? 1/31 Bella *could use some insight plz* AMPS 267, +6 171, +9 263, PMPS 234, +3 264

Bellas_mom_2020

Member Since 2024
Ugh just feeling so …. lost

We’re almost at the 2 year mark from Bellas diagnosis and anytime I feel we’re making progress (since we had that bad insulin issue in the summer) it changes. Like we got her back and she was earning reductions, then we went away in November and she was high all week due to a reduced vacation dose and since then we’ve been struggling.

We recently increased her and it’s like a few days she’ll be doing good ( blues & greens) then something happens overnight and she wakes up in the yellows. Her nadir isn’t always in the green, bounces cause her to be higher for several days. Also, sometimes she doesn’t always eat everything. Like last night she went from 209 to 65, I gave her something and she went up to 89, I left something else in the auto feeder and she refused it and this morning she’s 267. I feel like that’s been our routine a lot lately. She doesn’t last more than 2 days with lower numbers.

Sometimes she just doesn’t eat when her numbers are lower and I can’t force her too. We put treats on top. She’s acting fine: happy, playful, eating, drinking, peeking, pooling and grooming. She’s going to be 11 next month and i definitely see her slowing down with some things but she still has energy, I just don’t understand why we can’t get her numbers back to where they were or why she’s bouncing so much. Maybe this is just our new normal and I have to accept it. She has her 6 month check up in 2 weeks.

I needed to vent but also looking for some insight, advice and even some words of encouragement because I feel like every choice I make is wrong and I’m failing her slowly each day 🥺
 
Last edited:
I'm so sorry, Jen. FD can be a heck of a frustration and the unpredictability and unanswered questions can drive the best of us insane. I wish I had some insight or advice or anything to provide some clarity, but all I can say is I sympathize heavily with what you're going through. Binx is almost at his 2 year mark and last year around this time, we were doing so well and then he had a mess up with his autofeeder and we've been struggling to be stable ever since. I wish our babies could talk to us, tell us what and how they're feeling, what we could do differently. Bella is lucky to have such an attentive mom🤗 Two years with FD is no easy task. Hope you're able to see some changes back to her usual patterns, but either way, you're doing great 🖤
 
I'm so sorry, Jen. FD can be a heck of a frustration and the unpredictability and unanswered questions can drive the best of us insane. I wish I had some insight or advice or anything to provide some clarity, but all I can say is I sympathize heavily with what you're going through. Binx is almost at his 2 year mark and last year around this time, we were doing so well and then he had a mess up with his autofeeder and we've been struggling to be stable ever since. I wish our babies could talk to us, tell us what and how they're feeling, what we could do differently. Bella is lucky to have such an attentive mom🤗 Two years with FD is no easy task. Hope you're able to see some changes back to her usual patterns, but either way, you're doing great 🖤
Thank you. I’ve been battling diabetes for 23 years so I know it definitely is a struggle.

I love her and would do anything for her. I just don’t get what’s happening. She’s acting completely fine so we’ll see when she goes to the vet if there’s anything going on.
 
Thank you. I’ve been battling diabetes for 23 years so I know it definitely is a struggle.

I love her and would do anything for her. I just don’t get what’s happening. She’s acting completely fine so we’ll see when she goes to the vet if there’s anything going on.
I hope you can get some answers at the vet 🤗
 
Here's the link to your last, which we include so people can easily go back and see the history: 1/21 Bella AMPS 289, +6 106, PMPS 176, +3 114

I have a couple suggestions of things you can do to try to reduce the bouncing. First, what is her feeding schedule? She seems to take a steep dive early on in the cycle, like last night. Steep dives can cause bounces. If you could divide her meals into smaller sub meals, and feed from +1, +2, and +3, that might slow down the drops.

The other suggestion is your testing schedule. Almost all of your day cycle tests are at +6. Would it be possible, on days you aren't working, to do a bit of a curve during the day, at least until you see her numbers trending up. The "typical" nadir is +6, but a lot of cats don't like to be typical. If I look at 1/18, that was an example of her nadiring earlier. It could be you are missing her nadirs and she's going lower than you think.

It's been three weeks at this dose, way too long. When following TR, you hold doses for 10 cycles/5 days. Unless they are tightly regulated, which she is not.
 
Here's the link to your last, which we include so people can easily go back and see the history: 1/21 Bella AMPS 289, +6 106, PMPS 176, +3 114

I have a couple suggestions of things you can do to try to reduce the bouncing. First, what is her feeding schedule? She seems to take a steep dive early on in the cycle, like last night. Steep dives can cause bounces. If you could divide her meals into smaller sub meals, and feed from +1, +2, and +3, that might slow down the drops.

The other suggestion is your testing schedule. Almost all of your day cycle tests are at +6. Would it be possible, on days you aren't working, to do a bit of a curve during the day, at least until you see her numbers trending up. The "typical" nadir is +6, but a lot of cats don't like to be typical. If I look at 1/18, that was an example of her nadiring earlier. It could be you are missing her nadirs and she's going lower than you think.

It's been three weeks at this dose, way too long. When following TR, you hold doses for 10 cycles/5 days. Unless they are tightly regulated, which she is not.
Her feeding schedule is:

Breakfast 7 am
Snack 12:30/1:00 (when my husband gets home from work)
Dinner 7 pm
Snack 10/10:30 in auto feeder before we go to bed and I set it to close 3 hours before her breakfast so that’s she’s hungry to eat. She also gets freeze dried treats when we test.

I try to get tests at different times but I work full time, and the weekends are sometimes busy and it’s hard. But when I can I do try to check. Like today I got a +9 check. She’s been getting picky with food so sometimes she eats slow and finishes late. Also, at night she sleeps and won’t always eat what we leave in the auto feeder. In regards to feeding her at +1, +2 and +3 she sometimes takes time eating so we’ll feed her at 7 but she won’t finish until like 10, even 11.

After the increase she seemed to be doing better but then there were days she wasn’t finishing all her food and being stubborn with what we gave her. I recently have been incorporating FF savory centers and she seems to like them.

And I know it’s been 3 weeks but sometimes she takes some time to work the new dose, doesn’t always happen right away.

Wanted to add, I was doing some research and came across something called somogyi overswing? Her numbers seems higher on the 1.5 does than they were on the 1.25.
 
Last edited:
Did you also see the information that somogyi is a myth? It was a theory from the early 1900's of a small study on humans with fast acting insulin, published but not peer reviewed.

Holding doses too long where they get used to higher numbers can lead to glucose toxicity. Meaning they get used to those higher numbers and need more insulin to break through.
 
Did you also see the information that somogyi is a myth? It was a theory from the early 1900's of a small study on humans with fast acting insulin, published but not peer reviewed.

Holding doses too long where they get used to higher numbers can lead to glucose toxicity. Meaning they get used to those higher numbers and need more insulin to break through.
No, I didn’t see that. I was just looking some stuff and came across it. I understand what you’re saying, I’m the type of person who tries to find a reason behind everything - an explanation. The way her sugars are just so up and down doesn’t make sense to me. Maybe something else is going on and we don’t know it. She sees the vet in 2 weeks, so maybe we’ll get some answers. There has to be an explanation as to why she numbers are higher even with an increase.
 
Back
Top