1/31 - Sami - AMPS 373; +2 504; +4 463; +6 513; +8 435; +11 348; PMPS 363; +2 399; +4 365

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tina & Sammy

Member Since 2010
Yesterday's Condo

Last night Sami did good, She got down into the 200's, it was the high 200's, but I was happy to see that yellow show up for a bit.

As you can see she has spiked back up to 504 at +2. I was not expecting that. I guess this could be a bounce from the lower numbers last night? Prior to last night it had been 3.5 days since she has even gotten close to the 200's.

Or maybe it was from breakfast? She ate nearly a ½ a can of food 5.5 oz can. Was that too much at one time. I only left it out for about 15 minutes and then pulled it up so I could see where she was at +2. Sami tends to eat, then rest for 20-30 minutes then eat again, and I didn't want her eating just before +2 and was going back to bed until +2.

I hope we see a drop in her numbers again today.
 
I am not sure we will have much movement today. I am hoping she is back down into the 300's by PMPS. Do you think that is possible?
 
Morning, Tina & Sami. :)

I would think that her +2 # was food induced, and yes, that can, and typically does happen until you can get her regulated. It also looks like she's bouncing due to the increase in insulin, which is also normal. I would hold this dose for another 2 more cycles (6 in total) and then see what she does by tomorrow night. More than likely you'll want another increase soon to help bring her #s down into the yellows. Since she's currently in higher #s, try and get ketone tests to ensure that there's nothing going on. If at all possible, you may want to try her on a feeding schedule to try and see if that'll help keep her #s a bit flatter. All you can do is try and see what works for her and what doesn't. As far as her getting another 300 # by PMPS, there's no telling what she'll do, but be prepared if she doesn't. Simply continue to give her the 1u, and continue to test her. Good luck, and keep up the excellent work. You're both doing great!
 
ECID of course, and so usually the +2 is a good indicator, but I have learned, at least with Skooter, that if the +2 doesn't show much movement, to get a +3 because sometimes Skooter likes to take his dive at +3 instead of +2.....

Sami, let's go down those colors a little bit today, ok?
 
I have a question about food. I purchased Nutro - Max Cat Adult - with Savory Venison Chunks in Sauce. I have always thought anything that says sauce or gravy is typically considered HC. But as I look through the food list I see several Nutro foods that list gravy/sauce and they show 6-9% carbs, there are some that are a bit higher also. My main concern is, was what I purchased the same that is listed on the chart?

The chart says :

Max Cat - with Savory Venison, but it doesn't say anything about Chunks in Sauce. and I am concerned that I am giving Sami a food that is higher in carbs than we really want her eating right now. Any help determining if this is the same thing would be most helpful. Thanks.
 
I haven't visited the food chart in such a long time, and I know it changes, but not sure how often, or when. Typically anything in sauce will be higher in carbs than the regular pate style of food. You may want to try to find something lower in carbs to help bring those #s down. I've been feeding Blackie Evo 95% Chicken & Turkey, and I think it's about 2% in carbs, and it's also a pate style. The gravy style of food can be used to help bring up a dropping kitty, and sometimes, depending on the kitty, the kitty will respond positively with it. Every cat is different, though. All you can do is research further, try another food, and if that doesn't work, try something else. Remember to do transitions slowly so that you don't upset kitty's system. Good luck! :)
 
Sami had a better night last night. Kitties can bounce from seeing yellows if they aren't used to it. Come on down Sami!

Good question about the breakfast. When I look at the manufacturers site for that product it lists potato starch and wheat gluten as ingredients. Those are usually higher carb. I'd stick to something in the 2-6% carb range for now. Some kitties are more carb sensitive than others.
 
@Wendy&Neko Thanks for pointing that out. I am so glad I asked. She eat nearly the entire can between last night and early this morning. I will put that aside for a time when she gets in the green. She really did like that food. If and when she becomes regulated and off insulin would she be able to have this as a treat every now and then?

I have been giving her food that is 8-9% as well, but you are saying to stay between 2-6%. I thought anything under 10% was okay? Sami really doesn't like the Wellness all that much, but it is probably the best option at this point. As I have mentioned I am trying to stick to foods with a lower Phosphorus as well due to her slightly elevated kidney values. Her values are not a concern of the vet, but we are trying to keep them under control with the Sub-Q fluids.

We are still back up in the 500's for +6. I probably will give her, and myself, a break until +10.
 
Under 10% is technically OK, but some kitties are really carb sensitive and the higher low carb foods make a difference. And I've noticed that some cats get more of a rise in numbers based on the source of the carbs. I switched Neko's HC from FF gravy lovers (carbs is wheat) to Merck Cowboy Cookout (carbs from potatoes) and she needs a lot less of the CC to bring up her numbers. Both are 18% carbs. Good plan on the lower phosphorus. I am doing the same cause diabetes can be hard on the kidneys.

If Sami is a grazer, it's OK to leave food out for her all the time. Just pull it up a few hours before preshot.
 
@Wendy&Neko

I am trying to transition Sami from the 8% but it might take a few days. I will try giving her Wellness again tomorrow, hopefully she will eat it. I am also going to try leaving the food out tonight. I am just nervous because what if she eats within 30 minutes of the time I do the test. I will be hard to monitor over night because I will be sleeping and won't see her eat. I guess I won't know unless I try. I will get a +2 in a couple of house and post the update. I am hoping to see some yellow again tonight, but it looks like she was already on the rise at PMPS so she will probably rise up a bit more from eating. She hasn't had food since +6 AMPS except a few freeze dried pieces of chicken, which she actually ate for a change.
 
It does not look like we are trending to hit yellow tonight, but I will probably get up at +8 to see where she is and remove the food that was left out for grazing.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top