1/31 Makoto AMPS (138) +5 (109) ....hold insulin?

Si am cat mom

Member Since 2019
Trying to talk myself off the ledge a bit. I thought we would have disrupted the depot from the previous dose....
Well, without checking BGs and being able to intervene with carbier food...I'm a little worried about the 0.10 dose now since he had been going lower overnight? Last night was great....
Am I overreacting a bit ? Or should I tell the sitter no insulin with these flat, low blues ?
 
Hi Ari, I'll offer my own personal opinion based on my experience, which will likely not be the opinion of the mass majority, but since this is a peer review board, others are also welcome to chime in. I have gone on two trips now, and both times did a reduced dose. Ended up actually reducing to what I thought was reasonable and had the pet sitter feed higher LC than usual meals. Both times, the night I came back he tested in the 3s and 4s. On a significantly reduced dose (I went from 1.75u to 1 u)

You are using an AT2. Makoto is on a really low dose, and you are only gone for 2-3 days I believe. I'd suggest no insulin, since he doesn't have any history of ketones, and you can pick up where you left off when you get back. Many kitties go off their food a little with strangers in the house, so I'm thinking of safety first.
 
Sorry, I was speaking in metric :rolleyes:for our US peeps, I was getting 60s -70s on an AT2 upon return. And...I believe Makoto can be a bit...grumpy, which means he's not likely to tolerate tests, which means the pet sitter won't know to intervene if Makoto goes low.
 
Sorry, I was speaking in metric :rolleyes:for our US peeps, I was getting 60s -70s on an AT2 upon return. And...I believe Makoto can be a bit...grumpy, which means he's not likely to tolerate tests, which means the pet sitter won't know to intervene if Makoto goes low.


Yeah...she's not testing at all so. I expected us to still be in the 200s like last week, but then that increase kicked in so.
Thanks all.
 
The only other option to skipping is a one drop dose. But I wouldn't suggest that unless you could how many drops are in your 0.1 unit dose and see there are quite a few drops.
 
If it’s me, I won’t hv peace of mind if if pet sitter gives insulin. I’ll be wondering if she does it right.

Yeah...We practiced the other night but in my head, I'm just worried about it and keep thinking about 'what ifs'. If we were still holding 200s overnight, maybe, but...100s doesn't leave much room for his night time diving.
Next time, I'll know to taper back the dose earlier in the week.
 
Back
Top