1/31 Cargo AMPS 102, 105@AM+4, PMPS 111, PM+4 106

Mel and Cargo

Member Since 2020
Yesterday

Morning! Woke up naturally around PM+8.5 so fed Cargo a zero carb snack. Wow - this morning's PS nice and low at 102!
But now here's the problem and I really need advice! Sadly I need to return to work tomorrow and I travel for a living. I will be gone the majority of the first 2 weeks of February with very occasional nights home. My boyfriend won't test (but he will shoot) so I have no way to safely monitor Cargo while I'm gone. This breaks my heart because we're SO CLOSE! What should I do?

Any advice appreciated! :bighug:
Melinda
 
Nice AMPS! All I can offer on the BF is to explain if he doesn't test before shooting then he could put Cargo in a very dangerous situation?

Also technically didn't Cargo earn a reduction last night with the 77 on SLGS? I'm no expert here on these lower doses and slightly higher AMPS...

Maybe throw up the ? to your title (go to Thread Tools > Edit Title and pick the ? from the drop-down and add the question to your title) to get more eyes.

You'll figure something out, I'm sure :bighug:
 
Cargo is doing good, please try to convince your boyfriend to learn how to test Cargo. I agree with @JaxBenji try to explain to your boyfriend about how important it is to test before shooting. Don't want him to have a hypo tell your boyfriend :cat:
I think you are right about earning the reduction on SLGS @JaxBenji

@Mel and Cargo
 
Last edited:
Hi Mel, please talk to your vet about putting a Freestyle Libre sensor on your cat for the weeks you are away. I have had two implanted on my Ruby before I started home bg testing and it would be easy for your BF to scan her numbers before he gives her insulin. Ruby didn't tolerate it well, but many kitties don't mind it at all if it's applied properly. There's a great condo on it in this Think Tank thread, and @Tomlin is our resident expert on its application and use. It would indeed be a shame for you to lose momentum as she's on such a tiny dose right now.
 
@Wendy&Neko

@Marje and Gracie

Hi Ladies did Cargo earn a reduction. Don't want to give the wrong advice

Thank you :cat:
Yes...Cargo earned a reduction last night. The next dose, which you should try to shoot tonight, is 1 drop. To draw a drop of insulin, press the plunger of the syringe in and hold it as you insert it into the pen. Once inserted, let the pressure off the plunger and it will draw up one drop. When you give the injection, press the plunger firmly and hold down for about 10 seconds.

Good luck with the reduction. Also....i do not believe, IMHO, that you should spend the money to have a Libre sensor on your kitty. It is better to get your boyfriend to test considering that she is on such a low dose.
 
Yes...Cargo earned a reduction last night. The next dose, which you should try to shoot tonight, is 1 drop. To draw a drop of insulin, press the plunger of the syringe in and hold it as you insert it into the pen. Once inserted, let the pressure off the plunger and it will draw up one drop. When you give the injection, press the plunger firmly and hold down for about 10 seconds.

Good luck with the reduction. Also....i do not believe, IMHO, that you should spend the money to have a Libre sensor on your kitty. It is better to get your boyfriend to test considering that she is on such a low dose.
@Marje and Gracie thank you so much Marje :cat:
 
Thanks everyone! I will try with my boyfriend, but I don't think I'll get anywhere. The good thing about my bf is that he's good at spotting hypo's and he adores Cargo so he'd be paying good attention to any symptoms. Excited to go to just a drop! And of course his normal +4 nadir has actually gone up to above PS this cycle. LOL, it's like he knows and is messing with me!

Thank you @Marje and Gracie , I will get on your suggestions!

Mel
 
Thanks everyone! I will try with my boyfriend, but I don't think I'll get anywhere. The good thing about my bf is that he's good at spotting hypo's and he adores Cargo so he'd be paying good attention to any symptoms. Excited to go to just a drop! And of course his normal +4 nadir has actually gone up to above PS this cycle. LOL, it's like he knows and is messing with me!

Thank you @Marje and Gracie , I will get on your suggestions!

Mel
You’re welcome but....you can’t always spot low numbers and once he sees symptoms, it can be too late. From her SS, I can’t tell that she’s ever even been close to lower numbers much less anything that could cause a symptomatic hypo.

My kitty could easily drop into the 20s and seem the same as if she was at 150.
 
Back
Top