1/30 Rosa AMPS 529 +2 470 +7 243 +10 252 PMPS 288 +2 296 +4 261 +6.5 162 +8 252

Status
Not open for further replies.
Thank you. And yes, back down gently will do it - I've told her, no diving today so we can both have a bit of a break! Her ears must be feeling better already this morning - she was fine with her test again fortunately. :)
 
Thank you. It was definitely scary having to shoot last night. But we managed with the support of everyone here. :) And it was nice to see her in green numbers for the first time - she looks so much better in green and blue than she does in red or pink! ;)
 
Rosa! That's enough of that nonsense!! Get back down where you belong immediately (well....at a reasonable rate.....LOL)

Just a note on your spreadsheet....when you get tests at "odd" times (like +2.5) what I do is put the ## SPACE @ SPACE 2.5

If you look on our spreadsheet, you'll see how it looks ...there's an example during this morning's cycle and several last night. You WILL have to "color" the cell yourself though. You just go to the little icon along the top that looks like a little bucket of paint that's starting to tip, click and pick the correct color for the number in the cell

Great job last night!
 
Yeah, she needs to get back down into some nicer numbers now! I'm not so sure about the reasonable rate - she does like to take us all by surprise so I'm sure if she can manage to dive from high numbers all the way down to low ones, she will do. Our Rosa doesn't really do 'reasonable'. :P

Ahh - I'll change the spreadsheet when I do her next test. Thank you for that - makes it easier for everyone if we're all working the same way. :)

And thank you - I'm sure there'll be more days like that to come soon! I'll get used to it in the end no doubt ;)
 
Congratulations on those beautiful GREENS yesterday! How exciting! :D And great job shooting a lower pre-shot number. When you have a meter and food, you're in control. I suspect you'll get a chance to try out shooting even lower numbers soon. ;) Looks like she's coming right down off that bouncy pre-shot which is great! Be interesting to see where she's at at PMPS.
 
I think the next 24-48 hours could be very interesting with her for sure. I wasn't expecting her to come back down this far for at least another day! I'm giving her a break now until PMPS as I've got a suspicion she might choose tonight to drop lower again - if she's going to have to be tested a lot then I'd rather give her a bit of a break for a few hours now. No doubt I'll be screaming for help as soon as she drops into the lower numbers again even though it's good to see them show up :)
 
One little "trick" that can be helpful when you start shooting those lower numbers is snagging a +10 or +11 number so you know if your pre-shot number is on the way back up or if she's still heading down.
 
Thank you - I'll try to start doing that today as she was still heading down at +7. It'll give me a better idea of what to expect later on for sure.
 
That's a very valid point. And if she keeps dropping at the same rate, I'm going to need advice - and probably someone standing by to keep my nerves steady when it comes to shot time!
 
Hmmm...I wonder if the latter part of Rosa's AM cycle might be a "Flat Yellow Cycle." For some kitties, a string of flat yellows (or any color really) that really don't move up or down during a cycle (or for several hours) can precede a busy cycle. I've never really found a good physiological explanation but for some kitties that becomes a fairly recognizable pattern. Rosa's +2 tonight might be interesting. :cool:
 
She's at 296 at +2. Not sure what to think now - I'll check again before I go to bed...assuming she doesn't suddenly drop much lower in which case I'll be staying up of course! When I did her curve day, there wasn't much difference between her AM pre-shot and her plus 2 but then she went lower so I'm not at all sure this is as interesting as it's going to get tonight.
 
I think that sounds like a good plan April. If she's not a fair bit lower by your pre-bed test, she may just continue flat, or she might gently slide down and give you a lower AMPS. When our kitties are bouncing they may not have a discernable nadir - flat cycles. When they're bounce clearing - sometimes that can result in some nadirs at some odd times depending in part on when those bouncy hormones finally clear out. For the longest time, Eddie was a late nadir kitty and sometimes his lowest numbers were at the next pre-shot and he'd just slide down off of a bounce for the entire cycle. :nailbiting: :D
 
I really have no idea with Rosa yet - the green yesterday was completely unexpected compared to where she had been...and then the higher number this morning clearing down so quickly. If she's looking good at about +4, I'll set an alarm for +7 as that seems to be at least close to her lowest point on other cycles. And if she's still good then, I think she'll be OK until morning. If she stays around this level tonight then I'm sure she'll slide down fairly quickly again tomorrow - she must have heard me say that if she did really, really well then eventually she might not need shots anymore - she's obviously determined to get there if she possibly can! ;)

She still seems to be feeling good today which is a good thing. Though feeling good with Rosa tends to mean she gets feisty - I've been growled at a couple of times today at test time, though she's all talk and would never ever hurt me. And she sits still for the test the whole time she's complaining! I think maybe because any other time she's got sick the medicine has stopped when she's better so now she can't understand why I'm still doing all this when she feels good. :P She's eating well and gaining back the weight she lost fairly quickly now which is a good thing - she's had almost 3 5.5oz cans of low carb food today. More than I was told by the vet to give her, but as she's got a pound or two still to gain I'm letting her have pretty much as much as she wants for now. And her fur is getting softer again - it's amazing the difference just a few days of being in a lower range, even if not the ideal range, can make! :D
 
Hmm - maybe she's saving the interesting stuff for the morning. No doubt just in time to give me a wake-up surprise. ;) I'm going to set an alarm for +7 but may not post that until the morning if she's still looking good - no doubt I'll be almost asleep getting a test at 4am.
 
And back up to 252 at +8. Time to go and sleep for 3 hours before her next dose - looks like she should be good for the rest of the night now. Last test taken from her paw pad as she clearly doesn't want her ears touched again for now - she was very good and lay on her back on my lap long after the test to get cuddles.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top