (Alphatrek) :eek:o_O:spam:
Also prescribed those DM foods. The sucker that I am, I bought cases of those, only to realize A) Mikan hates them and B) Those are not necessarily LC. :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:
After a while, I just donated them to the shelter (My friend's daughter works at the non-kill shelter and would take any cat foods).
I never went back to the specialist. We just work with our regular vet who is super nice and easy to work with (ie, lets me do what I want).
 
I hate all of these stories for the cat's sake. Nevermind the owners. I'm also curious how often this advice ends up with a cat that passes or has to be put down. Bottom line: it isn’t fair to the cats.

I don't even want to do what I want. When you propose something, I'd like an explanation of why you have come to this decision. Not them acting like a boomer dad and say because I said so. That will never work for me especially if I'm provided you with reasons for my stance. I don't care that you have a degree.

And that advice from an internal medicine specialist is absolutely WILD. :confused::arghh::eek:

And his vet tried to tell me I couldn't return unopened food. I returned all of the unopened food and got a refund. The food is horrid for a diabetic cat. His med carb wet food before diagnosis had less carbs than that food. :banghead::banghead::banghead:

I'm glad you love you vet. I'm remaining optimistic and hopeful about his new vet. It is a cat only vet clinic and I think it will make a difference.
 
Looks like sweet Ivy decided space is not for her. Hopefully she stays in the blues for the rest of the day.
Also would kike to see Ivy and Fistuk team up for the meowsical purrrrformance :p:D:cat::cat:
 
Looks like sweet Ivy decided space is not for her. Hopefully she stays in the blues for the rest of the day.
Also would kike to see Ivy and Fistuk team up for the meowsical purrrrformance :p:D:cat::cat:
It was quite a yellow day, even though quite gloomy outside in my region today. Gray January. Blah. I think she’s still bouncing from a few hours going lower for her yesterday and one overnight dip as well. We shall see what tonight brings. Stay warm with your sweet kitties, Karolina. :bighug::bighug:
 
Pmps 260
212 +1
77 +1.75
(All on Libre sensor)
Quite a drop for this cycle after a flat yellow am cycle today :facepalm::woot:
 
At +4.5 Lo on Libre =
100 on Contour meter
Been a low cycle from +2 until now at +5.25 79 on Libre.
Nice blues on Contour. When she hits Lo on the Libre, I test with an ear prick. That’s when she could be under 100 on the Contour meter. (She missed an actual green tonight by 1 point ;))
Looks like my girl and I will spend the overnight on that couch together. :rolleyes:
 
When sinver was diagnosed, I started with caninsulin and was in contact with the vet and every day he told me a dose that I had to prick him, I got to prick 5 units 3 times a day luckily he was with diabetic feed from royal canin if not maybe today he would not be here with us. When I started to investigate and I found this forum and started to read hours and hours the stuck ones I threw my hands to my head. I made several curves and I went to the vet with them and told him that insulin had no duration with my cat and that I wanted to change to lantus, he told me that he would give me the prescription but that I had to find my own way because he did not know what the treatment with that insulin was. That was 7 months ago and I am happy that I did what I believed in without fear of leaving the vet. Now the vet told me that he would like to learn from what I am doing with sinver.
 
When sinver was diagnosed, I started with caninsulin and was in contact with the vet and every day he told me a dose that I had to prick him, I got to prick 5 units 3 times a day luckily he was with diabetic feed from royal canin if not maybe today he would not be here with us. When I started to investigate and I found this forum and started to read hours and hours the stuck ones I threw my hands to my head. I made several curves and I went to the vet with them and told him that insulin had no duration with my cat and that I wanted to change to lantus, he told me that he would give me the prescription but that I had to find my own way because he did not know what the treatment with that insulin was. That was 7 months ago and I am happy that I did what I believed in without fear of leaving the vet. Now the vet told me that he would like to learn from what I am doing with sinver.
Wow, good job Xelo. You trusted your gut and saved Sinver’s life!! One smart Mama!! You’re awesome!!
I had a somewhat similar experience. The vet I was using when Ivy was dx was older, semi retired, holistic. Very relaxed pace. She started me at .5 units of Lantus. I would text her 1 x a week with her BG, which I insisted on learning to check on my own from videos online. She told me it wasn’t necessary, btw.
(She also told me to find videos to learn how to inject insulin).
Each week she would tell me to increase the dose by either a 1/2 unit or a whole unit. I kept resisting (just my gut, I knew nothing). Once we got to 4 units and still very high bg I began to get worried.
Then she told me she was going to Florida for the winter. See ya, bye. That I should find another local vet to see while she winters in sunshine. I cried.
I tried another vet. He was ok. I tried an internal medicine doc. He was ok but I still wasn’t thrilled. Just my gut.
Then I came here after researching that I needed more information. Just my gut again.

I knew I was on my own. And with the help of this forum things began to become more clear. So I stayed…
Then I went back to my original practice ( the one before the older doc who kept upping my dose) since they hired a new doc who was more holistic, younger and I liked her bio. Gave her a shot. I do like her (with reservations). She doesn’t give me great direct or specific guidance, but she’s better than the previous 3 I just mentioned. She at least listens and gives some feedback. And I do like her ideas of the more holistic perspective of Ivy’s total condition and underlying issues. She has implemented some good supplements I like.

I still pine for the vet who left in January 2022, before Ivy was diagnosed with diabetes. She was awesome and would have been great to have help me with all of this. Still miss her. But no choice to move on…
And here we are. One day at a time. Uphill I push the bolder for my girl.
I’m so happy you shared your journey, Xelo :bighug::kiss::bighug:
 
@xelo y sinver
I'm very glad Sinver has you. I am also glad you stuck to your guns regarding the care of your cat. I'm impressed that the vet wants to learn from Sinver's care. A vet willing to learn new things other than what they've been taught is okay in my book.
Yes but still I do not trust him, he did not know I had my cat and died with 8 years .. around my town there is none good .. the one I have is 90km away so I prefer advice from the forum than any vet in the area.
 
Back
Top