1/30 Webster - Update

Status
Not open for further replies.

Websterthecat

Member Since 2014
Hi everyone. It's almost been 2 weeks since my last update so I thought I would stop by.

I been taking a much slower approach with Webster in recent weeks, leaving him on a consistent dose and feeding schedule for several days before making any adjustments.

A week ago I upped his dose from 1U to 1.25U and he seems to be doing very well on it. Today was the third day in a row that he spent the day in the greens which is a first!

The way that I'm reading his numbers is that he seems to be bouncing but not nearly as high as he has been in the past and he seems to be clearing his bounces much faster.

It might be too early to tell if we are making some real progress but I have my fingers crossed.

What do you guys think about his SS?
 
Great to hear a Webster update Mike. No black or red since you've started this dose and getting back to greens quickly. Webster's definitely doing better!:D:D I presume he's still getting neg for ketones too. :)
 
Wow, those greens look really good on you, Webster. :D To my eye, it looks like Webster's liking this dose. Fingers crossed that he continues to flatten out and continue all those runs in green!
 
Definitely looking better! Very glad to see this, Mike.

I hope you are de-stressing as well.
 
Last edited:
Thanks everyone! Things have been much better in recent weeks compared to what they have been. :)

As for the ketones, I found that testing frequently really stressed me out. Whether he was at 0.4 or 2.4, I would get all stressed out either way and there was not a whole lot that I could do about it except for adjust his dose to get his numbers down and water down his food. Instead, I have been watering down his food every day to help flush out any ketones that may be present and keeping a close eye on his BG to keep them below 250.

I do want to get in the habit of spot checking him at least once or twice a week just to ensure that his ketone levels are not rising. In fact, I might do a meter check this evening.
 
Congratulations on the progress :)
With the 48, yesterday, you might want to lower his dose a bit. You could do the full .25 reduction, or shave the dose to a skinny 1.25 units. I'll try to get some other opinions.
 
I thought you might be doing three times between 40 and 50 before reducing by 0.25u.

However...that 26 today means a full reduction of 0.25u tonight.

Please be sure you are feeding HC with karo and testing every 30 mins until he is up.
 
I thought you might be doing three times between 40 and 50 before reducing by 0.25u.

However...that 26 today means a full reduction of 0.25u tonight.

Please be sure you are feeding HC with karo and testing every 30 mins until he is up.

Thank you Marje. I was going the route of allowing him to drop 40-50 3x before reducing but today's 23 was way too close for comfort. He's going down a dose tonight.

What do you think about dropping him 1/8 U instead of the full 1/4u? He wasn't doing very well on the 1u, however, I know that circumstances could have easily changed in recent days.

Feeding him the highest carb food that I have on hand plus karo now. He seems to be rising.
 
Congratulations on the progress :)
With the 48, yesterday, you might want to lower his dose a bit. You could do the full .25 reduction, or shave the dose to a skinny 1.25 units. I'll try to get some other opinions.
Sounds like a plan. Thanks!
 
I

It seems like it. Hopefully his mission is not to drive me insane by continuing to bounce back and forth between 1u and 1.25u.
He wouldn't be the first cat to do that :rolleyes::woot:!

With that 23, Webster needs the full .25u reduction. This is from the TR protocol...please be sure to read the whole quote!

  • If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. See additional notes in the next paragraph about drops into the 20s and 30s. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.

    Please do not let yourself become complacent or blasé about drops into the 20s or 30s.
    • If kitty drops into the 20s, a full reduction of 0.25u (or 0.5u if kitty is on a higher dose) is strongly recommended.

    • If your cat drops into the 30s, a full reduction of 0.25u is recommended. There are very few exceptions given for caregivers who have collected years of data and KNOW their cat's response to the combination of insulin and food backwards, forwards, and inside out.

    • Caregivers whose kitties have "High Dose" conditions may find the need to reduce in whole units or more.
      Please ask for advice.

  • If anyone suggests otherwise, they are putting your cat at risk! Our kitties are not just numbers. They are living beings who trust us to look out for them. The TR Protocol is an aggressive method in itself. The modified version of the protocol is slightly more aggressive.

    Keeping YOUR cat safe is the #1 priority of the FDMB.
    Let's keep all our kitties in the Lantus Tight Regulation ISG safe by suggesting and taking appropriate reductions.
 
Dyana gave you that info before she saw the 26.

From the Sticky on the TR protocol:

If kitty drops into the 20s, a full reduction of 0.25u (or 0.5u if kitty is on a higher dose) is strongly recommended.

I would reduce by 0.25u. If he fails the reduction, you can go back up but better safe than sorry. That 26 means business.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top