? 1/30 Kitty AMPS n/a .5U 6:30a| lethargy/hiding +4, small meal |PMPS 136|advice please :)

Status
Not open for further replies.

MamasPrettySugarKitty

Member Since 2018
Hello all--hope good days abound! http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/1-29-kitty-pmps-117-after-diet-change-thoughts.190411/

Follow up to the above...despite best efforts was still unable to obtain AMPS today and thus reduced dose to .5U after skipping PM night before due to PMPS of 117. Boyfriend able to work from home to monitor today. He called around +4 and said Kitty was hiding in this little cubby hole (which she was doing quite often earlier in Dx). I advised him to give her a small meal of FF and she seemed better after. Came out of hiding.

Home now and took her PMPS which is 136. I've updated my woefully sparse spreadsheet and am wondering if anyone has any opinions. Am considering skipping tonight again and reducing to .25U tomorrow (although I don't have the best needles for a small dose), will try again for AMPS but might still be shooting blind. I couldn't stomach her protests to the BG late last night before bed, and gave up in frustration. Very disappointing both last night and this morning. She still doesn't like this routine despite tons of loves and freeze dried chicken (after the fiasco of course!). However, she's still not fooled...

Would love to hear anyone's thoughts and sage wisdom. Thank you as always!!!
 
wouldn’t want to shoot this late would I?

Probably not unless you can adjust shot times for the next few cycles.

In the future, if you get a Preshot you're not sure about, stall, don't feed and test again in about 20-30 minutes

If the number goes up, it's usually going to be OK to shoot since that's a pretty good indication that the last shot is wearing off.

If you feed, any increase in the numbers would probably be due to the food.

It may also help if you put "STALLING" into your subject line so people know you're on a deadline
 
Ah ha yes thank you! I feel like I need a third arm to keep her from squirming away but I will use this advice tomorrow if the trend continues. Will try again in the morning too and see where it gets me. Have to break through this routine where she’s good for a PMPS but impossible otherwise. Finicky thing.
 
Hi and welcome to Lantus & Levemir Land, the nicest place you never wanted to be.

I don't know if you're seen this already, but here is a post with some tips to help with testing. Don't give up. Keep giving treats and lovings, even if you don't get a successful test. You want Kitty to associate testing with good things.
 
Hi there :cool:


I remember feeling that way with my boy. It does get easier - keep at it.

You mentioned lethargy in your header today. Are you checking her urine for the presence of ketones?

Thank you for the encouragement, Sandy! I haven’t been concerned w ketones as I thought that was more of a risk if she wasn’t eating. Thankfully that hasn’t been an issue, but am I mistaken?
 
Hi and welcome to Lantus & Levemir Land, the nicest place you never wanted to be.

I don't know if you're seen this already, but here is a post with some tips to help with testing. Don't give up. Keep giving treats and lovings, even if you don't get a successful test. You want Kitty to associate testing with good things.

Haha nicest place I never wanted to be—truer words never spoken! I’ve been employing as many of these techniques as I can and will keep on trying. Thank you for the link.
 
I haven’t been concerned w ketones as I thought that was more of a risk if she wasn’t eating. Thankfully that hasn’t been an issue, but am I mistaken?
Speaking as one who has been through it twice, DKA is something to be avoided, and the way to avoid full blown DKA is to catch it early. So everyone whose kitty is unregulated should test for ketones regularly and be aware of other symptoms, lethargy among them, that could be a sign that something may be brewing

    • Drinking excessive amounts of water OR no water
    • Excessive urination
    • Diminished activity
    • Not eating for over 12 hours
    • Vomiting
    • Lethargy and depression
    • Weakness
    • Breathing very fast
    • Dehydration
    • Ketone odor on breath (smells like nail-polish remover or fruit)
An ounce of prevention is worth a pound of cure.:cool:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top