1/30 Lucian AMPS 528, PMPS/322, pm+3/562 Boing!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

nckitties3

Member Since 2013
'Morning all,

Due to crazy high numbers that get worse with increases, I'm beginning to think he was started at too high a dose to begin with, ohmygod_smile along with a very low carb diet.

I am giving .75, as of today, and see if he levels out any.

With all the research and advice from members, I think/hope this is the right thing to do. nailbite_smile I am very nervous about it, but something needs to be done, now.

If there is anything you think I should know or watch for, please let me know.

Will continue to test for ketones at every opportunity, rather than the every other day, like I have been. Missed it first thing this morning, but will keep watch and make sure I get one today.

Anything else? :?: :?:

Thank you everybody!

Hope everyone has a great day and kitties playing on that green floor! dancing_cat
 
Re: 1/30 Lucian AMPS 528 Trial dose

Fingers, toes, paws and tails all crossed that Lucian will like this dose and decide to come down to play with Autumn on the blue and green floors, she is lonely down here. :-D

Just keep a close eye on those ketones and if you see even a trace take him back up. Personally I would also watch the whole cat as well, is he purring, preening, playing, peeing and pooping normally. Sometimes you see improvement in the whole cat before the numbers reflect the change in dose.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 1/30 Lucian AMPS 528 Trial dose

'Morning Mel,

Well, he's preened and peed so far this morning, he doesn't play, so that won't be included, hasn't played in years, with exception of a 'nip' induced buzz.

No purring yet and he was thoroughly PO'd with his test this morning and fought hard to get away from me. Probably fought the hardest since we even started this dance, I would have thought his #'s were down :o , that's when he gets combative usually.

As for poo, a little later maybe, he went late last night.

Missed opportunity for ketone test, heard him in the box while I was preparing their food. But I'll catch him later. ;-) That's easy with him, he goes just inside the LB door and always has his back to the outside, so I just slip a strip under him. :smile:

Time will tell if I made the right decision, if not, then he needs a much higher dose, but would rather be wrong on a low dose than a high one. :-D

Thank you for checking on him.
 
Re: 1/30 Lucian AMPS 528 Trial dose-Ket/Neg

Ketone test @+3 / Negative......I'm thankful for that. flip_cat
 
Re: 1/30 Lucian AMPS 528 Trial dose-Ket/Neg

Hang in there - it'll take a while to settle in the new dose completely. By day 3, you'll begin to get some idea if this is working.

Purina makes a product called Glucotest which is sprinkled in the litterbox; that might be another helpful indicator of how Lucian is doing as it will change color if glucose is above the renal threshold. It is imprecise ad is urine ketone testing, in that it is the combined effect of several hours of urine collection, plus depends on how hydrated the cat is.
 
Re: 1/30 Lucian AMPS 528, +6/242 - shocked!

I did NOT see that coming! :o I know his 'shed' is playing a hand in it, but still, I only gave .75 this AM.

I was SURE I would continue to see that black floor for the next day or 2.

Has anyone else dealt with this or seen other kitties that were on a 'too high' dose? Should I expect a lot of bouncing around? Just want to be prepared, ya know?

I don't dare get my hopes up, but OMG I am so happy to see that yellow! :-D Love you Kitty Bunch! (Lucian) cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 1/30 Lucian AMPS 528, +6/242 - shocked!

Way to go Lucian!!!! See the yellow floor isn't so scary afterall..now don't get too comfy here we still want you to come down with Mz Autumn and try out the blues and greens but yellow is good enough for now...

That is a pretty hefty drop for sweet Lucian so don't be too surprised if he bounces just a little tonight, plus his shed is draining some so it will also come into play right now, so just hang tight

But OMG he looks so much better in yellow than he does in black or red. But Lucian...yellow is a girly color, how about a more masculine color like blue? What do you say buddy don't you think you would look better in blue?

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 1/30 Lucian AMPS 528, +6/242 - shocked!

Lucian looks great in blue, he just hasn't worn it much! :lol:

I am so happy! :-D After the last week, yellow looks real d@m good!

I expect him to bounce around and have learned a ton more patience in the last 3 weeks, so at least it won't surprise me.

Just knowing that his little body is getting some relief, makes me happy. I can't imagine the toll that 600+ takes on him. :sad: It isn't healthy even for a short period of time, much less as much as he's been there.

I, also, used the smaller lancet this time, no crying or fighting......go figure. Poor baby, those 28g are just too painful for him. :sad:

Thanks to everyone, I can't tell you how much I appreciate the input and experience. :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 1/30 Lucian AMPS 528, +6/242 - shocked!

Aw hon that is all we want for any of our furry babies, just to feel as good as they can. Glad to hear the smaller lancets are working better for him, some are just touchier than others. I could probably use a harpoon on Autumn and she wouldn't care and she has little ears, but Maxwell and his big batwing ears if I use anything over a 30 gauge and you would swear I was trying to kill him..go figure.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 1/30 Lucian AMPS 528, +6/242 - shocked!

Lucian's ears caught h*ll years ago, from fighting with a feral that claimed our porch for a couple years. They are slightly 'scalloped' around the edge, if you look close! :lol:

At one point, he had a hole all the way through the ear leather, that you could actually see through! :o Surprisingly, it healed up, with no problem, so I know their ears can take it, but I still hate poking him! :sad:

Not to mention, holding my breath as the meter counts down. 'Breath Deb!'

I'm gonna be a wreck waiting on the next test. Pleeeeese, let it NOT be HI!!! nailbite_smile I hate that, I have no idea HOW HI it is. I think I would rather see exactly what I'm dealing with, but that's what the meter does, if it is 600+. :-x

I need a nap, I'm exhausted just from the stress of waiting, today. No, maybe a ~O) ~O) or 2, that'll work! :smile:
 
Re: 1/30 Lucian AMPS 528, +6/242 - shocked!

I've been blessed so far my meters have never greeted me...lol I'm sure while you might like a friendly greeting every now and then you just don't want Lucian's meter doing it...lol

Just about nap time for me too. Didn't get much sleep myself last night but that was going the other way..shoot low pmps and just wasn't going to rest well until I got back up to check on her. Had to check the meter this morning to make sure I actually did..lol.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 1/30 Lucian AMPS 528, +6/242 - shocked!

That's more like it Lucian...nice easy up today no racing for the moon. I'm fully expecting him to be up in the 300s by his pmps but at least so far he doesn't look like he is taking off like a rocket.

No bouncing buddy you iz a kitty not a rubber ball.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 1/30 Lucian AMPS 528, +6/242, +8.75/288 YAY!

:lol: :lol: I'm probably the only Bean doing the 'HAPPY DANCE' @288!! :lol: :lol:

But BG below 300 is a MAJOR improvement for Lucian! *singing" Go Kitty! Go Kitty! :RAHCAT

He ate, washed his face, hit the LB and I got another NEGATIVE for Ketones! flip_cat

I am one happy Bean today! :-D

Might be bouncy later, but I am pleased as punch today. :-D
 
Re: 1/30 Lucian AMPS 528, +6/242, +9/288, PMPS/322 Yes!

So far - So good!

Much rather see that slow climb and not the crazy HI !! :-D

Again, thank you all for the support! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 1/30 Lucian AMPS 528, +6/242, +9/288, PMPS/322 Yes!

Woohoo Lucian!!!! Okay so pink isn't very masculine either but hey we will take what we can get and thankfully he didn't bounce off the moon tonight...Go Kitty Go!!!!

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Re: 1/30 Lucian AMPS 528, +6/242, +9/288, PMPS/322 Yes!

Like I said, there aren't too many Beans that would get excited over these numbers! :lol:

But they are a vast improvement for Lucian. cat_pet_icon
 
There's that bounce we've been expecting all day! :o BOING!!

It's ok, was nice to see something other than black, even if just for 12 hrs. I'm sure it was beneficial to Lucian to be off that floor for a bit. :smile:

Hope everyone has a good night and all your kitties stay off that black floor! dancing_cat
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top