1/30 Asia AMPS 336, +2 265, +5 168, +11 163, PMPS 101, Asia ATE the pill!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Stacy & Asia

Member Since 2017
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/1-29-asia-amps-353.190378/

Whole lotta pinks yesterday. I’m not waiting to see more, she’s got a lot going on and no doubt that is affecting her numbers, but I’d rather support her with more insulin in the meantime because I can monitor. These numbers are just consistently trending higher since all this antibiotics business.

Asia is happy this morning, she hasn’t been having many good days recently, so I’m ecstatic that she is a bright eyed and vocal purr monster at the moment! :cat:

Continue to give cerenia daily and she continues to eat, yay!

Toki is eating! I’m giving her smaller more frequent meals until her tummy can handle food without the pukas. She has to take her pill twice a day and thankfully, she is a cheese fiend. Instead of using pill pockets, I got some American “cheese” (is it really cheese, though) and molded it into 3 balls and rolled the balls in parm. I call them Toki truffles. I gave her 2 blanks and one with the pill, she ate them! Hopefully she won’t catch on and take a chomp into the nasty bitter pill, but it worked this morning and that’s one less thing to stress over! Woohoo!
 
I'm glad Asia is happy and purry this morning. Good luck with the dosecrease. I'm glad Toki is eating for you. I hope the cheese trick keeps working with the pill. Sending prayers.
 
Good luck with Asia's increase. I hope it will do the trick. Speaking of tricks: you have hit on a good one by serving up "blanks" as well as "loaded". I hope Toki continues to enjoy her treats. "American cheese". Is that "Velveeta"? I remember it as particularly rubbery and easy to ball up. The boys in the school cafeteria used to make little cheese balls with it and launch them from knife blades. The teachers were not impressed.
 
Love the report for both girls today, despite the numbers!! Good luck with the increase...work it safely, Asia!! "Toki Truffles" gave me a good LOL!!!
 
Nice to hear some good news for your kitties! Hope they both continue to feel better and better. Oh, think how boring our lives would be without cat health issues... I kinda like boring! :rolleyes:
 
Good luck with Asia's increase. I hope it will do the trick. Speaking of tricks: you have hit on a good one by serving up "blanks" as well as "loaded". I hope Toki continues to enjoy her treats. "American cheese". Is that "Velveeta"? I remember it as particularly rubbery and easy to ball up. The boys in the school cafeteria used to make little cheese balls with it and launch them from knife blades. The teachers were not impressed.

Velveeta is in a similar class on non cheese for sure, but this is the kraft slices of "American processed cheese food" whatever that is! :joyful: It is very easy to ball up. That is too funny about the cheese ball wars! I'd rather one of those land on me anyway over a wad of tissue covered in spit! :p
 
Velveeta is in a similar class on non cheese for sure, but this is the kraft slices of "American processed cheese food" whatever that is! :joyful: It is very easy to ball up. That is too funny about the cheese ball wars! I'd rather one of those land on me anyway over a wad of tissue covered in spit! :p
One of my childhood kitties LOVED Kraft Singles, and only Kraft Singles. If we tried to slip her an inferior brand, she'd turn her nose up :joyful::cat:!
 
One of my childhood kitties LOVED Kraft Singles, and only Kraft Singles. If we tried to slip her an inferior brand, she'd turn her nose up :joyful::cat:!

Too funny, cats sure are particular! Toki has never had kraft slices before that I know of, but she's never met a cheese she didn't love. My girls sometimes get those pretzel bites with a dipping sauce and she loves that cheese dipping sauce and has tipped over a trash can just to fish one out and lick it clean! Kraft slices just seemed like the most moldable pill pocket type of cheese, so I got some to try and it works! I will be sure to buy only kraft lest we have inferior Toki truffles! :joyful:
 
I'm jealous Toki likes cheese like that. Our civvie, Zen, needed pills a few years back and he is a beast to medicate - much like Ella's Rusty, it really is almost impossible. I don't eat dairy, but I got a couple slices of cheese from my Mom to wrap Zen's pills in. Since he'd never had cheese before, he was VERY untrusting of whatever that strange stuff was I was trying to feed him - he wouldn't touch it for anything :rolleyes::joyful:! (This cheese attempt was after he bit into the pill in an "official" pill pocket.)
 
I'm jealous Toki likes cheese like that. Our civvie, Zen, needed pills a few years back and he is a beast to medicate - much like Ella's Rusty, it really is almost impossible. I don't eat dairy, but I got a couple slices of cheese from my Mom to wrap Zen's pills in. Since he'd never had cheese before, he was VERY untrusting of whatever that strange stuff was I was trying to feed him - he wouldn't touch it for anything :rolleyes::joyful:! (This cheese attempt was after he bit into the pill in an "official" pill pocket.)

Zen is clever, you fooled him once with the pill pockets, that cheese is totally suspect! o_O

Zen, Rusty and Asia are of the same ilk. I'd much rather Asia be the cheese fiend since she's needing more meds these days and wrestle a Toki for a grand total of 7 days than the other way around. I'm certain Asia will never "get used to" or become complacent with pilling. I hate myself a little bit each day at pill time. :(
 
Cerenia question for those that give daily or as part of a long term maintenance regime. How much do you give and how much does your cat weigh? I have a bottle of the injectable (10 mg/mL) and I give Asia .8 mL daily, she weighs about 10lbs. .8 is what my vet said was a big dose to get things under control, but I could play around with it. I have no idea how acute her nausea is/was not interested in finding out just yet given her kidney infection/pain and being on antibiotics. But I would like to not give her as much if it’s not needed. I gave her .6 mL today and we will see how that goes. I just wanted to see how much others give and how often.
 
I feel for you...pilling any kitty is stressful; pilling a feisty kitty is really tough.

Trix used to get Cerenia every day; however I used tablets with her. She got 4mg every day for probably close to 2 years. She was actually on it longer than 2 years, but initially it was every 48 hours, then every 36 hours, then finally every 24 hours - all tolled, about 3 years. As her CKD progressed, she needed the increased frequency. She was under 10lbs most of that time - probably in the 8lb-ish range, but she was 11lbs when we first started with Cerenia...her weight crept down over time, though.
 
That +11 seems really out of place. Going to feed a bit of Karo just in case she really did drop 60+ points in an hour.
 
I LOVE your blank and loaded cheese trick! This one over here is impossible to pill and loves cheese too--but always seems to know what I'm up to! Little brat :smuggrin: I'll place this tip in my holster and pull it out when needed! Glad to hear Asia seeming to be a happy girl today. Keep on keepin' on!
 
Cerenia question for those that give daily or as part of a long term maintenance regime. How much do you give and how much does your cat weigh? I have a bottle of the injectable (10 mg/mL) and I give Asia .8 mL daily, she weighs about 10lbs. .8 is what my vet said was a big dose to get things under control,
I have seen the injectible dosing as 1 mg/kg of cat. Asia would be 4.5 kg. Dosing for the pill (oral) is twice as much. Neko was 6 kg, and got 4mg/day of pill. I found out later I could have increased her dose, but she was also on ondansetron.

Love the "cheese" treats. I once took a course with someone who managed a food production line for "manufactured food product". She told the class we didn't want to know what it went into. :eek:o_O
 
I have seen the injectible dosing as 1 mg/kg of cat. Asia would be 4.5 kg. Dosing for the pill (oral) is twice as much. Neko was 6 kg, and got 4mg/day of pill. I found out later I could have increased her dose, but she was also on ondansetron.

Love the "cheese" treats. I once took a course with someone who managed a food production line for "manufactured food product". She told the class we didn't want to know what it went into. :eek:o_O

I’m hopelessly lost and confused with all these conversions from weight units to liquid units. Would that be .45 mL then or no? I know some of these meds are necessary and helpful, but I’d rather give her the just enough dose than the too much one, especially considering many of them have to go through her kidneys.

Ew, I don’t want to know either! :joyful: As long as the cats take their meds, processed cheese food is a-ok over here for now! ;) My girls watched a tv show once about how chicken nuggets are made when they were under 8 years old, they’ve not eaten one since! :joyful:
 
Am I mistaking in saying cerenia injection burns? That's why we do pills. My DH is a pro in pilling the beast. So if I'm mistaken please correct.

It does burn, but I was given the tip by the vet to keep it in the fridge, it doesn’t need refrigeration, but it cuts the sting. Asia either doesn’t notice at all or only at the very last bit.
 
It does burn, but I was given the tip by the vet to keep it in the fridge, it doesn’t need refrigeration, but it cuts the sting. Asia either doesn’t notice at all or only at the very last bit.
Ok as long as I'm not going crazy. We used the frig trick too but got the worse hisses and growls we have ever heard. No more for phoebster.
 
I LOVE your blank and loaded cheese trick! This one over here is impossible to pill and loves cheese too--but always seems to know what I'm up to! Little brat :smuggrin: I'll place this tip in my holster and pull it out when needed! Glad to hear Asia seeming to be a happy girl today. Keep on keepin' on!

Asia can’t chew because she doesn’t have enough teeth, so that’s easy. I was/am worried Toki will chomp in to the one with the pill, but so far, so good, it hasn’t happened yet. As soon as she does, she will be on to me though! :facepalm:
 
Yes, .45ml would be 4.5 mg since the concentration is 10mg/ml. Welcome to metric math. ;)

The metric system doesn’t bother me at all, I’m a fan actually, wish this country would get with the program because it just makes a lot more sense. It’s solid/weight vs liquid measurements that confuse me, because they shouldn’t equate. o_O
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top