1/4 Chyna PMPS 403 dosecrease +2 416 +4 380 Thanks:)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rachel & Chyna (GA)

Member Since 2012
Hello, LL! Well, flat red cat so far...blech. Not sure if this is a bounce, or "you should have increased the dose this morning" numbers...I didn't because of the possible mixup with fuds...should I wait another cycle or just see how PMPS looks for a dosecrease? Yesterday:Chyna 1/3

Chyna is purring up a storm this morning, and seems content. All Ps (except playing) in place :-D BTB for me, so a late start!

I emailed the vet yesterday about getting Adequan or Cartrophen, I've had so many people tell me how much they help although I am leaning towards the Adequan if we can find it in stock. It's been a month on the increased dose of cosequin, and she is still really stiff sitting and moving, and looks in pain. They called just now (while I was in the middle of testing so I didn't answer) and left a message that we can try this (YAY! :razz: ). They said their supplier is backordered on Adequan, but they do have Cartrophen in stock. So before I call back, I have to decide which one to try...since they did say they could try order Adequan but the girl isn't in till next week that orders. I did find a few places that ship to Canada, but two are out of stock and the other only sells 2 vials...so I'll have to call back to see if they are open to me ordering it or calling the one place that had stock that only takes orders from vets. She did say something about booking Chyna in for Cartrophen next week...is this something I can give in subqs, or myself so I don't have to drag her into the vet? I know I was told some people do it in subqs with Adequan...where do you all get your Adequan, if not from your vet?

Anyways, I have snow shovelling in my future (again :evil: ) despite the -28C temps with -38 wind chill, I will bundle up later (a balmy -18C high with -28 windchill) to try give it a go, tomorrow is supposed to be even colder. Have a great Caturday :-D
 
Re: 1/4 Chyna AMPS 430 +3 418 Dose;Adequan/Cartrophen?

as far as her dose goes, i'd increase. she hasn't seen blue in a week and you have 7 shots since you last increased, so i think you could go up 0.25u.

We used adequan and i got it from the vet. Wendy/Neko has said that cartrophen is comparable, but i don't have first hand experience with it.
 
Re: 1/4 Chyna AMPS 430 +3 418 Dose;Adequan/Cartrophen?

I get Equine Adequan from Drs. Foster and Smith. You might need a prescription from your vet to order it. However, there is note that says "Item is unavailable for order at this time. Expected in on 01/17/2014."

I am waiting to see if our condo association is going to shovel out our parking lot, or if I have to go do it myself :?
 
Re: 1/4 Chyna AMPS 430 +3 418 Dose;Adequan/Cartrophen?

Good luck with the dosecrease if you give it tonight. That's great the vet is willing to try the Adequan or Cartrophen. I hope it helps.
 
Re: 1/4 Chyna AMPS 430 +3 418 Dose;Adequan/Cartrophen?

Thanks Julie, I wasn't sure with the possible food spike the first two days of the new dose if I should wait...should I just do the 0.25u increase, or with her nadirs so high the 0.50u? I don't want to give too much :?

Thanks Dyana! I did check with them...they don't ship Rx to Canada, bummer :cry: I hope you get your lot shovelled, and not by you :shock: :-D

Thanks Carla, looks like a dosecrease, just not sure how much...I was pretty happy that the vet said yes! Now to decide which one, lol.

I think, I see a plow outside! WOO HOO! :-D Stupid neighbor is parked on the street, and they have a driveway...move your truck or they won't clear our street! It's in our bylaws from 7am to 9pm to not park there when roads are to be cleared...sigh :roll: Maybe I won't be snowbound much longer, once I shovel the windrow and my driveway :-D
 
Re: 1/4 Chyna AMPS 430 +3 418 Dose;Adequan/Cartrophen?

Paws crossed that dosecrease gives Chyna the little nudge she needs. We haven't seen any low nadirs, I'd go the full .5U.

I never had a problem finding cartrophen. I did some research a little while ago for a member in Australia, since they can get cartrophen but not adequan. It does seem adequan is mostly a US thing and cartrophen is what is available here. The ingredients are not exactly the same, but very close. I know lots of people who've used cartrophen with success. I don't know if the vet will sell a bottle - I never asked. It was pre Neko's FD when I used it on an old arthritic cat. He was fine with vetty visits and we did it there. That same vet gave me preloaded syringes this fall for giving it to my cystitis kitty, but he only needed 4 shots total. I've heard it doesn't last long, so they only gave me a couple of syringes at a time and made me come back for the last one.

Good luck on the plow getting onto your street!
 
Re: 1/4 Chyna AMPS 430 +3 418 Dose;Adequan/Cartrophen?

Brrrr! Sounds chilly up there! Looks like you've gotten plenty of good information, but FWIW we use Adequan and we have never had trouble getting it from our vet. I can say that I think it has helped Buster a lot. He just has the beginning stages of arthritis and his joints click when he walks. I can mostly tell the difference because he isn't hiding under furniture and his numbers have gradually improved since we tried the Adequan. I thought I would notice a huge difference - like he'd be acting like a kitten again - but the improvement was more subtle than that. Good luck with the increase and the Cartrophen. I hope Chyna feels happy and purry!
 
Re: 1/4 Chyna AMPS 430 +3 418 +6 358 Raw Food?

Well...we're pink instead of red...It was the plow, I'm not snowed in anymore! Except the driveway, and the big windrow at the end ;-)

Thanks Wendy...maybe I should just try Cartrophen, I'd like to start asap since it takes awhile :razz: . I can always try Adequan later, I believe I've read of some people who switched. Dosecrease tonight will be on, barring any surprises, to 3u.

Thanks Tara, good to know! Cosequin was pretty gradual too when we started it years ago, I am hoping for any improvement to the poor girl and her old bones :-D It is pretty chilly, I guess I should be used to it by now...but I do have the heat turned up :lol:

And you thought you were done with my questions today?...nope :lol:

So I went to the specialty pet store and they just got in trial packs of the raw Nature’s Variety, and had the lamb bites for cats! So for $9 instead of over $40 a bag, we can finally try it. It’s lower carb (1 instead of 2) and lower phosphorus than the Ziwipeak I feed, and it’s lamb so same protein :-D .

I’m just not sure where to start, calorie wise, since I’m still going to be mostly feeding canned when I am away at work/sleeping (and of course incorporating it in slowly, if she will eat it). Their website said 62 calories an ounce but the bag is in grams. Guess I’m looking up a converter and getting out my food scale :roll: . How do you give raw little mini bites with phosphorus binder and water, do you just mash it together? It says to serve it still cool. :?

The sales lady said another woman had come in asking about low phosphorus for a newly diagnosed kidney cat. SO I told her about the food charts, and gave her the website catinfo.org to pass along. That made me sort of excited I think cat food may be an obsession… :lol:
 
Re: 1/4 Chyna AMPS 430 +3 418 +6 358 Raw Food?

Good luck on the dosecrease and the shoveling!

Maybe you can get a RX to order it if the vet can't get it. Drs Foster and Smith no longer have the out of stock notice on the page. i did a little research and found some alternatives:
Adequan
Polysulfated Glycosaminoglycan......................100 mg
benzyl alcohol (a preservative)...........................0.9% v/v

Other Ingredients:
Water    
Sodium hydroxide and/or hydrochloric acid added when necessary to adjust pH.
Sodium Chloride may be added to adjust tonicity

Cartrophen Vet
Cartrophen Vet is a pale yellow sterile aqueous solution. Each mL contains: Pentosan Polysulphate Sodium 100 mg; Benzyl Alcohol 0.01 mL as a preservative; Sodium Phosphate 2.2 mg and Sodium Acid Phosphate 6.8 mg as buffers; and Water for Injection q.s.

Ichon
is a sterile 5mL solution containing 500mg of Polysulfated Glycosaminoglycan (100mg/mL). For use on cats, dogs, and horses.

Chondroprotec 10 ml
Polysulfated Glycosaminoglycan
1000 mg of PSGAG in a 10 mL vial (100 mg/mL)
Derived from bovine trachea
Preservative free

The last 2 I found at http://www.allivet.com/p-2652-ichon-5ml-vial.aspx and are the same active ingredient as Adequan. They do ship to Canada.
 
Re: 1/4 Chyna AMPS 430 +3 418 +6 358 Raw Food?

Oh Ann, that's so sweet to do research for me, thanks! :-D My vet does have Cartrophen in stock...that is making me lean towards it, timewise I could start it Monday if they will let me do it at home, I'm so impatient :lol: I just hope she doesn't have any side effects, poor girl is already having enough issues :sad: I'll have to phone and see...
 
Re: 1/4 Chyna AMPS 430 +3 418 +6 358 Raw Food?

Rachel...I have a bag of the Natures Variety Duck bites for China so I know what you're talking about. The first time I tried to give her some she wouldn't have anything to do with it and I think that's probably because it was still frozen solid. The instructions say to just scoop and serve, but I think it really needs to thaw out a little first. I let some thaw out and then smashed the little bites to make it more the texture she's used to, so I don't see any reason why you couldn't let it thaw a little while (but still keeping it cold like they say, just not frozen hard) and mix in what you wanted to.

There are 28.6 grams in an ounce

Good luck with the transition! Hope your Chyna loves the raw as much as my China does! I've never had her try to push my hand away so she could get at her food before..she acts like she's starving (which of course she isn't)
 
Re: 1/4 Chyna AMPS 430 +3 418 +6 358 Raw Food?

I have used fed some Natures Variety Chicken but usually use another vendor. I use a plastic Ziploc tub and toss the next day's portion in there to thaw in the fridge for 24 hours before using. I usually put a full days worth in. I find that in 24 hours is pretty well thawed. I can add any powdered meds, mush it in, then add a bit of warm water. Pretty much like I'd do for canned food. I have an autofeeder that has a spot for a cold pack so the raw gets put in little ceramic dishes in the autofeeder and the ice or cold pack added and that keeps it cool enough until it's eaten.

To transition, I'd try mixing just a little bit at first, then slowly increase the percent of raw food vs. canned. Good luck!
 
Re: 1/4 Chyna AMPS 430 +3 418 +6 358 Raw Food?

Wow, I am in awe of the help that is available in LL. :-D :-D :-D Very cool that you got some raw food to try. Can you mix a little bit with what she's already eating? Good luck with the new med and new food and more jooce. Stay warm!
Liz
 
Re: 1/4 Chyna AMPS 430 +3 418 +6 358 Thanks:)

Well this bean is stupid and got impatient...I took out 3 small raw pieces (less than my pinkie finger nail size) and thawed them...then gave them to Chyna. She sniffed and looked interested, then I took a small piece off and she ate it...and the rest of it followed, so she liked it. THEN 10 minutes later she barfed 3 times and her stomach made gurgling noises :oops: . I feel terrible. Of course, 20 minutes later she had no problems eating her +9 mini meal. Now I'm not sure what to do! I didn't think that small amount would make her sick :roll: Maybe take 1 piece and mash it with her mini meal of canned food and water? I'm scared she'll barf that too :shock:

Thanks again Chris :-D The bag says 3-4 minutes but it took longer than that :lol: Thanks for doing my conversions, lol. It would make it a lot easier if the bag said "this many calories for approximately this many pieces" ;-)

Hi again Wendy :-D That's a good idea for the Ziploc tub...I'd still like to feed canned and raw, so I'll have to figure out a way. If her poor tummy will tolerate it :?

Liz, I know, I ask a lot of questions :lol: And there is always some really helpful people with answers, you all rock!

These weren't really about Lantus, sorry I guess I should have asked these in health :oops: SO thank you, thank you all for being so knowledgeable and supportive and helpful :YMHUG:

I called the vet tech back, and she said they would be happy to give me syringes of cartrophen to do at home. My vet had been in contact with a "feline expert" vet to chat about it and her options :-D She's calling me Monday with pricing, I did mention maybe I should just buy a vial if it was pricey...she said that two injections weekly for a month, then once weekly for a month, the once every two weeks for a month, then once monthly was what "had worked best for cats" in their experience? Does that sound right?

Phew, I'm pooped, that driveway windrow was all ice and packed snow, heavy and hard as rocks! So much for my chiro appt :o I gotta go lie down for a few, and warm up, BBL!
 
Re: 1/4 Chyna AMPS 430 +3 418 +6 358 Thanks:)

I do the same thing as Wendy..I have a piece of Tupperware that will hold up to 8 of the medallions. I fill it about every other day so half is thawed and ready to serve and the other half is thawing and the whole thing is kept in the refrigerator.

You might want to try just giving one or two of those little bites along with her regular food instead of alone and slowly transition to more raw. China had a little trouble with it at first too, but now she absolutely loves it.
 
Re: 1/4 Chyna AMPS 430 +3 418 +6 358 Thanks:)

That's great that she ate it! Sorry about the puke. :roll: I am glad you ask questions here because I learn a lot, as I am sure others do too. It helps for when we see something later with other kitties. Ask away! :-D
Liz
 
Re: 1/4 Chyna AMPS 430 +3 418 +6 358 Thanks:)

Hi Rachel,

Very interesting condo today :-D I learn so much on this board~ Hope the dosecrease gives Chyna the nudge she needs.
I had bought some of the sample bags of the NV raw, but Cleo wouldn't eat it. Civies loved it. I think I may try it again, and sprinkle some of our "toppings" on it to see if it makes a difference.
Hope you are rested up and not in too much pain!
 
Re: 1/4 Chyna AMPS 430 +3 418 +6 358 Thanks:)

Regarding the cartrophen - that's the loading formula I used for my Buster (GA). More to read on dosing here. I've read and heard that the vial once it's first used is only good for 3 months. So after the first couple of months of more frequent dosing, it wouldn't be cost effective to use it. Make sure you ask that the syringes they preload are smaller gauge. The first ones I got were harpoons in comparison to insulin syringes. Actually, I just transferred it into the insulin syringe cause squirmy boy wouldn't stand the bigger ones.

For the raw food, try it with a little warm water. My civie used to upchuck if I gave him too much or two cold a raw when I first started feeding it to him. Kangaroo is REALLY red on carpet. :roll: He's much better now with smaller meals and warmer.
 
Re: 1/4 Chyna AMPS 430 +3 418 +6 358 Thanks:)

We buy the "chubs" as the most cost efficient. Slice it while still frozen and divide into day sized cups and put back in the freezer. Every night we bring out enough for the next day. We warm Tess's dish w/ hot water, pour that out, weigh out the food and then add a little warm water and moosh. WE also mix it w/ some canned, on that low a carb she just bounces like crazy.
 
Re: 1/4 Chyna PMPS 403 dosecrease +2 416 Thanks:)

Well, no shocker with the +2 after a dosecrease, sigh :YMSIGH: Thanks again for more info, Chris, Ann, and Wendy, and for visiting Liz (again :-D ) and Jane. I will ask about the smaller gauge syringes for the cartrophen, I wonder if I can just add it to the port of the subqs or if it has to be "full strength" but I will ask, one less pokey would be nice. (Wendy, sorry about the icky red carpet stain! :roll: ). I tried one itty bitty piece of raw just now with the +2 mini meal mixed in. She only ate half the bowl and now I'm worried about the food sitting out :roll: :lol: She doesn't usually take long to come back and finish...

I'm glad others are interested, and hope that maybe they can learn something from my relentless questions :lol: I'm feeling better for my back, and Thor is on TV so I think I'll cuddle up on the couch to watch...I own it, but that doesn't make me not want to watch him, um I mean, it. ;-) You all rock!
 
Re: 1/4 Chyna PMPS 403 dosecrease +2 416 Thanks:)

Wow, great condo conversation, I agree - keep up the questions, Rachel, it's all good!

Our dogs were on raw & 1 dog(Scooter) in particular, although he loved the food was a barfo-maniac on it the first month or so - so much I fed him on a large towel - it was in & then out a few minutes later - if I didn't catch it soon enough it was back in - that's a drooler for ya! :lol: :lol: But - after that month his system adjusted & we never had problems again.

We did what Ann does - bought the big chubs, sliced them, thawed what we could use & froze the rest.

I plan on getting our indoor kitties on raw at some point - but it never seems to happen. :roll:

As for Weruva, Tigger & the rest of the gang love the fowl ball (4%). Also the chicken fric-a-zee (3%) - Tigger can't do 3% anymore because he bounces too much & is now on the 5% GO! But when he's hig I'll integrate the 4% Fowl ball. I think the Weruva also uses tapioca starch in some of their flavors, which could be a culprit for Chyna.

At any rate, good luck, with the fuds & the dosecrease & the new meds & the snow-shoveling - you have alot on your plate, Rachel!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top