1/31 larry +2 137 +4 153 +6 237 +9 438 pmps 387

Status
Not open for further replies.

IloveLarry

Member Since 2014
so this is his lowest ever recorded! technically it has been abt 2 and a half hrs.
hard time testing. got 1 drop of blood that was such a bead, it literally sat on top of the strip doing nothing! i stared in disbelief, tried to move it with my finger. weird! so, started all over. guess the test strip was bad. we have gone thru almost a box of 50 strips in abt 10 days.
 
Re: 1/31 larry +2 137

Well, that is an interesting number! I wonder if the cycle lasted that long or if he went down low overnight.

I have to say I am puzzled by his numbers, Pam. He wasn't getting great numbers on 1 unit or even 2. Now he dips on two..... So, two choices. Skipp the shot until tonight (not great as he will probably be high). Keep testing until you get a shootable number and then give a smaller dose than last night. This can throw off your schedule as you shouldn't shoot again until at least +8.

 
Re: 1/31 larry +2 137

sorry i dont undrstnd what u mean sue?
well, there r so many factors, like all the treats he gets now r just protein and that makes him less hungry so he doesnt eat as much. then he eats a lot less most days altogether. some days vry little, and some days he eats what i think is a normal amt. for him. hes not crazy abt chicken as a treat anymore, and not evn super thrilled with his morning and night meals. he just isnt as hungry most of the time.
i think i see another pattern too. these blue #s where hes feeling better r when its hardest to test usually! the times the tests r easy its usually high (prob. when he feels bad) so hes more still, and lazy.
 
Re: 1/31 larry +2 137

Oh Pam, I don't know if shooting that low of a number was wise. He could go down too low. Please get another test in an hour.

I am sorry. We have talked about so many things that maybe we forgot to say not to shoot under 200 but to wait until it rises. And then shoot a lower dose.

I will be home today and will watch for you, but think you may have to get some extra tests in to be sure he doesn't drop too low. How many strips do you have? Can you go to Walmart and get some extra?
 
Re: 1/31 larry +2 137

no sue....i couldnt get a amps so i gave 2 U then did a bg at plus2.
make sense?
i wd nvr shoot if i knew he was low! or if i was super confused i wait on feedback, or try b4 shooting.
i thot u knew i always give his shots? unless i am on here asking...help help haha
thanks :)
 
Re: 1/31 larry +2 137

Well, with a 137 at +2, I am worried he might have been under 200 at preshot. I do think it will be wise to watch him carefully today and try to get a test at +4 and +6 to make sure he doesn't drop too low.

Why can't you get a preshot? I know we talked about getting one before feeding and shooting him?
 
Re: 1/31 larry +2 137 +4 153

sometimes i am unable to get a preshot.
i reread this. very helpful, and i agree, slow on changes, and not so many changes at once. larry has had a lot of changes just in the last 3 wks. i am glad hes been able to handle them. he has a sensitive tummy :)
viewtopic.php?f=19&t=303
 
Re: 1/31 larry +2 137 +4 153

The numbers are looking nice, but we don't want him to drop down into the 50s. So please watch him carefully.

Put this in your "tool kit". If you get a preshot 200 or under, don't shoot but wait 20 minutes without feeding and retest. You want to make sure the number is going up, not down and that is above 200. And you probably want to reduce the dose, since the shot from the previous cycle gave you an unshootable preshot. I am guessing his number this am was under 200.

I am nervous as his numbers are pretty unpredictable. I don't like your not having a preshot in the am to base the dose on. What can we do to consistently get an amps number?
 
Re: 1/31 larry +2 137 +4 153

At +4, he should be starting to come up now, so he may be OK.

With N insulins, you really have to get the pre-shot test for safety because of how hard and fast they hit. You don't want to have your cat hypo and die.

If this means actually pricking the vein in the ear to get blood, then do it. Yes, it may bleed profusely then scab or bruise. So be it. Better a bruise or a scab than a hypo, because you will still have your cat.
 
Re: 1/31 larry +2 137 +4 153

im confused. i thot this was good news? that we want him in the blue? i guess i dont undrstnd as well as i thot. i gave him 2 greenies (his old treats) they should have carbs. thatll change where he is at plus6 but since ur worried sue, it worries me.
i can give him more carbs if yall think its necessary. :)
 
Re: 1/31 larry +2 137 +4 153

No, I just watch you to monitor him. Right now his numbers look lovely. I just don't want him dipping into the 50s. Don't give him any higher carb stuff unless you see lower numbers in that 50 range.

It is scary when you don't have an amps. For instance, if he was 150 or something this morning at amps and you shot 2 units, he could go too low. That's why those preshot numbers are so important so you can adjust the dose you need to.
 
Re: 1/31 larry +2 137 +4 153 +6 237

Hi Pam!
Larry IS looking good today! I understand and agree with the concern but looks like it's fine. 'We' tend to panic when a new cat on insulin doesn't have a lot of test numbers yet and drop into this good of numbers. I have a feeling you and Larry are going to be reducing his insulin soon and maybe even be just diet controlled. That's EXCITING!

BIG HUGS!
 
Re: 1/31 larry +2 137 +4 153 +6 237 +9 438

Short version of how to steer low numbers:

When tests show the cat heading for risky numbers (below 50 on a human glucometer, 80 on a pet-specific glucometer), you may want to steer the drop so it is less rapid and/or prevent it from going lower.

You need to have some high carb gravy food, Karo/glucose/pancake syrup on hand - basically any quickly digestible source of carbohydrate (Greenies and dry food will take too long and last too long).

When you become concerned by a test
1) feed 1-2 teaspoons of gravy or food with a couple drops of syrup on it
2) wait 20-30 minutes
3) repeat the test

These 3 steps are repeated until you have 3 rising numbers in a safe range.

Since gravy and syrup wear off quickly, you may be monitoring for a while, especially if you are using a long-acting insulin such as Lantus, Levemir, ProZinc, or PZI.
 
Re: 1/31 larry +2 137 +4 153 +6 237 +9 438

thanks to u all.
very helpful.
great info bj. wish u lived closer...i would need to drag u over here. haha jk :)
hugs for every1. larry says big THANKS! meow purrrrr
 
Re: 1/31 larry +2 137 +4 153 +6 237 +9 438

Turned out good today. But it makes me nervous to shoot without a preshot. How can we help you get one every am?

The insulin brings him down great but it just doesn't last long enough - problem with N. Hope you can get some other insulin soon.
 
Re: 1/31 larry +2 137 +4 153 +6 237 +9 438

not sure yet sue. we shall see in the AM. as i undrstnd, evn if his shot is late, he has to have amps. mornings r the hardest thing evr. i am exhausted evry morn. hard to move or function, and larry is hungry and restless. its super challenging but larry is worth it all :) :) :)
i am sure it will all work out.
if any1 prays, just pray for us. lots going on.
glad to have all u new friends :)
 
Re: 1/31 larry +2 137 +4 153 +6 237 +9 438

Do the best you can. You could feed him some when you first get up. Then test 2 hours later, give him a little bit to eat and shoot.. How bad would that mess up your schedule? It would give you 2 hours to "warm up"
 
Re: 1/31 larry +2 137 +4 153 +6 237 +9 438

it would help but it would make his shot/s too late. 9/9 seems best bc if i do am of 10 then i have to do a pm of 10.
 
Re: 1/31 larry +2 137 +4 153 +6 237 +9 438

took us 20 mins this time ev n using tuna
i sliced my finger open bad on hte can
gotta see if i need stitches
hes 386 any ideas?
 
I THINK the reason he went down at PMPS was food between +6 and +9 wearing off. I think the 387 was closer to his real number. If he were mine, after today, I'd probably give 1.5u's so he won't get too low thru this cycle. It would be OK if you have given 2 but if not, back off this cycle and get some sleep.

HUGS!! GOOD DAY!
 
sounds good laresa. i didnt wna make any more changes yet but i wont be able to monitor during day tmrw so maybe just do 1.5? i was hoping 2 was his # but since high is bttr than low, maybe i can try 1.5 a few days.
typing in the dark with a bandaged finger, im doing pretty well. crap it hurts :((((((
 
The 1.5u's is just for tonight and tomorrow if you can't be home to test him. You will ALWAYS test before a shot even if you can't test at other times every day. When we understand how his body responds by looking at his numbers, the better you can see what you need to do. That PMPS may be the start of a 'bounce' so don't be upset if tomorrows numbers are higher and stay that way. His liver is not used to these low numbers so brought the cake to the party! That's his body protecting itself.

Now - all is fine - GO TO SLEEP! :-D
 
ohhhhh i thot u meant 1.5 as his new dose and see how it goes.
i cant sleep at night...extreme insomnia. mornings r when i would normally sleep.
not gonna get into technicalities of my medical issues, but thats me. running on vry little sleep getting up early and unable to sleep until fairly late.
 
This may help you relax, which, while not sleep, is still helpful for the body. (In a former life, I got a degree in counseling)

Relaxation Breathing​
- based on the information in "The Relaxation Response" by Herbert Benson, MD.

Begin by sitting in a comfortable chair with good back support, or lying down. The key thing is to have your body pretty much straight between hips and shoulders so your lungs have room.

Now, breathe out completely. That way there will be room for a full breath in. If you start with half filled lungs, taking a deep breath in won't feel very large.

Pause.

Slowly, take a deep breath.

Pause.

Slowly, exhale.

Repeat, and establish a pattern of slow, deep breathing. Give yourself a good 20 minutes (turn off the phone, close the door) to get into this process. If done at bedtime, you may drift into sleep.

By slowing and deepening your breathing, you often cause the heart rate to slow and relax, muscle tightness to ease away, and blood pressure to decrease.
 
BJ, that sounds like really good advice. I think many of us don't breathe deeply enough on a regular basis. I'm going to go try what you suggested, right now. I-)
(And hope Mackie doesn't decide to jump on my lungs at the wrong time.... ooofff!)
:lol:
 
thanks for the great tip bj! nights i am wired, mornings i barely can hold my eyes open.
not a morning person.
i love relaxation techniques
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top