1/31 Loudogg AMPS 45/37 NS +4 168 +7 182 PMPS 476 - Reduction earned!

Amanda and a Loudogg

Member Since 2017
January 30, 2019 Condo - A beautiful day at the lagoon!

Good morning all!
Lou had an amazingly beautiful day at the lagoon yesterday! I was so excited that he might keep it going into today, but he decided he wanted less insulin instead. I thankfully checked him slightly earlier and he was at 45, so I had time to wait 20 minutes to check him again. He was at 37 instead of the 50 I was hoping for! :eek: I fed him his LC meal with about a tablespoon of 20% HC. I set an alarm for Caleb to check him at +3 to make sure he was coming up/staying steady. After he ate, I let nerves get to me a bit and I gave him an extra teaspoon of 20% HC before I left for work. The last time this happened he came up beautifully and he even stayed green for a few hours before going up. The difference here is I wasn't going to be there to make sure, so I wanted to err on the side of caution. So while I didn't get to work as early as I wanted to, Lou has earned a reduction to 3.5u! I'll take it! :joyful:

It's going to start warming up today and tomorrow, so that's exciting. My car made it through like a champ! Back to work today and then I'll have the next 3 days off!

I hope you all have a wonderful day and your kitties surf safely! Sending vines to Jojo (@Pamela & Amethyst), Gremlin (@Laura and Gremlin), and Miss P (@Phoebes). :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Congrats on the reducie!
It's great to see Lou responding so well to the Lev! I hope he keeps the DARK GREEN surfs going:D

Sorry you had to go through it, but I'm glad you and your car survived the cold. Stay warm and enjoy your 3 days off :)
I've dealt with the fear of a cracked engine in extreme cold, and I remember my relief when the car survived the cold blast.
 
Sorry you had to skip today, though it was in a good cause. Next time, you might want to think about giving him some LC at +9 if you see him dropping like he did last night. Might have been enough to stave off the 30’s.

Good to hear your temps are warming up. So glad I live on the west coast!
 
Next time, you might want to think about giving him some LC at +9 if you see him dropping like he did last night. Might have been enough to stave off the 30’s.
That's actually the weird thing! He always gets a snack when we test at +9 to +9.5 (1/4 can LC). I've seen that advice around, and I was wondering what I should do when I already give him food late (he eats at PS, +3, +6/+7, +9). He usually holds relatively steady between +9 and PS, but when he wants those dosecreases, apparently he really wants them. So annoying.

It does makes me wonder though: With Levemir, his insulin won't kick in for at least 4 hours. I do know you are supposed to skip when in the 40s. Would there ever be a time you could still give a shot while in the 40s on Lev? I thought on the old handling low doses article it mentioned doing it in rare cases for very experienced members, but I can't find that now. I don't know if I'd actually have the guts to shoot a BG in the 40s, but it's worth asking.
 
I would never give a shot when in the 40’s. What happens if Lou decides he wants to nadir even later that time? I spotted Neko’s nadir as late as +15 on Lev. If she was low at preshot, I waited until she turned around. You don’t need to skip, if the schedule can accommodate a delay, which sounds like isn’t an option for you.
 
I would never give a shot when in the 40’s. What happens if Lou decides he wants to nadir even later that time? I spotted Neko’s nadir as late as +15 on Lev. If she was low at preshot, I waited until she turned around. You don’t need to skip, if the schedule can accommodate a delay, which sounds like isn’t an option for you.
That's what I thought, but I figured it was worth an ask. There are times I could likely wait at least a half an hour to shoot, but I've got no extra time in the mornings when I'm on my way to work. Of course these last two reductions have been when I couldn't delay a reasonable time. Go figure. :rolleyes:
 
Last edited:
I was lucky, each time I got a 40’s in the AM, she was up 30 minutes later. And bonus, I was wide awake!
 
I'm surprised how long he cruised given the no shot this morning. And then that PMPS, whew! :p Hopefully he'll get out of the clouds sooner rather than later. I'm just glad he's back on the juice. Not something I thought I'd hear myself say, haha. :rolleyes:
 
That's actually the weird thing! He always gets a snack when we test at +9 to +9.5 (1/4 can LC). I've seen that advice around, and I was wondering what I should do when I already give him food late (he eats at PS, +3, +6/+7, +9). He usually holds relatively steady between +9 and PS, but when he wants those dosecreases, apparently he really wants them. So annoying.
What carb is his low carb?
Perhaps if he is dropping fast at +9, or in low dark greens you can opt for a slightly higher LC than he usually gets? He may sometimes need a little extra help to stop him building a head of steam and heading for the deep water.
It's a tactic that helped me keep Georges dramatics under some modicum of control.
 
What carb is his low carb?
Perhaps if he is dropping fast at +9, or in low dark greens you can opt for a slightly higher LC than he usually gets? He may sometimes need a little extra help to stop him building a head of steam and heading for the deep water.
It's a tactic that helped me keep Georges dramatics under some modicum of control.
Looks like they're all under 5 carbs, around 2-3. And that's not anything on purpose, just what we feed (Fancy Feast pates and Sheba). I think the longer he stays in greens it'll be easier to sense a pattern of when he's going to dive.... maybe. Hopefully. :p But it would definitely be nice to cut that head of steam off so he can keep getting his insulin.
 
Looks like they're all under 5 carbs, around 2-3. And that's not anything on purpose, just what we feed (Fancy Feast pates and Sheba). I think the longer he stays in greens it'll be easier to sense a pattern of when he's going to dive.... maybe. Hopefully. :p But it would definitely be nice to cut that head of steam off so he can keep getting his insulin.
I mostly fed 2-3% but used some 7-9% to level George off when I needed to.
 
Back
Top