1/30 Eddie AMPS = 295, +6 = 164, PMPS = 305, +6 = 214

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jen&Eddie

Very Active Member
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=112803

AMPS = 295 :smile: (1.6u)
+1 = 285
+6 = 164 (BLUE!)
+8.5 = 302/260 (wut?)
PMPS = 305 (1.6u)
+3 = 285
+5 = 211
+6 = 214
+7 = 213

It's snowing here like crazy today! This winter seems like it will never end. The pack is upset today as they have to be shut up. Annual fireplace cleaning, etc., in our apartment. There is nothing in our lease saying we can't have five cats, but there's also nothing that says we can. I figure it's better that they just not all be seen. :?

Mom bean fell asleep on the couch last night. I had intended to get a PM +6 to see if Eddie continued to go down a bit, but it didn't happen. :YMSIGH:

It looks like he REALLY likes those yellows!

Question: My understanding basically is that the cat's body is seeking homeostasis between insulin and glucose. So, that's what bouncing is...when the liver releases glucose and other stuff to prevent what the cat's body perceives as not enough glucose. I'm guessing physiologically, that's why Eddie seems to settle in the yellows? His pancreas and liver feel like this is a "healthy" middle ground?
 
Re: 1/30 Eddie AMPS = 295

I never got great grades in science, Jen. Maybe Carl will pop in (he loves the science of diabetes). The only thing I can tell you is that we consider a cat regulated if they are in the mid 200s at preshot and below 100 at nadir (but not below 50). Eddie certainly seems headed in that range. Maybe once he gets comfortable there, a small dose increase might feel okay to him?

The renal threshold is considered to be somewhere in the range of 250. The time the cat spends in that range and below are considered healing periods for the pancreas. So you strive to keep them under the renal threshold.

Both regulation and renal threshold are good targets at this point, with OTJ coming later.

Not sure that helps any, but it's all I know....
 
Re: 1/30 Eddie AMPS = 295

Thanks Sue! It looks like Eddie is not bouncing so far with the increase, so gradually increasing the dose by 0.2 might keep him gradually going down. I like that he's getting slightly lower AMPS. :smile: Going to hold at the current dose for a few more cycles and if he's pretty well settled with no bouncing, will plan on increasing a smidge again.

The drive to work was horrid! We got about 4-5 inches of snow, and the roads aren't really plowed yet. I got stuck in my driveway out of the parking garage, and that should have been my cue to just stay home. I live about 4 miles from my work and it was white knuckle, sliding and spinning and getting hung up all the way. I love the gas mileage my Civic gets, but it really, really stinks on Minnesota winter roads. :shock: It's supposed to stop snowing around noon or so today so I should be able to get home this PM without too much trouble. Otherwise, DH has a pickup, so he can come rescue me. :-D
 
Re: 1/30 Eddie AMPS = 295, +6 = 164

Roads are now plowed so my little Civic can drive on them, so was able to run home and get a +6, and we're at 164! Yay! Putting on Misty's BLUE suspenders again!
 
Re: 1/30 Eddie AMPS = 295, +6 = 164

OMG Jen! Just reading about your drive to work made me sick to my stomach! I don't know how you handle that. My 'anxiety meter' would be red-lining! @-)

Much love! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 1/30 Eddie AMPS = 295, +6 = 164, +8.5 = 302/260

Ha! My anxiety level was pretty high too! I hate driving in stuff like that. But, living here, you grit your teeth and bear it sometimes, or talk DH into driving you! :mrgreen:

At +8.5 DH is home early and got a 302 on first test :shock: , and a 260 on a re-test. Darn, looks like a bounce brewing. I wonder if he went lower after +6. :YMSIGH:
 
Re: 1/30 Eddie AMPS = 295, +6 = 164, +8.5 = 302/260

Guess that's still within the allowed 20% difference. I like the 2nd number better. ;-) I'd take an average of the 2, like 280 maybe. But that's just me. :lol:

Hope he doesn't do any bouncing, that 164 looks nice. :thumbup
 
Re: 1/30 Eddie AMPS = 295, +6 = 164

HI Jen,
Sue sent me a message and asked me to take a look at you and Eddie's numbers and some of the questions she thought I might be able to take a shot at answering.

I went back through your last few daily threads and you do ask some really good questions!
Question: My understanding basically is that the cat's body is seeking homeostasis between insulin and glucose. So, that's what bouncing is...when the liver releases glucose and other stuff to prevent what the cat's body perceives as not enough glucose. I'm guessing physiologically, that's why Eddie seems to settle in the yellows? His pancreas and liver feel like this is a "healthy" middle ground?
First off, I love seeing bounces, believe it or not. They usually say two things to me -
1 - the insulin did a good job that cycle in bringing the numbers down to "normal" in most cases.
2 - the built in self-defenses (what we call liver panic) are working just the way nature intended.
To me, those are both great things to see.

As far as my way of thinking, about bounces, dosing, how long it takes a dose to settle, or how long until a bounce clears... well, it's probably different than what other people might think. And my experiences with Bob were the most important factor in my way of thinking, keeping in mind that every cat is different. I mostly look at everything PZI related with a "Bob filter", so keep that in mind.

As far as the liver goes, I don't think the liver is at all interested in maintaining a healthy middle ground. If things get to the point where the liver is going to panic, and release glucose into the bloodstream, then I don't think there's any degree of control - it's an all or nothing kind of thing. Like "holy crap the BG is too low, bombs away!" and then the BG skyrockets back up, higher than we might like to see.

I see a couple of cycles on Eddie's spreadsheet that I think illustrate lows that caused a big bounce, and the high numbers that followed.

1/15 PM cycle. Eddie didn't drop too far from PMPS, but he went down to the 50s. And next AMPS was 390. To me, that's a perfect example of a bounce. And that morning, IMHO, you did the right thing. You recognized the 390 for what it was - a "low induced high" from the night before. And you actually shot less insulin than you had the night before when his PMPS was a yellow number. And his nadir that day was nice at 170. You could have shot more, but I would have done the same thing. At PMPS, you got a 289. And that night, another green nadir, which is just what you wanted. And next morning, what does Eddie do? Gives you another bounce with a 436. At that point, his numbers sort of got yuckier going forward.

OK, here's my take on that sequence.
The first bounce, you gave less insulin, and he still gave you a nice nadir, and a nice PMPS. The way I see that is "the bounce cleared, and cleared very quickly". By PMPS it was gone. And that next PM cycle, he showed you that by giving you another green nadir (after two doses that were lower than the one that caused the first bounce).

Since then. Eddie has only given you one green nadir over two weeks. And until yesterday, all of his doses have been lower than the one that caused the first green nadir/bounce combination (1.6u). Not saying that's "bad", it's just what the data tells me.

OK, here's where we get to the "how long does it take for a dose to settle" theory. A lot of people will disagree with me, but my theory is "hardly any time at all with PZI". Because of the "in and out" nature of PZI, I am not a big believer that much "dose settling" goes on at all. Some cats, and again ECID, take longer than other cats to "clear a bounce". No matter what insulin you are using. Because it's the low number that causes the bounce, not the type of insulin. Low BG is low BG, period. To me, on the cycles I detailed above, Eddie cleared a couple of bounces in two cycles or less. And that's not saying that he will always clear them quickly. Some may last a couple of days, some will only last a few hours.
In hindsight, I really only have good data from about 1/20 forward, since I think I was changing doses too frequently and without considering bounces before that. I think going forward, if there are high(er) flat cycles, I'm going to assume they are bounces and hold for a 8 cycles to see if the bounce stops. If not, I will assume he's stuck and likely dosecrease. If he goes a bit lower numbers mid-cycle on the dosecrease, will hold that for probably around 6 to 8 cycles before considering another dosecrease. At least that's the plan for now! I explained my plan to Eddie, but we'll see if he decides to go along with it!

What I don't agree with there is two things. One, I don't think you were changing doses too frequently. My theory on dose is that it can be changed every shot if you choose to manage FD that way with PZI. You just have to have a strategy with a goal in mind when you look at the preshot number you're given. The other thing I differ from many with is the length of time it takes for a bounce to clear. You can't put a definite time frame on it because ECID, and because it's not just glucose that the liver "dumps" into the bloodstream. There are "counter-regulatory hormones" that are involved, and hormones are hormones, how predictable are they? To me, that's the difficult part - how long are the high numbers because of a bounce, and at what point to you determine that they are instead being caused by a dose that is too low? I don't know if anyone is that adept at making that determination and that's the part that makes this so hard. And it is what makes the SS data so valuable. And I think you said it very well a couple of days ago:
I guess the million dollar question is how long to wait for a bounce to clear and at what point does it make sense to stop waiting for it to clear, and assume it's "stuck," requiring an increase.

Here's my general "strategy" on using PZI -
First off, pick a target "nadir". It can be a blue number, a green number, doesn't matter. Just a number you feel you'd hope to see at nadir.
Then look at the preshot number, and the cycle or two that led you to that PS number. This is where you have to evaluate things.
Was the preshot the end product of a bounce? Do the last couple of cycles show you a number that is likely to have caused one? Is this a bounce from days ago that just hasn't cleared? Because those factors will determine what your dose could be. If they look to be from a bounce, and Eddie looks like he clears a bounce quickly in general, then you would base the dose on that. If the past couple of cycles or days just show higher flat numbers, and you can't see where he went low enough to bounce, and most importantly, if you can monitor the upcoming cycle, then you might shoot a higher dose. My overall goal is to try for green nadirs, and if a kitty bounces, oh well, they bounce. I have not seen a cat on any insulin over almost 3 years that hasn't bounced, so IMO, there's no avoiding them. And because they are destined to happen, I don't stress over them (easy for me to say, I don't have a diabetic cat on a trampoline).

Protocols - protocols are awesome. They give you a set of guidelines to follow that tell you "if this happens, here's your next step". And the TR protocol for Lantus/Lev has been used by thousands of people and a whole bunch of kitties have gone off the juice because of that. Unfortunately, there isn't a published protocol for Prozinc. There is the Hodgkins' TR protocol which was originally written for use of an insulin that is no longer sold, and it has been modified and used with Prozinc by some people. I always found it too aggressive and labor intensive to ever consider trying it, but that's me. The thing I try to keep in mind I guess is that while caregivers can follow a protocol, cats don't. They can't read, and they aren't really big on following rules of any kind. ;-)

Carl
 
Re: 1/30 Eddie AMPS = 295, +6 = 164, +8.5 = 302/260

Carl, I knew you would love Jen's questions. Carl and I don't always agree, Jen, but we admire and appreciate each other. I tend to be more conservative than he is with dosing. I knew he would have some interesting answers to your questions. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/30 Eddie AMPS = 295, +6 = 164, PMPS = 305

+11 = 277
PMPS = 305 (1.6u)
Looks like DH's +8.5 reading of 302 and/or 260 was just a weird number. I was like "OMG, he's going to be at 500 in 4 hours!"
__________

Sue, thank you for pointing Carl to my question, and Carl....WOW, thank you so much for taking the time to look at Eddie's SS and to write such a thoughtful and thorough response.

I've always been better at the sciences rather than the arts, so not being able to see an exact scientific formula here is so darn hard! ;-) With a only a month's worth of data, I think I've been able to pick out a handful of patterns that I *think* may apply to Eddie, but I think it's just going to take more time to be able to see, consistently, where there are certain patterns.

I think where I've gotten hung up a bit from an "understanding" standpoint, is when Eddie seems to have a couple good cycles on a dose, with some bouncing on the pre-shots, or for a cycle between the better cycles, and then he just sits in yucky flat yellow for cycle after cycle. Specifically, what I'm looking at is when I started the 1.4u on 1/20. He had a pretty good PM cycle, then a high flat cycle on the AM of 1/21, then another good cycle on the PM of 1/21 at 1.4, and then mostly flat yellow cycles with a smattering of OK cycles until I increased to 1.6u. I do think there are a couple cycles in there that are bounces in the sense that they were high and flat the whole cycle after a lower number, but then we just got stuck. Is "getting stuck" like that just due to the fact that a cat's insulin needs just change, and you've got to keep up? Or is there some sort of physiological explanation for flattening out after a handful of cycles on a particular dose?

I was kind of stealing the concept of waiting for a bounce to clear from Lantus TR, but now that I think more about it, waiting for a bounce to clear before increasing a dose on ProZinc probably only really applies when the bounce is due to a low that's too low so you don't end up unintentionally pouring fuel on the fire. For Lantus, they're shooting low to stay low, and they have the depot to deal with (which is above my head), so it's more important for them to take that into account.

I completely get what you're saying, Carl, about picking a goal, and shooting based on the pre-shot, while taking into account what that pre-shot came from, and that's a very helpful way to think about it.

I'm *hopeful* that with some more trial and error, and some more time, I'll be able to come up with an Eddie-specific protocol. :-D I do think, thanks to Sue, and reading *A LOT* of information on the board, and studying other SS's, that I feel a heck of a lot more confident in dosing now than I did even a week ago, and I'm even comfortable with a bit more aggressive approach, since I test as much as I do. Thankfully, Eddie's a very good patient.

Thank you so much Carl for your input! Seeing a variety of approaches to this, and also understanding *why* someone has used one approach versus another is so incredibly helpful in understanding this process.

Giving shots, testing, making a spreadsheet, picking out appropriate food...that's the easy part for me! Wrapping my head around the concepts behind why doing "X" results in "Y" (sometimes anyway), is the hard part! "why, why, why" :smile:

Jen and Eddie
 
I've always been better at the sciences rather than the arts, so not being able to see an exact scientific formula here is so darn hard! ;-)
Ha, I'm the opposite. I was never a fan of science really, but the whole FD experience made me want to understand the illness as well as I could. Not close to "there" yet though. Unfortunately, I don't think there is any "exact" formula to be found. It really helped me to "get" that insulin doesn't act like a "drug". Like a pain killer for instance. If you take one, it does "X" for you, so you'd figure taking two would do twice as much? Insulin is a hormone, and it doesn't seem like 1 + 1 = 2. Heck, most days 1 doesn't equal 1. :lol:

If you have an hour to kill, here's something I posted a long time ago while I was "studying". If nothing else, it'll cause you to chuckle a time or two.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=24&t=67645
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top