1/4 Hoot PMPS 245, +4/276, +7/274 Sore on leg

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pam & Hoot

Member Since 2012
12/30 Condo

1/3 Recap:
AMPS - 289
+3.5 - 172
+5.5 - 109
+6.5 - 83
+7.5 - 78
PMPS - 261
+2 - 269
+4.5 - 232

Good Morning LL ~O)
All is well in Hooterville :-D
Hoot is doing great and his Mama Bean is doing much better :-D
I increased his dose from f1.25 to 1.5 on 12/30 and he finally saw some :mrgreen: yesterday :-D
So we'll see how he does on this dose ;-) He is feeling good and his appy and attitude are good too.
There is one thing tho, the first time around he got a sore on his back leg and it went away when he went into remission.
It is now coming back which freaks me out a bit because it got pretty bad. It's not to bad now but he just keeps licking it and I think it will get bad.
I went to the health food store to get something for it that he could ingest and they gave me this stuff called "Sovereign Silver"
It is a homeopathic medicine that has no side effects. It's main ingredient is "Argentum Metallicum", which is "metallic silver"
It has no taste, I tasted it since it is for humans. It is an topical antiseptic, analgesic and anti-inflammatory. I have used it last night and this morning. She also gave me some green probiotics called "Green Vibrance" which I gave him 1/16 of a teaspoon lastnight and this morning at shot time. Last night he was yellow (probably a bounce) so we'll see what his BG's do today. I will also be watching his poo's as best I can with 3 cats using the same LB :roll: :lol:
So I'm just wondering if you have any suggestions on how or what to use to help heal this sore up before it gets to bad.
I also want to thank all of you for your kind words of support ♥
LL just plain ROCKS!!!!!!!!
I hope everyone had a Happy New Year!
Sending ♥vines♥ to all the kitties and beans in need today :YMHUG:
Happy Caturday LL :YMPEACE:
 
Re: 1/4 Hoot AMPS 269, +3.5/183, +5.5/132 Sore on leg

Pam --

I think it's more of an issue of what's causing the sore. It might be allergy or some dermatitis or who knows what. My inclination is to suggest you take Hoot to the vet. I'm not one of those people who looks to holistic approaches first. I'm also leery of using human preparations for cats unless I know for absolutely certain it won't cause harm. For example, aspirin and chocolate are toxic for cats but not a problem for humans whereas Pepsid is fine for both - the doses are just different. Heavy metals, like silver, could easily be an issue for a small animal like a cat unless the dosing has been calibrated for felines.
 
Re: 1/4 Hoot AMPS 269, +3.5/183, +5.5/132 Sore on leg

Thanks Sienne, I will make an appointment for him.
I'm just the opposite tho, I'd rather try the natural approach first, but you are right about not always knowing.
 
Re: 1/4 Hoot AMPS 269, +3.5/183, +5.5/132 Sore on leg

Hi Pam,
I am happy to hear that Hoot is feeling good!
And I'm so glad you are doing much better, Pam!

Good luck with the vet visit, and I hope you can find a treatment for his sore.
 
Re: 1/4 Hoot AMPS 269, +3.5/183, +5.5/132 Sore on leg

Great Whole Pam Report ;-) :-D Good luck with the vet (always my first choice). Hope they can resolve this quickly. Twice had that on the back of his neck. Went away after a looooong time(they didn't know what it was), and came back when he got fd. Gone again now, so I'm thinking it's a weakened immunity thing....but that could be anything. :? :roll:
Also, my vet back home had made up this foul tasting gunk (not sure what was in it) that was to be applied on wounds that pets could lick at. Worked like a hot damn...wonder if your vet would have suggestions for a gel type home made compound??
Have a great day!!!!
 
Re: 1/4 Hoot AMPS 269, +3.5/183, +5.5/132 Sore on leg

Hi Pam, good WCR (& GOOD NUMBERS SO FAR :-D ) except for that recurring sore. I agree that it may be recurring due to a weakened immune system. I like holistic treatments, but for me, with any 'sore' that doesn't go away, a vet visit is in order. Our holistic vet uses something nasty looking called 'wound-balm' that I've never used, but she swears by it.

I'm assuming you've tried triple-AB ointment w/ pain relief? If he can lick any of these off that makes it difficult. My daughter tried colloidal silver, but D/C'd it due to some other issues that I don't remember.

Good luck - I hope you get a dx and a quick resolution!
 
Re: 1/4 Hoot AMPS 269, +3.5/183, +5.5/132, +7.5/100 Sore on

Hi Mariko and Kim,
I will ask him when we go to see him Kim.
I also wonder what is the cause and know it can sometimes be so difficult to figure out.
I'm thinking if I build his immune system up that will certainly help.
Thanks for stopping by!
 
Re: 1/4 Hoot AMPS 269, +3.5/183, +5.5/132, +7.5/100 Sore on

Hi Suzanne,
I did try the triple AB/ointment last time and it didn't seem to work and because he licks everything off, wasn't real comfortable with him ingesting it.
That's why I wanted to to try something that wouldn't matter if he ate it.
Thanks for the suggestions!
 
Re: 1/4 Hoot AMPS 269, +3.5/183, +5.5/132, +7.5/100 Sore on

It looks like Hoot likes the new dose. I hope the sore on his legs heals soon. Good luck with the vetty visit.
 
Re: 1/4 Hoot AMPS 269, +3.5/183, +5.5/132, +7.5/100 Sore on

It looks like that dose crease is working. Sorry to hear about that sore, I hope the vet can come up w/ a solution.
 
Re: 1/4 Hoot AMPS 269, +3.5/183, +5.5/132, +7.5/100 Sore on

Hi Pam.

Great numbers. Sorry about the sore on Hoot's leg. If it doesn't heal, perhaps you need to employ the dreaded E-collar? cat(2)_steam I HATE putting them on my cats, but getting the sore healed is important, and if you can't prevent the licking, that may be the best option. I hope you find a better solution, but just though I'd toss that out there. Good luck!
 
Re: 1/4 Hoot AMPS 269, +3.5/183, +5.5/132, +7.5/100 Sore on

It always has to be something, doesn't it? I hope you can find a solution for the sore quickly. You have enough to take care of in your world. Keep workin' dat joos Hoot!
 
Re: 1/4 Hoot AMPS 269, +3.5/183, +5.5/132, +7.5/100 Sore on

Hi Pam,

I am glad that Hoot is doing well. I think my vet mentioned that the skin of cats is affected by diabetes. The skin is drier, dandruff, and prone to dermatitis. When she looked at my cat at the last checkup, she said that his skin looked pretty good for a diabetic. I wonder if the vet could prescribe something that might moisten or heal the skin.
 
Re: 1/4 Hoot AMPS 269, +3.5/183, +5.5/132, +7.5/100 Sore on

Hi, Pam :-D
I hope Hoot's sore heals quickly.
I see he's practically green! Good job, Mr Hoot!
 
Re: 1/4 Hoot AMPS 269, +3.5/183, +5.5/132, +7.5/100 Sore on

Hi Pam,
Looks like Hoot is liking his new dose :-D :-D Not sure what to put on the sore. If he can lick it off, it makes it so hard. Hope you are able to find out what is causing it, and how to get rid of it.
I am glad that Hoot is feeling great and that you are feeling better too :-D
Have a great night~
 
Re: 1/4 Hoot AMPS 269, +3.5/183, +5.5/132, +7.5/100 Sore on

Thanks everyone for all your suggestions and advice. It is always so helpful. I will get an app for the vet and see what he says.
He is a good vet and supports me with all my FD stuff. He had never heard of FDMB either and was very interested and supportive with it :-D
Have a great night and thanks for all your visits today!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top