1/30 Gandolf AMPS 61 +2 57

Status
Not open for further replies.

cmk77

Member Since 2010
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=35528
WCR: All P;s Present

Good Morning Everyone ~O)

A beautiful sunny morning here. Love that Vit. D.
Gandolf is doing a dance this morning. I've stalled and he's not eaten yet. I'm inclined to go ahead and shoot 4U and monitor carefully. Love to dip below 50 and earn that dose crease. We're almost an hour late so it equals a smaller dose already. What do you think? I can be here all day.
Probably will have to be because his nadir seems to come much later now when he hits these low numbers but can't be sure.
What do you think? 4U or a BCS dose?

Thanks so much :smile:

Cee
 
Re: 1/30 Gandolf AMBG +12 90 +79 DOSE QUESTION

if you're there to monitor, then I would go ahead and shoot his regular dose. This is probably Gandolf's nadir and nadirs in the 70s are no problem. It's just frustrating sometimes when the nadir occurs at or after shot time because you have to shoot lower numbers! He might continue to drop for an hour, he has done that before, but you can test and you're well stocked with supplies, I assume.
 
Re: 1/30 Gandolf AMBG +12 90 +79 DOSE QUESTION

+12.5 -79

+13 -61

still stalling, still hasn't eaten and is very hungry.
 
Re: 1/30 Gandolf AMBG +12 90 +12.5+79 +13 61 DOSE QUESTION

About low numbers with no food in the system I have a question: Doesn't that just automatically mean low blood-sugar.
Beans with tendency to hypoglycemia have to watch that to by making sure they have food in their system or else they can go hypoglycemic. Would that be the same for a sugar-kitty? So with no food in their tummies, wouldn't a sugar-kitty go low?
 
Re: 1/30 Gandolf AMBG +12 90 +12.5+79 +13 61 DOSE QUESTION

I'm not sure I understand your question, but it's true that without feeding the cat might keep dropping until the bounce starts. That is one reason why I usually find it easier to just go ahead and shoot at +12 (even if it's dropping, as long as it's not toooooo low), then feed and test at +1 to be sure the drop stopped. The food will help put on the brakes, and the insulin usually doesn't kick in for a couple of hours. Obviously, that is only good advice for someone who is home to monitor and is comfortable dealing with low numbers.
 
Thanks Libby for taking the time to answer my question. What you shared makes perfect sense and I can see your point of going ahead and shooting at +12 if at home and able to monitor. Thanks a lot, really.

Cee :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top