1/31 Spot - PMPS 45 / +12.25 64 - keeping me on my toes (as usual)

SpotsMom

Member Since 2018
Previous

Hey everyone! It's been a very long time since I stopped by to say hello. Spot has been keeping me on my toes as usual. He's been generally in good health since the last time I was here, but seems to want to race down the dosing scale and as a result we've had some scary low numbers recently.. I'm not sure what I could be doing differently. I'm trying to stick as closely as I can to TR rules, but I'll be honest, it is sometimes more than a bit nerve-wreaking to see so much lime green.

I've been a little extra emotional the past few days. One of my good friends lost her family kitty to a major hypo and seizure and it just tears me up. They thought they were doing everything right, trusted all the vet instructions, paid big money for the expensive prescription food... but never home tested and had no idea they were flirting with such danger. I'm so grateful that I found this site so early in Spot's diagnosis. I don't even want to imagine how much worse it could have been without you all! :bighug::bighug:
 
That's so sad to hear about your friends kitty. :bighug: Poor kitty.

As for Spot you might want to think about taking reductions at below 50 for a while and see if that keeps him safer. I know you've been treating him as long term diabetic, which he is. But sometimes when kitty is in a hurry to go down the dosing ladder, a little safety goes a long way. If he stops holding his reduction, you can go back to under 40 as the reduction point, or three times under 50.
 
Wow! Look at those numbers Spot is really working the juice :)

so sorry to hear about your friends kitty. Nothing makes that kind of loss easier.

I am also so glad that I found this website... it is scary to think what could happen if you follow a standard treatment plan from some vets.
 
That's so sad to hear about your friends kitty. :bighug: Poor kitty.

As for Spot you might want to think about taking reductions at below 50 for a while and see if that keeps him safer. I know you've been treating him as long term diabetic, which he is. But sometimes when kitty is in a hurry to go down the dosing ladder, a little safety goes a long way. If he stops holding his reduction, you can go back to under 40 as the reduction point, or three times under 50.

That’s a good idea, and may have prevented a couple of the really low numbers we’ve seen had I started doing that sooner! Hopefully that takes some of the pressure off :)
 
Back
Top