1/31 Dylan AMPS 261 PMPS 176 Leonard AMPS 441 PMPS 243

Status
Not open for further replies.

steviep

Member Since 2011
Dylan
AMPS 261
(1.25 dose)
PMPS: 176

Leonard
AMPS 441
(0.5 dose)
PMPS: 243

Leonard I'm definitely giving the same dose but Dylan I'm a little hesitant about shooting. This is her lowest PMPS yet and I'm excited about it! Her dose was increased to 1.25 so I'm wondering if cutting it back to 1 for the night may be best since she's responding quite well. Any suggestions??


So while I've been treating Dylan, I noticed the litterbox was still being used a lot. Suddenly I realized my OTJ cat Leonard was experiencing diabetic symptoms yet again. He was just at the vet two months ago and his BG levels were normal.

So I did a test while doing Dylan's. He's at 441. I was very overwhelmed at the thought of having two diabetic cats on the juice last night and had a good long cry. I'm not too sure what to do right now. I travel a lot for work and live alone so things just seem to be hitting me very hard at the moment with the two of them being diabetic.

Dylan's dose is at 1.25 and now I'm going to start Leonard's at 0.5 and see how he reacts. I'm finding this really hard right now. They're both around 15 years old and sleep all day. Leonard really hates having his BG tested and scratches me and freaks out. It stresses him out a lot. Dylan is great with it, she lets me test her and gives me no trouble at all.

I'm struggling at the moment and not sure what to do. Sorry this is more of an emotional rant but yesterday was not my day.
 
Re: 1/31 Dylan AMPS 261 Leonard AMPS 441

Hi guys .. I'm sorry toh ear that you are now dealing with two diabetic kitties .. pat (shadow and raja's mom) also deals with two diabetics .. maybe you could message her for any helpful hints as far as juggling them could go? Hang in there!
 
Re: 1/31 Dylan AMPS 261 Leonard AMPS 441

Thanks for the suggestion. I've messaged Pat. I know exactly what to do about my furbabies in treating them and feel confident, but it can be tough. Dylan has been amazing with glucose tests but the thought of testing Leonard twice a day is hard. He fights it so, so much and generally gets very unhappy.
 
Re: 1/31 Dylan AMPS 261 Leonard AMPS 441

I'm sorry you've got 2 sugarbabies now - and that one of them is super-feisty on top of it! I can only imagine how overwhelming it is - but remember that you're not alone. Lean on FDMB and LL as much as you need to - between the knowledge and emotional support, you're in good hands. Many prayers for you!!
 
Re: 1/31 Dylan AMPS 261 Leonard AMPS 441

I'm initially disappointed since diet was working so well for Leonard! I realize things change but I was really shocked!

Round 2 for Leonard here we go!

I e-mailed my vet but she's not back in until Monday. I'm going to shoot .5 on Len tonight and hope he lets me test him. Such a battle with this one.

I'm wondering if a switch from FF classics could help. Is there anything more high protein/lower carb or would that be pointless at this time?
 
Dylan
AMPS 261
(1.25 dose)
PMPS: 176

Leonard
AMPS 441
(0.5 dose)
PMPS: 243

Leonard I'm definitely giving the same dose but Dylan I'm a little hesitant about shooting. This is her lowest PMPS yet and I'm excited about it! Her dose was increased to 1.25 so I'm wondering if cutting it back to 1 for the night may be best since she's responding quite well. Any suggestions??
 
Dylan: I would shoot the full dose. We generally use 150 as the "post for help" number for newbies. Because Lantus usually gives nice flat curves, shooting 176 isn't a problem. I would get some spot checks tonight, though, starting with +2. That way if she has any surprises planned, you can catch them early.

Leonard: when was the last time you tested him before catching this high number? If he has been OTJ for 2 years and is suddenly high, then I would get him in to the vet before you get too worried. Especially if he is still eating low carb... Something as simple as a bad tooth or an infection can throw them out of remission. It's worth getting checked out, and I would do that sooner rather than later.
 
Thanks so much for your advice!

Dylan got her full shot and she's a bit up in numbers. I expect that to go down over the next few hours as she had eaten before her shot.

PMPS: 176
+1 324
+3 342

I'll take Leonard over to the vet. He is urinating more again and drinking more water as well but I'll get him checked out. He was just there at Christmas when he was exhibiting weird urination patterns (they thought he may be blocked, he wasn't). All his tests turned up clear with nothing to indicate even high glucose levels or anything abnormal. We'll see what happens! He's also very angry at me pricking him and attacked my hand. He definitely does not like this.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top