1/31/2020 PMPS 146/176 **** or no shot or dec dose? First normal numbers ever!

Brandi Young

Member Since 2019
My kitty was diagnosed in November. Been increasing Lantus and up to 2.5 units. He was 300s all day today and now 100s this evening prior to shot. Does he still get his shot tonight or hold until morning? Do I give shot but decrease dose
He gets friskies pate 2-3 meals a day and has RC urinary dry since diagnosis. Only change is this week we started mixing 1/2 &1/2 RC urinary dry and dry glycobalance so I’m guessing slightly less carbs.
He lost 4 pounds since December so I’ve been giving him more wet also. Maybe he isn’t munching in as much dry?
 

Attachments

My kitty was diagnosed in November. Been increasing Lantus and up to 2.5 units. He was 300s all day today and now 100s this evening prior to shot. Does he still get his shot tonight or hold until morning? Do I give shot but decrease dose
He gets friskies pate 2-3 meals a day and has RC urinary dry since diagnosis. Only change is this week we started mixing 1/2 &1/2 RC urinary dry and dry glycobalance so I’m guessing slightly less carbs.
He lost 4 pounds since December so I’ve been giving him more wet also. Maybe he isn’t munching in as much dry?
He gets 2.5ynits twice daily at 5am/5pm
 
Your ss stops on 1/18. Do you have an updated one? Also please add your kitty’s name to the subject. What method are you using?
 
I don’t feel comfortable giving advice without that history. I’m dependent on the numbers. Sorry.
 
Here we increase by .25 because increasing too quickly or by too much miss a good dose. Too much insulin can look like not enough. We dose here based upon the nadir, lowest point in the cycle. How often to increase and when to hold or decrease depends on which method you use. Read the yellow sticky on dosing methods used here. Who has been giving you dosing advice?
 
Here we increase by .25 because increasing too quickly or by too much miss a good dose. Too much insulin can look like not enough. We dose here based upon the nadir, lowest point in the cycle. How often to increase and when to hold or decrease depends on which method you use. Read the yellow sticky on dosing methods used here. Who has been giving you dosing advice?
His vet mostly but I have been increasing slower than what she recommended
 
Okay I think I did it.

Good job!

What type of food is Black Kitty on?

I think you've gotten some bad advice from your vet. On 1/20, you saw some blue on the PM cycle...at that point you should have held that dose longer than 2 more cycles because he was probably bouncing (which is why you saw the higher numbers). She did the same on 1/29.

Bounces happen when 1. they drop too low, 2. they drop too fast, 3. they drop into numbers their body isn't used to anymore (or any combination of all 3).

Our kitties are very good at hiding the fact that they're sick so they can be diabetic for quite some time before we get the diagnosis. Their body gets used to living in those higher numbers so when the insulin starts to get them down into lower numbers (not necessarily "too low"), their body still reacts the same. The liver releases stored sugars and hormones to bring the blood glucose back up to where it's used to. It can take up to 6 cycles for those sugars and hormones to clear out.
 
Good job!

What type of food is Black Kitty on?

I think you've gotten some bad advice from your vet. On 1/20, you saw some blue on the PM cycle...at that point you should have held that dose longer than 2 more cycles because he was probably bouncing (which is why you saw the higher numbers). She did the same on 1/29.

Bounces happen when 1. they drop too low, 2. they drop too fast, 3. they drop into numbers their body isn't used to anymore (or any combination of all 3).

Our kitties are very good at hiding the fact that they're sick so they can be diabetic for quite some time before we get the diagnosis. Their body gets used to living in those higher numbers so when the insulin starts to get them down into lower numbers (not necessarily "too low"), their body still reacts the same. The liver releases stored sugars and hormones to bring the blood glucose back up to where it's used to. It can take up to 6 cycles for those sugars and hormones to clear out.
He eats friskies pate 3 times a day. Usually give him whole 5.5oz can but he head to been finishing it last several days. I added a 3rd and sometimes 4th meal this past week because he lost 4 pounds since December. He has been eating RC urinary s/o dry since diagnosis. It’s available for him during the day because we are a multi cat household and one needs the food according to vet. I’m trying to get them to all wet. His numbers have been bad despite the increasing insulin so last several days I’ve starting mixing dry glycobalance with the dry urinary to help alleviate some of his carb intake. I know it’s still high carbs but will be better than all urinary food. I think he has been decreasing his dry food intake due to me adding a 3rd and 4th wet food meal.
 
He’s 329 now. Almost 4hrs after evening meal and he’s also had a few bites here and there for me to check his blood sugar. He has to be eating for me to poke him
 
one needs the food according to vet

If you mean the urinary food, the last thing that cat (and your sugarcat) needs is dry food. There's absolutely nothing in "prescription" foods that treats disease and kibble isn't good for any cat, but especially cats prone to crystals or cats with diabetes.

The key to good management for cats with crystals/stones is keeping as much water flowing through those kidneys as possible. We've had lots of cats come here that were on the urinary foods when they were also diagnosed as diabetic. After switching to a low carb canned diet with extra water added in, they didn't have any more problems with crystals. Lots of great information on urinary tract disease HERE

All your cats will be healthier if they all eat a low carb canned diet...especially your diabetic. Think of it like this....Diabetes is like a fire and by continuing to feed high carb food, it's like continuing to pour gasoline on that fire. Can you still put the fire out? Yes, but it's going to take a lot more water and time!

It makes a lot more sense to stop pouring gasoline on the fire in the first place!
 
If you mean the urinary food, the last thing that cat (and your sugarcat) needs is dry food. There's absolutely nothing in "prescription" foods that treats disease and kibble isn't good for any cat, but especially cats prone to crystals or cats with diabetes.

The key to good management for cats with crystals/stones is keeping as much water flowing through those kidneys as possible. We've had lots of cats come here that were on the urinary foods when they were also diagnosed as diabetic. After switching to a low carb canned diet with extra water added in, they didn't have any more problems with crystals. Lots of great information on urinary tract disease HERE

All your cats will be healthier if they all eat a low carb canned diet...especially your diabetic. Think of it like this....Diabetes is like a fire and by continuing to feed high carb food, it's like continuing to pour gasoline on that fire. Can you still put the fire out? Yes, but it's going to take a lot more water and time!

It makes a lot more sense to stop pouring gasoline on the fire in the first place!
I know but I have one cat who is holding out! I’m trying. All the cats will eat the wet Just not my UTI kitty!
 
Maybe try again in the morning with 2units if he’s above 200?
Since you skipped the dose tonight, he will be well above 200 in the morning. With dry food still in the picture, we keep the same dose (ie. 2.5 units), if you are seeing some numbers between 90 and 149, which you are.

I too had a cat with urinary issues when Neko was diagnosed. He was on C/D which she tried to steal from him. The vet suggested raw food as something that would work for both. But actually any low carb food with low phosphorus is good. And add some water to help flush out any crystals.
 
Since you skipped the dose tonight, he will be well above 200 in the morning. With dry food still in the picture, we keep the same dose (ie. 2.5 units), if you are seeing some numbers between 90 and 149, which you are.

I too had a cat with urinary issues when Neko was diagnosed. He was on C/D which she tried to steal from him. The vet suggested raw food as something that would work for both. But actually any low carb food with low phosphorus is good. And add some water to help flush out any crystals.
Since you skipped the dose tonight, he will be well above 200 in the morning. With dry food still in the picture, we keep the same dose (ie. 2.5 units), if you are seeing some numbers between 90 and 149, which you are.

I too had a cat with urinary issues when Neko was diagnosed. He was on C/D which she tried to steal from him. The vet suggested raw food as something that would work for both. But actually any low carb food with low phosphorus is good. And add some water to help flush out any crystals.
thank you for your reply! He is already over 300 but I think I will still hold the dose and give regular dose tomorrow at 5am. It’s already 9pm here. I just get freaked out about normal numbers. I’m available to check him frequently the next few days.
 
Back
Top