? 1/31/18 Bella AMPS 311. Increased dose

Status
Not open for further replies.

JanetMR

Member Since 2017
Bella and the roller coaster ride.
BG spiked to an all time high ( for me) of 408 at PMPS last evening.
Increased her Lantus to .25 unit from .1 this am., as was suggested.
She’s received 6 doses of the .1.
She’s eating and acting ok.
Urine ketones were trace this morning.
They were negative yesterday.
I’m adding water to her food and will monitor her closely.
Advice and support appreciated.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/1-30-18-bella-amps-295-confused.190424/#post-2122363
 
Last edited:
So glad to hear she is eating and acting okay. I think the increase was a good idea, just keep her eating as best you can. It can take a bit to see the full effect of the increase because the depot has to build and stabilize, so don’t get discouraged. Keep testing for keytones when you can. :bighug:
 
So glad to hear she is eating and acting okay. I think the increase was a good idea, just keep her eating as best you can. It can take a bit to see the full effect of the increase because the depot has to build and stabilize, so don’t get discouraged. Keep testing for keytones when you can. :bighug:

Thanks for your support and encouragement.
 
Thanks for your support and encouragement.

Bella was 196 at + 9.50
A drop from 306 at + 6
Does this mean I’m in for a wacky ride tonight?
What would my cut off be for not giving her insulin at 6pm EST?
Less than 150? Lower dose?
Her appetite is crappy at this level..
challenging me even further. ( I’m heading out to get an emergency routissere chicken just in case ... my fall back when she refuses cat food. )
:eek:
Advice appreciated ahead of time.
 
100 point drop in 4 hours isn’t anything too fast or crazy. Good idea grabbing some emergency food you think she’ll accept. Let’s see where she is come shot time, still a ways to go yet. You want to keep food and insulin on board as much as possible to combat the keytones. It sucks that her appetite isn’t awesome at lower numbers, but hopefully the longer she stays in the normal range, the more she will adjust and change her response to it. :bighug:
 
100 point drop in 4 hours isn’t anything too fast or crazy. Good idea grabbing some emergency food you think she’ll accept. Let’s see where she is come shot time, still a ways to go yet. You want to keep food and insulin on board as much as possible to combat the keytones. It sucks that her appetite isn’t awesome at lower numbers, but hopefully the longer she stays in the normal range, the more she will adjust and change her response to it. :bighug:
Fingers and paws crossed
 
She’s 198 PMPS
Ate about. A tablespoon of cat food and some chicken pieces. Should I give the shot?
.25 or less?
????

That's good, it looks like she is surfing, that number is more or less the same as the 216 from the other night and is a perfectly reasonable number to shoot. You have supplies and test strips and can monitor if needed? Is she eating?

Remember also you are shooting the number for onset, not the number you see in front of you. I'd get a +1 and +2 so you can see where she is going.
 
That's good, it looks like she is surfing, that number is more or less the same as the 216 from the other night and is a perfectly reasonable number to shoot. You have supplies and test strips and can monitor if needed? Is she eating?

Remember also you are shooting the number for onset, not the number you see in front of you. I'd get a +1 and +2 so you can see where she is going.

I gave .25 She’s not terrible hungry. She ate 1 tablespoon of food out of my hand and about a tablespoon of roitisserie chicken.
When she drops below 200 this is the dance.
We’ll check again at +2 and + 5
o_O
 
I gave .25 She’s not terrible hungry. She ate 1 tablespoon of food out of my hand and about a tablespoon of roitisserie chicken.
When she drops below 200 this is the dance.
We’ll check again at +2 and + 5
o_O

+1 and +2 can give you an idea how the cycle will play out and give you some advanced notice to intervene if necessary. Looking at her SS, at least for the pm cycle, it looks like she's already dropping by +2, so that's why a +1 might be useful as well to see when and how fast. Where you test after that depends on the numbers, of course. Sending good eating vines Bella's way. :bighug:
 
+1 and +2 can give you an idea how the cycle will play out and give you some advanced notice to intervene if necessary. Looking at her SS, at least for the pm cycle, it looks like she's already dropping by +2, so that's why a +1 might be useful as well to see when and how fast. Where you test after that depends on the numbers, of course. Sending good eating vines Bella's way. :bighug:

Is it ok to feed her whatever I can get her to eat? ( within reason)
So challenging.
I’m pooped
 
Is it ok to feed her whatever I can get her to eat? ( within reason)
So challenging.
I’m pooped

If she's not eating, I would say absolutely, feed her what she will eat. If it's higher carb, you will likely see an impact on her bg, but I think it's more important with keytones in the mix just that she eats and gets insulin.

It does get better, Janet. It's so overwhelming in the beginning, you're doing a great job and Bella is lucky to have you helping her. :bighug:
 
If she's not eating, I would say absolutely, feed her what she will eat. If it's higher carb, you will likely see an impact on her bg, but I think it's more important with keytones in the mix just that she eats and gets insulin.

It does get better, Janet. It's so overwhelming in the beginning, you're doing a great job and Bella is lucky to have you helping her. :bighug:
Understood.
It’s been nonstop since Christmas. Every time I think we’ve hit some kind of balance., it changes. It’s been very stressful just trying to figure out the best way to help her.
Thanks for the support and kind words. It’s invaluable.
Sleep would help too.
 
Understood.
It’s been nonstop since Christmas. Every time I think we’ve hit some kind of balance., it changes. It’s been very stressful just trying to figure out the best way to help her.
Thanks for the support and kind words. It’s invaluable.
Sleep would help too.

I know things wouldn't have gone well for Asia without this board and the supportive and caring people here. Sleep helps for sure. I'll say this, I appreciate sleep so much more than I did before FD! ;)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top