Holly and Pablo
Member
(No condo for a couple weeks.)
WCR: The chin issue that I was so worried about a few weeks ago cleared up with just antibiotics (no steroids, like my vet suggested). His incisions from the upper canine extractions look great and he's adjusted well without the teeth.
Now on to the frustrating stuff. Pablo has been on Lantus for almost three months, and we're really not getting anywhere. I increased from 3.75u to 4u about a week ago and only saw blue twice. That's been the story the whole time. A sea of pinks and yellows with very few blues and greens. Actually, I'm pretty sure I saw more blue on less than 3 units than now! He did probably have some very low numbers during the day this past Thursday because his PMPS was only 165 (and I forgot to leave food out during the day :shock
.
Can you guys take a look at my SS for the last few weeks and give me some thoughts?
Here are my thoughts:
1. I think I'm holding the dose for too long. I end up keeping it for weeks trying to figure out if I'm dealing with NDW (which seems to always happen) or rebound issues (which also seem to happen too).
2. If he has a blue or a green, and then pinks for 4-5 days, is that still rebound? Shouldn't it only take a couple days to clear? At what point to you stop calling it rebound and instead call the good numbers a fluke? What I mean to say is, maybe it's not good numbers followed by days of bad ones. Maybe it's bad numbers with an accidental good one every one in a while. Does that make sense?
Help! confused_cat
WCR: The chin issue that I was so worried about a few weeks ago cleared up with just antibiotics (no steroids, like my vet suggested). His incisions from the upper canine extractions look great and he's adjusted well without the teeth.
Now on to the frustrating stuff. Pablo has been on Lantus for almost three months, and we're really not getting anywhere. I increased from 3.75u to 4u about a week ago and only saw blue twice. That's been the story the whole time. A sea of pinks and yellows with very few blues and greens. Actually, I'm pretty sure I saw more blue on less than 3 units than now! He did probably have some very low numbers during the day this past Thursday because his PMPS was only 165 (and I forgot to leave food out during the day :shock

Can you guys take a look at my SS for the last few weeks and give me some thoughts?
Here are my thoughts:
1. I think I'm holding the dose for too long. I end up keeping it for weeks trying to figure out if I'm dealing with NDW (which seems to always happen) or rebound issues (which also seem to happen too).
2. If he has a blue or a green, and then pinks for 4-5 days, is that still rebound? Shouldn't it only take a couple days to clear? At what point to you stop calling it rebound and instead call the good numbers a fluke? What I mean to say is, maybe it's not good numbers followed by days of bad ones. Maybe it's bad numbers with an accidental good one every one in a while. Does that make sense?
Help! confused_cat