1/31 Tessie Lou - 1st Curve, Low AMPS 201, +2 is 112

Status
Not open for further replies.

tessielou

Member Since 2010
I'd like to get some feedback from others with experience reading the Lantus spreadsheets. Today was Tessie's 15th day on Lantus at the same dose, 1unit. It was her lowest AMPS since starting Lantus! Also, I had never done a +2 spot check until today, and it was such a surprise to see such a drop so soon. Is this possibly still her PM shot working? Or is it an early onset on the AM shot? Also, her PMPS was lower than her +10. What exactly causes that late curve?

Thanks for any insights....
 
Re: 1/31 Tessie Lou - First Curve, Lowest AMPS 201, +2 is 11

It could be any number of things. It could be that for whatever reason, this cycle Tessie had an early nadir. The nadir isn't a fixed point -- it can change cycle to cycle or day to day. I like to suggest getting a +2 because in most cases, it can give you an indication of how the cycle will go. When Gabby has a +2 that's lower than her pre-shot, it usually means a busy cycle.

A double dip is also not unusual -- that's the 2nd drop late in the cycle.

What I would suggest is that you not forgo PM tests. When you're starting to see blue numbers, those PM tests become even more important. Many cats have lower numbers in the evening cycle.
 
Thanks, Sienne, I was curious about the lower AMPS, too. Have there been any studies that indicate holding a dose longer may bring on another natural drop in BG? I was not expecting the 201 this morning, especially after seeing very consistent AMPS numbers for the past two weeks. If the number is low again tomorrow a.m., I'm thinking of holding this dose for another week to see if Tessie can bring herself down without a dosecrease. What do you think?

Thanks, celi! We're excited to be going in the right direction!
 
Sandy: it depends on what she does....if you are following protocol, a newly diagnosed kitty should be given a reduction if she falls below 50. Any kitty that falls below 40 gets an automatic reduction. Insofar as not raising her dose (which, by following protocol, you probably would have wanted to do by now unless there is some reason the dosing experts have advised not to), it's best to have a dosing expert weigh in. I don't know if holding them at one dose for a long time is shown to drop PSs....sorry I'm no help but one of the dosing experts could let you know.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top