1/31 Morpheus ambg 141, pmbg 116 dose advice please

Status
Not open for further replies.

dlynn

Member Since 2011
We have been shooting for 2 weeks, Lantus 1.0 unit bid. See also spreadsheet. My question is since the change in food and treating his worms and leg infection, these were the lowest numbers I have seen for him. Last insulin dose 6pm on 1/30. I didn't give any today. Should I have been giving half dose? Not sure how low I should be looking for. I was supposed to be gone to work 10 hours today but was called off. Thank goodness as hubby does not check BG and he would have given 1.0 this evening. I happened to be home and precheck was 116 so I didn't give any. Have I depleted the shed and will end up with high numbers tomorrow. Everyone's wise advise has gotten me thus far is saving my newest baby, so any words of wisdom are appreciated.
Thanks, Donna :smile:
 
Re: 1/31 Morpheus amps 141, pmps 116

Seems like you know what's what so I am suggesting you add dosing help to your subject line , so the dosing helpers here can assist you.
Yes, by not giving any shots today, you will have depleted the shed, so you can see tomorrow what number you get, and it could be high.
One thing I would emphasize is that here in lantus land we must use patience and consistancy of dose..It takes time for any dose to settle into the cat's system, so shooting the same dose on a regular basis is how a cat gets regulated..--
I looked at your Spread sheet--For instance on 1/27 he was amps 172, & you gave no shot--Later in the day at pmps he was 600 & you shot 1.25U
What would have better would have been, perhaps, shooting 1.00U am and pm & he could have had good numbers all day & eve.
Do you work all day??
Look you are doing well, and just need to get into the swing of things here-
So, Welcome to Lantus Land!--We all help each other & we are a family here! Someone is usually here 24/7 so you are never alone..Hope this helped a little!
 
Re: 1/31 Morpheus amps 141, pmps 116

Hi Donna, Welcome to LL, I've not visited your condo yet. You will get some experienced eyes on your question if you edit your subject line to read something along the lines of: "need dosing advice". Also, since you did not shoot any insulin today, your subject line should read "ambg" and "pmbg" (a.m. blood glucose; p.m. blood glucose) (the "ps" signifies that you gave a shot of insulin).

While you are waiting for some really experienced eyes, you could read the following post (by Libby) on What to do if you have a low preshot: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=26571&start=0

Hope you will get it all straightened out. Morpheus seems to have many issues and you need some knowledgeable people to look at his SS and give you advice. A whole day is a long time to withhold insulin.

Good luck,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 1/31 Morpheus amps 141, pmps 116 -Dosing advise please

I work 10-12 hour day or 8-10 hours depending. No one else in the house is willing to test BG but they will shoot if needed. I am fearful of dropping while I am away because the unwillingness/inability to deal with BG monitoring and treatment of hypos. This generally the longest shift occurs only on Mondays. Looking at the protocol is was to hold less than 150 and recheck. I one day I was home I was able to recheck. The vet was having me up the dose every three days (which I didn't do) He thinks I am up to 1.5 But when I started getting higher numbers I was doubting myself as to what I was doing so I upped the dose. But then I noticed the leg abcess and dropped back after the numbers started dropping. I should be off work tomorrow and plan on doing a curve. This will be the first one. Will it be accurate given he just had an antibiotic shot today? Thanks.
 
Re: 1/31 Morpheus amps 141, pmps 116

Hi again, Donna. You have to edit the subject line on your first post of the day, otherwise it won't register correctly. You need to get eyes on your condo, so go back to your first post, hit the "edit" button, and change the subject line to "Morpheus ambg 141, pmbg 116; dosing advice please"

It's all new and complicated, but you'll get the hang of it.

Ella
 
Re: 1/31 Morpheus amps 141, pmps 116

Well, these are different numbers than you're generally used to seeing. If you look at many of the subject lines on the Board, you'll probably notice that we do, in fact, give insulin routinely at the pre-shot numbers you're seeing. However, we have data to support shooting low and I don't think you're quite there yet. You might want to take a look at the Data Ready sticky. Likewise, the sticky on the Tight Regulation Protocol will give you information on the criteria we use for dose increases and decreases.

Given that you've been skipping shots, it might help if you reduced the dose so you could shoot comfortably twice a day. It's not surprising that you're seeing a turn in the numbers given that Morpheus is probably feeling better now that he's hopefully worm-free and that you've changed his diet. In addition, the abscess, or any infection will raise numbers but they will come down quickly once an infection clears. Both factors can drop blood glucose levels. My hunch is that if you're comfortable with starting back at 0.5u, this should be safe and allow you to shoot twice a day. If Morpheus' numbers start going back up, you can increase the dose.

I'd also like to encourage you to get spot checks during the PM cycle. Many cats have lower numbers at night. Getting in a test before you go to bed will give you a sense of where your kitty's numbers are heading.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top