1/30 CRYSTAL 297 AMPS +3 320 +4.5 324

Status
Not open for further replies.

suki & crystal (GA)

Member Since 2014
Good morning all,

Day 4 for Crystal on Levemir and had a yellow AMPS this morning. Have to go out for a couple of hours so will not be able to test again until this afternoon. Crystal is fine, weather is foul so all kitties curled up for a nap, sounds a good idea.
 
At least you are seeing yellow instead of pink. Come on Crystal work the new insulin. Good
luck, Peg and Toby
 
Nice to see yellow this AM but ouch on the +9.5 test! I wonder if she's bouncing. You might have to change your testing patterns a bit on Levemir. It has a later onset and nadir than Lantus. We still have to figure out exactly when those are for Crystal, but the typical onset is around +4. Toby is earlier, Neko is later. But it means that if they are high at preshot, the +2 test doesn't tell you very much. I tend to do less tests in the first half of the cycle and more in the latter half of the cycle. You don't do many tests in the last half of the night cycle. I wonder if maybe moving her shot times back a bit so you are up an hour or so before AMPS would help with getting those later tests at night?

Looks like time for an increase again tomorrow. Paws crossed for even more yellow.
 
Hi Wendy, I have about 30 minutes to go before PMPS at 18.00 so hope she's come down by then. I usually do my morning shot at 06.00 and stay up quite late (not a good sleeper, must be my age) usually roundabout midnight or later - so what sort of timing would you suggest, bringing the morning forward to 05.00 (grim)?
 
One thing, if I remember correctly, that Sandy told me about IAA (which I know we don't know if Crystal has) is that the nadir can move around. Don't know why. It's very frustrating.

Cobb nadired late on Lev. We knew there would be some action, based on his +2 or +3 -- if it were lower than the PS -- but if it were pretty much the same, I was confident in leaving him without testing in the first half of the cycle. Crystal may have a similar pattern. Time will tell :cool:
 
Thanks for popping in Suzanne, always good to hear from one of my "mentors". I too can't believe it's been a week without CoBb but sounds as if he is still hanging around checking you are all okay, bless him.

Yes it is a bit frustrating at the moment trying to see some sort of pattern, but she seems okay in herself although I know these high numbers aren't good for her, planned increase tomorrow morning so we'll see if that has any effect.
Take care
 
I have about 30 minutes to go before PMPS at 18.00 so hope she's come down by then. I usually do my morning shot at 06.00 and stay up quite late (not a good sleeper, must be my age) usually roundabout midnight or later - so what sort of timing would you suggest, bringing the morning forward to 05.00 (grim)?
No, I meant going the other way. If you typically get up at 6, then if your PS time is 8:00/20:00, you'll be able to get a +3/+4 before bed, and a +10 in the morning. I would wait until you get a clearer idea of where her Lev nadir is, to see if that makes sense. It's not so important now, but it will be when you start getting lower numbers.

It's not just with IAA kitties, but yes, IAA kitty nadirs can move around. Those insulin antibodies can release the captured insulin at the most inconvenient times. On Lev, Neko's nadir is most commonly at +9 to +12, but I've seen as early as +5 and as late as +15.
 
Okay Wendy, I understood. Might be a bit difficult for the 8 pm test, we don't go out that much but when we do it's usually about 7 pm, especially in the summer. So for the moment I will leave it as it stands, but if I get up in the night for a loo run, I can always do a test then. I wish she would read the protocol!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top