1/30 Terra AMPS 528 +5 324 PMPS 194

Status
Not open for further replies.

KarenAmelia

Member Since 2012
Giant bounce for Terra today. It confuses my concept of a shed, if Terra was in fact building one, to see a range that is an order of magnitude, a factor of 10. How can she go from 50 to 528 in less than 24 hours, if the shed is supposed to be a buffer? Wouldn't some of that insulin stored in the shed be released to reduce such a high bounce?


Terra's eating well after a slow start. Gave 1/4 tab Pepcid. She went outside just now and took in the sun, and is acting comfortable.
 
Re: 1/30 Terra AMPS 528

Hi guys .. I think terra is bouncing off those nice low green's yesterday .. Her little body just isn't used to them .. so when her body is actually within "normal" range values, the body panics and sends out these high numbers .. and don't be surprised if the high numbers last for awhile .. it can take up to 72 hours for a bounce to clear .. Others with more experience and knowledge will be here soon to answer your questions I'm sure .. just hang in there, you're doing really good! have a great day!
 
Re: 1/30 Terra AMPS 528

That's not how the shed works. There's no "release" valve or kind of feedback mechanism that you're envisioning. Rather, if you change a dose, you can see some shed response but it may not be immediate. For example, if you miss a shot or reduce a dose, you may not see the result for another cycle or two. Similarly, if you increase a dose, the shed needs to catch up and you may not see better numbers until the shed is filled. I tend to think of it as trying to turn an ocean liner -- you may try to turn the ship but it takes a while to get something that big to respond.

How Terra's bouncing is a result of the liver releasing stored glucose (glycogen) along with counterregulatory hormones (including glucagon from the pancreas) which cause BG levels to rise. This is a protective response to what is perceived as low BG numbers. It can take up to 72 hours for the counterregulatory hormones to clear. It's this process that causes the spike in numbers.
 
Terra spent a few hours outdoors today, in the warm sunny day. She was so hungry by shot time that she started to eat the dog's kibble. I am suspecting that all of her high numbers may possibly have been from her eating dog food - I did not expect her to touch it and so left the dogs' bowls on the floor. I am much the wiser now.

So she is eating well and feeling well this afternoon. Her fur looks sleek and shiny. A good pre shot number: I am hoping things will be moving in the right direction. I'm really ready to get past the crazy ups and downs of the past month. Hopeful, but not with high expectations.
 
Binks was never a fan of kibble...until he no longer could have it :roll:

Now it's the Holy Grail for him...
he'll even tackle those big ol doggie chunks of it if he gets the chance :lol:

when he used to make a successful kibble raid, it could take 36-42 to hours for it to clear his system :shock:

celi
 
i've heard people report that even one dry kibble can send their cats higher for a day. that kitty crack is evil stuff for diabetics! and they are SOOOOO attracted to it! punkin is a total hoover - if he can get at it he will eat it. nothing is safe from him. :lol:

good thing we love the little buggers! :lol:
 
I'm glad to see that PMPS!!! Let's you take a breath and relax for a bit!! Champ has decided to grant me the gift of a good PMPS after a horrendous day, too!!
 
Hi Karen

Very nice PMPS tonight after those higher numbers this morning. I'm glad Sienne explained how the shed works. When you skip a shot, it also drains the shed a bit...not a lot but some and then the shed has to use some of the next injection to refill the shed.

I'm sorry I didn't get back to your condo last night....helping Cathy/Cini. I appreciate what you wrote and we'll go with the premise that you are following the TR protocol as long as you review the requisites and are sure those are attainable.

There was one thing I wanted to address....Sienne did give you some info but in regard to your comment last night:
I did not leave home this afternoon without getting a second test. I knew it would be foolish to leave if she was dropping, but the second test, 15 min. later, showed that she was holding steady. From reading a number of condos here I notice that people test for trends as well as absolute numbers. If her second test had been lower, I would've stayed home with her.

I have a good illustration for you. If you could open up Gracie's SS and scroll down to 12/25. She started around 120, went up to 142 by +4; at +6, she was 43. I gave her 8% food and a drop of karo and she came up to 52 at 6.5 And then 57 at +7 which I also fed. So safe, right? Steady. Checked her at +8...27. What if I hadn't been here? I don't want to continue to press the issue...I just thought an example might make it a little more clear.

Glad the dry food cleared!! Have a great night.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top