1/4 BuddyM: +10 69 | AMPS 98 | +2 87 | +3.5 58 | What is going on? (lower than expected)

Looks like Buddy is surfing along beautifully! Help him surf those great numbers! See how long you can keep him surfing along...he's doing beautifully!

I wouldn't change the dose unless he drops below 50. Not sure what your comment about TR light is...I'm pretty sure that has to do with some previous discussion that I missed out on...

Lots of kitties around here today in those great numbers :) Enjoy!!
 
He's 54 at +4. Hoping the MC food will kick in soon.

I gave him 2 tsp of 20% as well
 
Last edited:
Look at his doses and how he came down.

Oh I thought you were referencing the depot action after a skip or back-to-back reduction.

Henry's been coming down super smoothly.

It might be operator error on my part or Buddy having something else going on.

I was hoping I could bring Buddy down just as smoothly and safely but maybe that fur shot threw everything into disarray because it was right after two reductions.

I'm still hoping to find an example of the depot action... Where it will cause the bg to go down extra like what's happening with Buddy. I'm at a loss. I've looked at so many spreadsheets and I have only been able to find examples of the bg going up after the skips or reductions. Just so I can figure out what to do tonight. Because I am once again at a loss. :(
 
Re: the depot: Look at Ruby's spreadsheet between 11/28/20 and 11/30/20.
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...y8i6gV3whR0ZDyqUFzRGdSl_tI/edit#gid=361360320

We were at 1.75 and we reduced to 1.5 after getting a 49 in her PM cycle on 11/28. Then we had to reduce again on 11/30 because the depot from the 1.75 dose had not been drained yet. We wound up having to go back to 1.5 at some point a week or so later.

Thanks Katherine. Buddy has a large depot I'm sure because of the 4.5 unit dose he had. So maybe the depot is having a prolonged effect.

I'm tempted to skip tonight so we can drain the depot. I'm exhausted trying to make sense of it.
 
I'm exhausted trying to make sense of it.
FD can be exhausting but it won't be forever. You'll find your groove with Buddy. FWIW, I stopped trying to make sense of things and just use insulin as a tool. While it is important to understand previous doses can impact following cycles (i.e. the depot), you'll only figure out how long it impacts Buddy with time/data. The depot influence is very much an ECID thing.

Which day please?
Any time you see a reduction or a skip. Most recently, look at the later half of December through today. Lots of depot action to see easily because she had skips and a BCS.

Hope that helps some - and another FWIW...I always asked about my dose from the more experienced folks (e.g., Elise, Wendy, etc.). They have seen so many kitties and SSs and can help "read" an SS.

Hang in there - Buddy is so lucky to have you advocating and taking care of him :bighug:
 
FD can be exhausting but it won't be forever. You'll find your groove with Buddy. FWIW, I stopped trying to make sense of things and just use insulin as a tool. While it is important to understand previous doses can impact following cycles (i.e. the depot), you'll only figure out how long it impacts Buddy with time/data. The depot influence is very much an ECID thing.


Any time you see a reduction or a skip. Most recently, look at the later half of December through today. Lots of depot action to see easily because she had skips and a BCS.

Hope that helps some - and another FWIW...I always asked about my dose from the more experienced folks (e.g., Elise, Wendy, etc.). They have seen so many kitties and SSs and can help "read" an SS.

Hang in there - Buddy is so lucky to have you advocating and taking care of him :bighug:

Aww thank you for the kind words. I really am trying to do the best for him.

I've been trying to find an example on a spreadsheet that has had the same pattern as Buddy. Buddy's bg is going down with less insulin. He had reductions, a fur shot and two wimp doses. But his bg is lower today, not higher. I had to work pretty hard to keep him above 50. I'm not seeing that on Butters' spreadsheet? As far as I can see the numbers go up after a skip or reduction.
 
I think @JaxBenji is right. It actually doesn't matter so much if you can see a pattern that replicates what your cat does. Every cat is different. It takes many years of experience to be able to do what the moderators do here--they can see patterns in the numbers and can predict with greater certainty what might happen. I put full faith in them for dosing. What I can tell you is if you reduce tonight or skip with the depot still in play, you risk having to go back up again like I did, but you wield the syringe and your comfort level is super important here.
 
It's hard to find the exact same pattern as Buddy. ECID. Buddy is screaming down the dosing ladder, as is Henry, as was Butters for a while until I finally did another skip and a .5U reduction. Butters had 4 reductions (including a .5U reduction), 2 skipped shots and one BCS in an eight day period (12/25 2020 - 01/01 2021). I had to do 22 tests in one day because she kept dropping below 50. That was on the 2020 sheet 12/31. Then there was 12/28 where I spent 12 hours often testing every 30 minutes trying to keep her up. I filled an autofeeder so I could get a little sleep. She ate everything in it and threw me a 32 AMPS.

Things like that is what Elise is referring to. Not identical but similar. So hold onto your hat because I don't think Buddy is done yet.
 
I think @JaxBenji is right. It actually doesn't matter so much if you can see a pattern that replicates what your cat does. Every cat is different. It takes many years of experience to be able to do what the moderators do here--they can see patterns in the numbers and can predict with greater certainty what might happen. I put full faith in them for dosing. What I can tell you is if you reduce tonight or skip with the depot still in play, you risk having to go back up again like I did, but you wield the syringe and your comfort level is super important here.

I get that. That I might be going back up. It would suck, but my first priority is keeping Buddy safe, and increasing again is better than him dropping too low and getting into trouble tonight. I just don't feel comfortable increasing him to 4.25 units tonight when I was struggling to keep him above water at 3 units today. :(
 
I would not increase back to 4.25 tonight. See where’s he’s at and either shoot 4.0 or do a BCS dose that you are comfortable with and see where he’s at in the morning is what I would do.
 
I would not increase back to 4.25 tonight. See where’s he’s at and either shoot 4.0 or do a BCS dose that you are comfortable with and see where he’s at in the morning is what I would do.

Thank you Elise!
I'll see where his PMPS lands but I'm leaning towards BCS and then reassessing tomorrow.
 
Do you suppose kitties are looking at others racing down the dosing ladder and thinking "That look's like I fun. I want!" ???? :eek:

Haha maybe. I think the general consensus is that this 'dosing' for Buddy is temporary and we'll be back up at 4 when the depot drains :confused:
 
Henry's SS on Dec 21 - took a larger reduction than warranted. Saw lots of greens but it wore off and he went back up.

Neko - 2015 - Dec 15 PM earned a reduction just before AMPS, gave a reduction that morning, gave a BCS reduced dose the following night, went back to my regular dose the next day and she hit 59, following day hit 28. :eek::eek: Did a BCS that night, was down to greens the following night. Of course, this was special circumstances. Neko had just had SRT (radiation therapy) on her pituitary tumour and she really did need less insulin. But it was a good lesson on what can happen if the depot gets ahead of you.
 
Henry's SS on Dec 21 - took a larger reduction than warranted. Saw lots of greens but it wore off and he went back up.

Neko - 2015 - Dec 15 PM earned a reduction just before AMPS, gave a reduction that morning, gave a BCS reduced dose the following night, went back to my regular dose the next day and she hit 59, following day hit 28. :eek::eek: Did a BCS that night, was down to greens the following night. Of course, this was special circumstances. Neko had just had SRT (radiation therapy) on her pituitary tumour and she really did need less insulin. But it was a good lesson on what can happen if the depot gets ahead of you.

Thank you for giving me more specifics Wendy!
Sigh, I just don't think I'm going to grasp the depot action. I'm not quite sure what you mean by the depot getting ahead of you for Neko. Her bg did go up after the BCS doses which is what I would expect. And I understand that the depot would then add some extra action for the next full, albeit reduced, shot. But it didn't push the bg down on a BCS shot. Which is what's happening with Buddy.
So are you saying it's valid to be concerned about giving him a 4 unit dose at the moment if the depot is still adding action? Or am I getting things totally upside down?
 
The depot can influence 4-6 cycles after a reduction - the exact timing of which of those cycles you might see lower numbers depends on many things (absorption, bouncing, etc.) By "depot getting ahead of me" I mean I didn't reduce enough to deplete the overfull depot. The larger depot was still very much influencing cycles after the reduction. So the cycle with the 28 was from the higher depot.
 
Back
Top