1/30 Lucky GA -Oldtimers day

Status
Not open for further replies.

kate and lucky

Member Since 2010
A couple of old friends emailed me about 'Oldtimers Day'. I'd thought it was for beans whose kitties were still alive and thus hadn't posted, only to be told it was everyone.
A few of you will remember Lucky o:-) , quite a character in her own right, others of you have just had me offer advice, help, support on your thread without knowing us.
So I thought, what the heck, maybe you might want to read our sugar dance. If you read nothing else, read the last sentence.

HAPPY CATURDAY!!!! :mrgreen:

Lucky was a black and white British short hair (a mix!)
An abandoned kitten, taken in by a family after being mistreated who were then going to throw her in a quarry when they were evicted from their home. Luckily I was looking for a kitten at the wrong time of year (end Jan) and a friend told the chap. Introduced to the tinniest ball of nothing as she waddled into the room-Lucky to find her-Lucky to find me, hence her name.
Her ears were full of ear mites and fleas the size of ladybirds. Vet said she was 6 weeks old. Took her home after treatment and worming and went back 4 days later. Vet then stated she was more likely 10 weeks old, so estimate she was born around Oct 1993 and chose the 31st as her birthday as it fitted with her nature!.
For the next 12 years she was a happy healthy cat, living on dry food entirely for 10 years. I often had to go away and did not know anything of carbs etc.
2005 she became very ill (luckily I was off work after a knee op). Nearly lost her and vet never got to bottom of it but thought she'd been poisoned. She went to vets for 1 night and they rang for me to get her as he said he'd never seen such a distressed animal. Lucky became a fan of sachets of Kitekat in gravy (previously had had the odd sachet in jelly moving from fish flavours to anything else) We got through it and after moving all round Britain over the years moved to Germany in May 2007. Apart from being very dehydrated (o/n ferry crossing and got lost!)no problems on our journey.

September 2008 whilst parents visiting noticed an increase in water consumption and food, but sadly not overly concerned.
Food and water consumption increased and took her to vets 3rd of November 2008. Diagnosis Diabetes.
ALKP 98 U/L (14-111)
ALT 40 U/L
UREA 9.5 mmol/L
CREA 126 umol/L
GLU 23.12 (416)mmol/L
TP 73 g/L

Vets response to a fractious kitty-'Do nothing, special food (Hills m/d) or PTS!!

Immediately put on Hills m/d until discover FDMB 3 days later. Swap to Felix etc .No dry. Takes to it no problem.

OOO Noo- searches/emails identified Army vet an hour away.
Blood test
Fructosamine results 15/11
582 umol/l
slight lipaemia
Thyroxine 16.3 nmol/l (14.2-66.5)

Decide can't keep using these vets (did offer to treat with Lente) due to travel time, work commitments and Lucky's stress at travelling that distance.

Virtually everyone recommends 3rd vet-German.
24/11 first visit. Luks not eating well.

Diagnosis throat infection needs antibiotics (have to go to Gibraltar for work 25/11 for a week) Accommodated in pension (vet cattery)2 nights, friend collects. Also heart problem. 5 different things given.
Blood test BG 257 mg/dl

3/12 visit.

Will not treat Diabetes as states unable to until heart problem sorted.

8/12 visit.

No Diabetes treatment. Injections given-for heart (I think)

16/12
BG 259 mg/dl
ALT 39.1 u/l
CREA O.946 mg/dl
tested for feline LV (despite saying she had been inoculated!) Ruck of injections given.

17/12
More injections



18/12
More injections.
Ask if have to keep taking her as hiding and stressed. Metcam given to put on food and syringe with 'cactus' to give orally for heart (1ml per day). Go back tomorrow if want to give insulin!!!!

19/12
Lucky lifeless. Not moving, not wanting food. Checked again mid-morning. Still not moved. Tell vet. Immediate response PTS. Agreed for tomorrow morning.

19/12 late afternoon. Lots of loving and coaxing.
Lucky rallies.
PM take Lucky to a 'special' clinic that supposedly specialises in cat diseases. Waste of time, rips me off (knows nothing in my view) but at least says no PTS not required. STOP using metcam (she won't eat with it on her food).

20/12
Cancel PTS, make appointment for 22/12. Eating much better but syringe water given.

22/12
Ate and drank without coaxing.
Vets-FINALLY AGREED TO CANNINSULIN!!!! Got me to give a 5u shot in surgery, gave me the stuff and sent us on our way. In agreement to Home testing as acknowledges how stressed Luks get in vets and blood taking.

PM-Panic at Hypo and get lots of support off FDMB members. Subsequently reduce dose to b.i.d 1u.

That was our trip to the sugar journey. I speak very little German, have not found anyone near me that treats a cat with Diabetes.
I eventually went back to the army vet who agreed to give the script for Levemir. They tried to advise on dose, but due diligence, research and ‘talking’ to FDMB members, I made my own dosing decisions with the guidance of beans such as Jojo and Greg.

Within a short time Luks was beautifully regulated. I had to be creative with my job and she travelled with me often. When I couldn’t take her with me and the choice was either a whole week end at the German vets (army didn’t have cattery facilities) or miss one shot. I took a chance and she’d miss a shot.
I had a problem of a holiday abroad, my neighbour had tried to give Lucky her shots and she had literally shredded her hands.
Heather/jasper was faced with a similar dilemma and we got together and agreed to look after each others kitty. Jasper was a sweetie-just gave lots of love bites in the morning!!

Heather and Eric weren’t so lucky!! Lucky would not let them near her and Eric had to be very ingenious with a bandanna, bike leathers and all sorts! She missed more than a dozen shots in this time-a true one bean kitty.
However within a couple of days her numbers were back to regulation.
The over-riding memory of this was Jojo’s comment ‘Kudos to her shed construction crew’. She could hold her numbers.
Her bg’s were almost consistently under 120.

Then she started showing signs of nausea. Greg and Cassandra sent meds to help. We trekked back and forth to army vet who would NOT listen. They wouldn’t give sub q’s, would only try one thing at a time. Lucky’s Pancreatitis results were off the scale.
Vets eventually agreed to take her in overnight and give her IV fluids.

Jill managed to put me in touch with Kirsten from the German Katzen forum, who identified a local vet that had been praised by her forum for their work on other cat diseases. He agreed to support sub q’s. I was to collect Lucky the next day and take her to this vet.
That night I received the call no bean wants to receive. Lucky had had a seizure and was on oxygen. My DBF drove me to the vets.
I knew when I saw her she wasn’t coming back.

There’s always if’s, why’s and maybe’s. Certainly in Lucky’s case this is true. I still don’t know if they had actually O/D her, Dian mentioned electrolyte imbalance, the vets said her organs-I will never know.
For me her memory lives on through me helping on the board. We only got an extra year, but it was still an extra year, and had we have had a vet who knew what they were doing I know it would have been a lot longer.

It’s a long story with a sad ending. I don’t regret Lucky developing Diabetes, it brought us even closer than I could have ever imagined, it brought me a lot of knowledge and understanding and it brought me friends.
The beauty of FDMB is that wherever you are in the world, you are never alone
:YMHUG:
 
Your last line Kate....So true! During that 1 year you managed Lucky's diabetes so well. I know she was a happy healthy cat most of that time. She really only had a few bad days. She certainly was a LUCKY kitty to have found her way to you. She was also quite the little traveler!
 
I'm so glad you posted this. What a story! Lucky, indeed. You had that special bond with Lucky that doesn't come along all that often, even if your life is filled with pets who love you and who you love. Thank you for sharing this with us newbies. And that last sentence is 100% right!
 
Oh Kate...thank you for sharing your story with us.....
she was a very special little girl who loved her Mama....
the wonderful chance that you found each other and the wonderful sweet years you shared.... :YMHUG:
So beautiful ~~ brings tears to my eyes....
(((Kate))) I know that Lucky will always be in your heart...
 
Kate I am so glad you posted Lucky's story. It was so hard to watch you go through all of this with your special little girl.
You also made us smile and laugh with your Luck stories. She is happy and healthy now playing with all of her friends forever grateful of the love and care you gave to her. :YMHUG:
 
(((Kate))) There are some stories here on FDMB that I will never forget, and Lucky's is one of them. Such a sad story, but, as your beautiful post points out, her bravery and your love for each other are the important things to remember.
 
Kate, it is so nice to hear from you. :)

I agree with Linda that Luks story is a memorable one. She was a very very lucky cat to have found you. Her life certainly would have been much much shorter without you and your determination. (((hugs)))
 
Kate it was such a blow for all of us when Special Lucky left us..You were such a wonderful bean to her, and she had a great life filled with love.
So good to see you here,Miss all the funny stories..Hope you are well & gllad newbies had a chance to hear from you. HUGS~!
 
I clearly remember how elated you were to finally find the possibility of a vet who had a good reputation and would listen and the utter shock to you and to all of us of losing Lucky. We never know how long our kitties will grace our lives which is why every moment is so special. You and Lucky were truly lucky to have found each other.
 
((Kate)) I just love Luks story..
And, she was certainly a lucky kitty to have found you and you her!
She truly was a one person kitty.. you were chosen just for her.. And, she let everyone else know that! lol..
I was so saddened when you lost her.. but, she lives on through this board and all the experience her mamabean has learned from her and FD :-D
 
Kate, because I've been a so infrequently in LL lately, I didn't know. Please accept my belated condolences. Your Lucky was a very lucky boy to have found you. Incidentally, my Lucky got his name kind of the same way "a stray that was lucky to stay".

Thanks for sharing your story - it is a true testiment to your love.
Kim & Luck
 
Kate, thanks for posting Lucky's story. She was such a very special kitty, and a very lucky one to have found you.
And she is still as special to you right now, as you are to her. I remember and worried the whole time she wouldn't let anyone give her a shot over at Heather and Eric's, and when she traveled with you, and she almost got lost. I so remember, praying for her when she got sick, and I so shared the happiness you felt when you finally found a good vet that would give her the fluids she needed, and the total heartbreak when she never made it there.

Thanks so much, for being here now, with us, and helping the kitties that need you. I know Lucky is very proud of you.
You know she is waiting for you only, and you two will be re-united one great day!!! With tears of happiness aflowing.

(((BIG HUGS)))
 
Hi there Kate, nice to see you around and nice to read Lucky's whole story. I remember some of the stories so well...when Lucky was at Heather and Jasper and Eric's when you went on your Holiday...I read every single post hoping along with everyone else that they would be successful in getting that insulin into her. I also remember when she got sick and you tried every thing possible for her. Lucky was very Lucky to have you for a bean.
Try not to make a stranger of yourself and we'll see you around...Oh, and thanks for stopping in Spot's condo when you do. It's always nice to see your name.
 
Hey Kate, Thanks for all your recent suggestions ! I've said this before but I will always remember that you were the very first person on this board to offer me advice one early morning back in July when I'd just joined and something or other was freaking me out. Precious, precious Lucky... she was really Lucky to have you as her person; I know you miss her terribly. Thanks for sharing her special story with every one.
 
kate and lucky said:
Thank you for your kind words-I always remember you posting you saw a rainbow a few days after she died and that it made you think of her cat_pet_icon

Kate: it was one of the most gorgeous rainbows I ever saw.
th_rainbow_0042.jpg

It looked just like this.
It stayed right in front of me the whole drive home.
It just looked like it was from God. I was in awe, and I thought of Lucky the whole way.
 
Oh, Kate, it's good to see you post Lucky's story, how well I remember the stay at Heather's, and her final illness. You were so good with her. I miss our early morning visits, you were often there for us, but am glad you're still visiting and posting... and healing, I hope.
 
Kate, I never knew your whole story about Luks...thanks so much for posting today.

She was one lucky kitty to have found you...you were a wonderful Mama Bean to her. Your story is amazing and inspirational, albeit with a very sad ending. It is so very hard to lose our furbabies, no matter how or when or under what circumstances. ((Kate))

I'm glad you found LL..so true, your last sentence.

Judith and Thomas (GA)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top