1/31 - Zelda - AMPS 161

Peter Moore

Member Since 2019
Looking good. Thanks all for making me do 0.1 and not overreacting to last night's 303. :)

Couldn't bring myself to get a sample last night. It was just a day from hell. But today's cycle will be more informative anyway. Will get a +2 today for sure.
 
+2 205.

Wondering if I actually got a meaningful amount in the shot this morning. Only my second foray into 0.1. But on the other hand she did go up by 29 on 1/11 between PS and +2 so that may not be surprising.
 
It is possible Zelda dropped last night after PMPS and now she's on her way up. Keep steady with 0.1u to let the depot build.
 
I thought it would be interesting to look at what these microdoses actually look like when dispensed. Check it out.

Dose%20comparisons.png

https://www.dropbox.com/s/lalz8n3ojgge5i6/Dose comparisons.png?dl=0

Does this look right to folks? I was encouraged that both my attempts at 0.1 were pretty consistent, and both were quite significantly more than 1 drop [edit oops]. I might try 0.25 and 0.5 to compare as well.

Note I'm assuming a pretty circular shape for the drop in the XY plane, and half the radius on the Z plane, so volume = 4/3 * pi * abc.

In fact with the calipers I might even be able to make a reasonable estimate of the actual volume in CCs. Stand by.

I may not get to the point of being comfortable giving dosing advise to folks but maybe I can add a little engineering nerdity to the mix!
 
Last edited:
In all seriousness, I assume no one has done a full blown capability (aka reproducibility) study on these microdose guidelines have they? That might be worth doing.
 
Here's another one.

p.png


Assumptions:
I'm assuming my 0.1 procedure is actually targeting 0.1 accurately. That is the reference and thus the average of all the 0.1's is taken as the target "pixel volume". Note the actual estimate for the z-diameter (20% of the XY diameter in this case, i.e., something like a hamburger bun shape) does not affect the final normalized numbers but it's used just as a number to plug into the volume formula, 4/3 * pi * r1 * r2 *r3.

Good news:
The 0.1 procedure is pretty nicely repeatable, ranging from 88% from 108% of mean. On the previous attempt it ranged from 80% to 120% which is still not terrible. This was done on 2 different syringes.

The really good news:
This round saw calculated a drop as 0.027. Last round saw a drop as 0.024. The two rounds were done on two different syringes. If we take as given that the drop procedure is very repeatable (which it should be the most), then this is good evidence that the 0.1 procedure is also repeatable.

The bad news:
The difference between "0.25" and "0.1" was not nearly what it should be.

How a full blown study would work:
We'd need 30 examples of 0.25, 0.1, and 1 drop. Within each dose category, each sample should be from a different syringe of the same model so that that variable can be accounted for. Ideally each sample would come from a different vial of Lantus, though that would probably not be feasible. Each time we'd use the drop as the reference because we can safely assume the drop procedure is dead solid. With this method you can do 3-4 samples on each photo as long as the photo also contained a drop as a reference. They need to be close together so that the camera angle is not a factor, and the photo has to be taken directly flat overhead.

We'd ideally want each person participating to provide 30 samples of each dose size. Then we'd calculate something called a capability index for to see how each person does.

What it would and wouldn't show:
It would NOT tell us what the actual dose is in units or CCs that we're administering when we say we're doing 0.25, 0.1, or a drop.
It WOULD tell us how consistent we're all being, and how the different doses compare to one another.

Any takers?
 
PMPS 124 :) :)

Plan: Feed. Inject 0.1. Check at +4 (the stuff consistently takes awhile to kick in on her.) Possibly stay up and do mini curve overnight. Any other suggestions?
 
Would it be worth checking her at +2 also, to see how the carryover is affecting the night doses with the 12 hr separation? There isn't much for overnight data in your ss.

Great job with the dose sizes. That's quite interesting!
 
I would get the +2. That is the test that tells you how active the cycle could be. It the +2 is the same or lower, it could be an active cycle and more testing would be necessary.
 
Since you like science nerd stuff, here is a couple posts did comparing Monoject syringes with Terumo , and part 1 - back when Terumo made the best insulin syringes, before they discontinued them. More to to show you how someone else did measurements.
Ooh that is exciting stuff. Shame the good ones are discontinued (isn't that typical though?)

If y'all think +2 is better than +4, after look at our chart, then that's what I'll do.
 
+2 124 - exactly the same.

So you think I need to monitor further or just leave food out before sleeping (which I was going to do anyway)?
 
Usually when it is the same or lower, it could mean an active cycle. How long until you need to sleep? It would be good to get at least one more test in before bed.

eta: many cats go lower on night cycles
 
I could do +4, or +5 if I really had to.

So "active cycle" seems to be a term of art here. Sorry if this is defined somewhere but what does that mean as opposed to something that's not an active cycle?
 
Oh, active as in keeping you on your toes- usually more testing is needed, possible steering with food
 
An active cycle is where there is downward movement in the cycle. If the +2 is quite a bit lower than the preshot, then that's likely a cycle that needs even more monitoring.
 
+4 99

I don't know whether this would still be considered "active" but it sure is looking like a great validation of 0.1 clearly not being too little!
 
It is definitely still going down.
When Rhubarb was giving me drops like that, I'd give a bit of her regular low carb, and test her again in half hour to an hour. If she wasn't still dropping, I'd give her regular timed meals and head to bed. If she was dropping, I'd give a little more low carb, retest in an hour. If higher, then I'd head to bed. I worried, and every night was food steered once she started staying in greens. She would have dropped too much otherwise.
Ok that was a wordy mess. Still on migraine brain and exhausted, so I apologize for that.
If you need any guidance, add the ?preface to title and/or tag and update title, and there should be someone more awake to help out.
Hope your princess surfs safely tonight!
 
Back
Top