1/31 Chyna PMPS 359 +2 330 +4 267

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rachel & Chyna (GA)

Member Since 2012
Hello, LL. Thanks for the visit and encouragement last night, Tricia :-D Yesterday: Chyna 1/30

Really, Chyna? I don't know what on earth we could be bouncing from, we just had one little high blue in a sea of yellow :roll: . I didn't want to post my AMPS, or the +1.75 I got. I can't use the words to describe my reaction on here so BLECH, ARGH, and UGH! ohmygod_smile . I ended up staying home late this morning, not feeling good and had a rough night so I got an out the door at +1.75. I did a dosecrease today too, up 0.25u to 5.25u. Can a cat become high dose/acromely (I don't know how to spell it) when they weren't before? Or is this just the difficult coming back from remission?

Not much going on, Chyna seems ok and is eating most of her fuds, we had lots of poo yesterday and negative ketones in the tiny amount of pee I managed to catch on the plastic, the rest was behind the "trap".

I hope you all have a good day, and it goes by fast, TGIF!!!! :-D
 
Re: 1/31 Chyna AMPS 484 Dosecrease +1.75 508

Sorry about the yucky start. I hope the dosecrease helps bring Chyna down soon.
 
Re: 1/31 Chyna AMPS 484 Dosecrease +1.75 508

Hi Rachel,

Wish I knew why Chyna is needing more insulin :? :? Is it possible she needs a teeth cleaning? When Cleo came back from the falls, I was hoping it was bad teeth, but it wasn't :sad: I am glad Chyna is feeling good, no matter her numbers, and so happy for no ketones!

And I agree, TGIF!!! Hope you are feeling better :-D
 
Re: 1/31 Chyna AMPS 484 Dosecrease +1.75 508

Yikes, Chyna, what the heck is going on?!? Very frustrating to see her so high (dose and BGs). Seems like when a cat gets to 7u, that is considered "high dose" and you might consider the acromegaly test and the IAA test. I would get input from a more experienced member on this too but should you increase by 0.5u rather than 0.25u, since the dose is large enough that 0.5 is a 10% increase? ((((Rachel)))) you are doing a super job taking care of Chyna. I'm glad you're here. :-D We have never curled so you have lots more cred than us. We've just watched on TV, mostly the Olympics with the fantastic Canadian announcer. We hope to try it sometime. :lol: TGIF!!!
Liz
 
Re: 1/31 Chyna AMPS 484 Dosecrease +1.75 508

Ewww...that IS a yucky start, and I agree with you..I don't see a good reason why either!

Any chance Chyna got into some contraband last night?

If that's an example of NDW, it sure is WONKY!!

Come on Chyna...nothing good in the penthouse...the real fun is on the lower floors!!

Hope you have a good Friday Rachel and a much better weekend!!
 
Re: 1/31 Chyna AMPS 484 +1.75 508 +6 369

Hi guys, yep well we are at least pink now...I'm just home for lunch quick.

Carla, thanks, I hope so too.
Jane, I wish I knew too! Thanks, I'm not really feeling great but only a few more hours of work (ok well 3). Not bad teeth, we had all that checked when she was getting higher numbers and resumed insulin...and they scraped a tiny bit of tartar off (sedated to check her mouth)...and we've been brushing when we can. With my finger she hates the brush but we're trying :roll:
Liz, thanks, I was wondering what "high dose" was considered when reading the TR ;-) Maybe tonight I should just bump it to 5.5...? Good luck if you try curling, and make sure you stretch before hand haha it hurts otherwise.
Chris, no we don't have any contraband here...I guess maybe the one blue was enough to bounce? Blech. I keep telling Chyna the lower floors are better.

The only thing I've changed in the last few days is she's gotten L-Lysine (half cap) for the past 4 cycles, but it doesn't show sugar in it, unless she's allergic but she's not itching. I don't know...can anyone tell me if I should just bump tonights dose to 5.5u? Thanks.
 
Re: 1/31 Chyna AMPS 484 Dosecrease +1.75 508 +6 369

(((Rachel))) So sorry to see those icky numbers this morning. There probably is some NDW in there and that +1.75 had some food spike. I'm glad she's turning it around now.

There are a number of reasons kitties can show increased resistance to insulin. Here is a decent article I found describing some of the causes. Kitties with concurrent diseases (CKD is one of them) can have a harder time getting glycemic control. And sometimes it's just cats being cats. Amy had to take Trixie up to 5 units last year before she turned around. But, acromegaly is also a cause. We normally suggest kitties get tested for high dose conditions when they get to 6 units (or a dose equal to their weight in kg, which is 6 for Chyna). And as Liz suggests, over 5 units you can start increases in .5U increments, especially if you aren't seeing any green or low blue action. At this point, I'd stick to .25U increases for green or low blue nadirs.

It is possible for kitties with acromegaly to go into remission and back out of remission again. Wendy's Tiggy is an example of that. And it's usually harder to go into remission the second time - take a look at Tonya's Tiki. But you are doing a great job of increasing aggressively. :YMHUG: You will get there, Chyna's SS is looking better.
 
Re: 1/31 Chyna AMPS 484 +1.75 508 +6 369 Dose?

Goodness miss Chyna, there really is no need for you to be up visiting Tommy at this floor. I'm glad to see that you've both come to your senses and come down at least to a more respectable place. ;-)
Rachel, sorry to hear that your feeling "icky". I hope that you are feeling a bit better now as the day has gone on. I too think you're doing an amazing job with Chyna. :-D She'll be back down to blues and yellows in no time. Have a great weekend Rachel
Thank you for visiting me yesterday ;-)
 
Re: 1/31 Chyna AMPS 484 +1.75 508 +6 369 Dose?

Hi Rachel,

It was your first day on a new dose. NDW could be part of it. Her spreadsheet is looking better, but it must be frustrating about the amount of insulin? She is eating and feeling well so that is good.
 
Re: 1/31 Chyna AMPS 484 Dosecrease +1.75 508 +6 369

Thanks Wendy, I'll read the article when I'm not at work and not so pooped! I hope it's just a case of having to hit a dose to bring her down and then we see some reducies...I can't afford any tests right now, I still need to scrape together money for the Cartrophen, I can't even pay my whole power bill that doubled this month ohmygod_smile I'll leave Chyna at the 5.25u for the next 5 cycles and see how we do...I was hoping with the low blues we'd finally almost got it...then the high today :roll: . Paws crossed!

Hi Lauren, thanks. I guess Chyna and Tommy really like hanging out together ;-) I'll feel better when I can get some sleep...IBS isn't only for kitties and stress doesn't help it! I hope to see some yellow and blue tonight...but I'm not holding my breath, new doses seem to go up instead of down :YMSIGH: I hope you have a good weekend too :-D

Hi Catherine, thanks. I am a bit frustrated, but what can I do, Chyna is in control :shock: :lol: Her SS is looking better...except for these high bounces or whatever they are!

Sending blue and green vines to all kitties, lets see some nice Mr.Greenies tonight!
 
Re: 1/31 Chyna PMPS 359

Hi Rachel: Hope you're feeling better now that you're home and can relax a little. Chyna's PMPS sure is better than her AM, so maybe she's clearing whatever it was that caused her to go so high. Hang in there. I know you'll get a handle on it, and in the meantime, if she seems to be feeling well, you can take a lot of comfort in that! Sending yellow and blue vines to Chyna - no greens tonight, maybe, so you can get some sleep? :-D
 
Re: 1/31 Chyna PMPS 359

Oh Chyna, why are you keeping MamaBean guessing?

Wendy is right with us...we have had to go way up to come back down. Then we've gone way down, and are now heading back up. I think, as Sienne says, this whole FD thing can be a moving target. It has taken me a while to get used to that idea...that there is not always one dose that stays the perfect dose indefinitely. With Trix, we had to get her up high enough to cause that breakthrough, then she came down again...not to where she was before, but she did come down. If I remember correctly, I think it took us about 6 weeks to finally hit that breakthrough. I am sure you will eventually find it for Chyna...you are such an attentive and awesome bean.

I hope you're feeling better tonight and are looking forward to a relaxing weekend!
 
Thanks Tricia, I'm happy to be home for the weekend! And tonight we see yellow :-D

Hi Amy, thanks, I know doses change...wouldn't it be nice if they just picked one and just went down from there, not up? :lol: I just want to see some lower, healthier BGs in the mix...I'm trying not to focus on the amount! I just worry about other possible problems like additional testing. I seem to be good at worrying :shock: Yay for the weekend!

I think I'll hit the hay tonight, LL. Have a good sleep!
 
I also hope it's just taking a little more juice to hit her breakthrough dose. I'm glad you didn't increase tonight. That I k blech argh number today could be NDW.... Paws crossed.

Hope you have a great weekend. Thanks for visiting us each day and keeping Mike company :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top