1/4/15 Moo, AMPS 381, +2.5-258, +4-157, +5.5-202 *Post Dental ?s/Raised dose*

Status
Not open for further replies.

Moosmommy

Member Since 2012
Hey everyone,
So I was excited to hear from most people that I should be seeing lower/better numbers after Moo's dental and having 5 teeth pulled.
Well... it seems his numbers are getting worse. I even increased his dose.
He was at .75, but his vet wanted him to go back to 1.0.
I waited to see how he did coming out of the surgery and dealing with the removal of the teeth, but after seeing 300s I decided to try the 1.0 and watch him... well, still 200-300s.
Hardly any blues and no greens since surgery day.
Am I doing something wrong?
Should I try something else?
He's eating the same food as always, he's happy, and acting normal as he did before.
He's a little more lovey dovey as I expected like he was after getting diagnosed the first time and starting on insulin and feeling better...
But nothing else has changed.
He's been eating fine, using the litter box.... he doesnt drink much but he never really has. Before he was dx with diabetes he drank like a fish of course. Since then... I hardly ever see him drink. But everything else seems to be healthy and normal. He does get water mixed in with his food too. For all I know he drinks all night long when we sleep lol.
Anyway, just wondering what some of you think of these numbers?

Thanks.
 
I think you just need some patience pants.
You got a blue. Dosecrease will come in a couple more cycles....

It doesn't just change overnight after a dental.....
He's still a diabetic.... it's just that he couldn't really go into remission with bad teeth. Not that the bad teeth are gone, it is possible.
Especially since he got greens before..... but he will have to work his way down just like all the others.

so patience, grasshopper.....
 
Hang in there Annie!!

When China had her dental (and 5 teeth extracted) I thought we'd get better numbers too....didn't happen. While for lots of kitties, it can help with their numbers, it's definitely not a "cure all"

At least you know Moo's teeth are clean and her mouth's in good shape now! One less thing to worry about! :)
 
Keep in mind that it can take several days for an inflammation to reside. If Moo needed 5 extractions, those teeth may have been bothering her and then there's the pain after the extractions which can keep numbers higher. Give this dose a chance!
 
Hi Annie

I'm sorry Moo's numbers have not yet come down. As Sienne said, if there is infection/inflammation or pain, it could take a bit of time to see better numbers. Or if the teeth weren't causing the issue with BG, then you might not see an improvement. Hang in there. you are doing a good job of testing and getting those PS numbers.
 
Sounds like Moo is doing well post dental surgery.:cool:
Five extractions is a big deal.
FWIW in each case it took 8-10 days post dental for BK s numbers to settle in.


Was a follow up visit scheduled?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top