1/4, Bell, AMPS 338 +4 309 +8 309 PMPS 357 +4 371

Seth&Bell

Very Active Member
Yesterday

Discouraging that Bell hasn't been able to return to the blues and greens on this dose after having that great run initially. Sigh.

I did hear back from the vet today. She did some research on what I wrote to her earlier in the week and said that her research agreed with mine (AKA @Wendy&Neko 's advice :)). We are going to get the blood samples this Tuesday for the IAA and IGF-1

The vet mentioned that they usually require a fast for these tests from 8 PM the previous night. When I mentioned about Bell's bilious vomiting syndrome and that I need to feed her every 2ish hours to keep her from throwing up, she said that it would most likely be ok to feed 2 hours before the test as long as it isn't a huge amount.

I have a couple questions about this:
1) Is a 2-hour fast long enough not to impact these tests? I would give Bell about 1/4 of a 3 oz fancy feast can 2 hours before the test. I may be able to push that to 2.5-3 hours if necessary but any more is going to make her sick...

2) The blood draw is scheduled at AMPS +1. How should I handle insulin here? Could I shoot the full amount at the normal AMPS time without food, knowing that I could get food back on board before that shot kicked in? Or, assuming that a 2-hr fast is enough time, should I slowly move Bell's shot time back an hour so that I can shoot with food on board? I'd have to adjust my schedule for a few days, which would be a minor pain, but I'm willing to that. I guess I could also skip or do a half shot, but I'd rather not since Bell has been high here for awhile.

Thank you for the advice!!!
 
Seconds later, Blair decided that she had had enough of sharing the sun with Bell and swatted her away. You can tell by the look in her eyes... What a bully :p
upload_2025-1-4_17-1-48.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2025-1-4_17-1-48.png
    upload_2025-1-4_17-1-48.png
    924.3 KB · Views: 34
You don't need to fast at all unless Bell is prone to lipemia in her blood, and that's only for the IAA test. From the MSU website on the IAA test:
Fasting is only necessary to avoid lipemia. If the sample is not lipemic, non-fasting is okay.

How long from your place to the vets? Gotta factor that into timing too. You could move the shot time up if you want over a few days, but see my first answer.

I'd almost wait until tomorrow for the increase. Some cats take the full 6 cycles to clear the bounce and show action after that. I say that cause she's been really flat today, and that can sometimes be a precursor to action, though typically that's flat yellows.
 
Hi Seth. Minner had IAA and IGF-1 tests in August abd IGF-1 repeated last month. Fasting was not mentioned. So it didn’t happen. I looked at the MSU Lab website to see what it said about fasting. Attached is for IAA. The IGF-1 test has the same language about fasting. So it cones down to lipemia … fat in the blood. I think that is more likely to happen after eating a high fat meal.

upload_2025-1-4_19-41-15.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2025-1-4_19-41-15.jpeg
    upload_2025-1-4_19-41-15.jpeg
    48.7 KB · Views: 34
Whoops. Looks like I was marking up the screenshot and drafting response right as Wendy posted. Glad we referenced the same thing. :)
 
Thank you both!!

The vet is close, it takes me less than 10 min to get there. Is there a way to know if Bell is prone to lipemia? I have had recent bloodwork if there is an indicator there we could use.

I’ll hold off on the increase until the morning, Wendy! Saw this just in time.
 
Can you ask your vet about history of lipemia with Bell. I've seen some cats here just have fatty blood, regardless of diet. The caregivers (one worked at the vet) description was the the blood was pinkish.
 
Ivy’s blood is lipemic so it’s why I fast her. (And I don’t give insulin the morning of labs since she’s dived while I’m at the vet with no food, it was awful. But ECID)

Her triglycerides can be high and they showed me the vial of blood. It looked very cloudy/milky and fatty.

Good luck with the increase and the vet visit! Safe surfing Bell.
 
Can you ask your vet about history of lipemia with Bell. I've seen some cats here just have fatty blood, regardless of diet. The caregivers (one worked at the vet) description was the the blood was pinkish.
Ok that makes sense, thank you. The vet said today that some cats’ blood looks like a strawberry milkshake (eww). She also mentioned that if Bell did have an issue with not fasting, they could just try again another day, which confused me at the time but makes sense now that I understand you could visualize the issue. I doubt they have records of that but I’ve never had it mentioned to me with Bell, which I think they would have. I can ask tho.

I think my plan based on your advice is to just give Bell a smaller meal at her normal shot time (maybe cut her meal in half), and take her in an hour later for the blood draw. If she is having a super low cycle for some miraculous reason, I may change that plan to make sure she stays safe.
 
Last edited:
Ivy’s blood is lipemic so it’s why I fast her. (And I don’t give insulin the morning of labs since she’s dived while I’m at the vet with no food, it was awful. But ECID)

Her triglycerides can be high and they showed me the vial of blood. It looked very cloudy/milky and fatty.

Good luck with the increase and the vet visit! Safe surfing Bell.
Thank you Staci! Oh woah that would be super scary to have her dive at the vet. Good thing you have the libre on so you could see it. I have talked to my vet about how we would manage a dental with her diabetes and they said they would monitor her during it, which was good to hear. But it would make me nervous as the control freak I am
 
Thank you Staci! Oh woah that would be super scary to have her dive at the vet. Good thing you have the libre on so you could see it. I have talked to my vet about how we would manage a dental with her diabetes and they said they would monitor her during it, which was good to hear. But it would make me nervous as the control freak I am
I can totally relate Seth. Control freaks unite :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top