1/4/14 Help! Question about Topper

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jan and Topper

Member Since 2013
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=106757
I realize I haven't been here for a couple months. No computer etc etc. I also realize it is late, it took me 2 1/2 hours to catch the SS up on the no good computer I'm using. I hope someone who can help me is here.
Should I raise Topper to 1.5 or is he bouncing? I think I should raise him. I'm very very worried about these numbers. I was very ill in December, in and out of hospital and this all got away from me. It's almost time for his shot so I guess too late for tonight but what about in the morning? Raise? Wait another cycle?
I'm sorry, my thinking is muddled.

Just a reminder, I've chosen not to take Topper into low numbers but instead I'm trying for nadirs in the 100 - 180 range. Also his current dose is 1.25, has been on that for 5 or 6 days.
 
Hi Jan, sorry you haven't been well. I think you've got room to increase Topper as he's only seen the one blue mid cycle lately. One suggestion I'd make is to try moving tests around a bit. Sometimes nadirs can move. So instead of always getting a +6, try some +4, +5, or +7 tests too.
 
sorry you've had such health problems!

i think wendy's suggestion about moving your test times around is a really good one. sometimes that can really fill out the picture of what's going on.
 
Thank you Wendy.
I'll try testing at different times.
I reduced Topper's dose gradually from I think it was 4u. Is it "normal" for him to be needing the dose increased again? He did this once before but I think it was before I started posting here on the board and is not on his SS. It just seems odd to me.
 
Thank you too Julie.
I will try that. I test at +6 because it's when he eats, he's so intent on his food I can test him without a struggle! He hates tests and shots.

Oh good at least I know he's "normal". :-D
 
Topper has stomach issues and I actually divide his food up so he gets a portion every 3 hours, with shot, +3, +6, +9. I know he probably should not eat at +9 but he hasn't had a bad bout of vomiting, not eating and crying in pain since I started this schedule.
 
you can't argue with what works!! i've heard other people say that their cat's nausea decreased when they didn't let them go too many hours with eating, too.
 
That's interesting that other people have seen this too. The nausea and vomiting and pain go on for days once it gets started. The vet thinks Topper has pancreatitis even though the test for it was negative.
 
if Topper wasn't fasted before the test, it might not be accurate. a lot of our diabetic cats have pancreatitis - it can be acute and dramatic, or the simmering, chronic kind. that can drive up BGs too. have you read the post Marje wrote on pancreatitis? I think it's at the bottom of the New to the Group sticky, along with several other single-topic posts.
 
Hi, Jan!

I agree with the feedback that others have provided. I think Topper could use more insulin. My rule of thumb is that all things being equal, if you don't like where your kitty's nadir is falling, increase the dose. Given your goals for Topper, he hasn't seen enough consistent blue to meet those goals.

If you look at Gabby's SS, you'll see that her dose varies. In fact, I increased her dose yesterday.

I hope you're feeling better. I also hope the New Year means no more hospital stays for you!
 
Hi Jan - I hope you are feeling better. I wish you luck with Topper, and like the feedback you have received. it's all good, and I too wold increase the dose, with a few more test at different times. Have a great new year!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top