1/3 Zener PMPS dosecrease 437;+1 528;~2 326;~3 335;+5 318

Status
Not open for further replies.

Anne & Zener GA

Member Since 2011
Yesterday
Alpha Trak to Relion Micro switch
1/2/2012
AMPS 357 (Relion micro 342), 6th cycle at 1.5u, 1.6oz 8%
+1 303 (Relion micro 274), 0.6oz 8%, 2 drops honey, 1/4 PP, 2.5mg pepcid
+2.5 231 (Relion micro 186), 0.6oz 8%, 2 drops honey
+3.5 171 relion micro, 0.6oz 8%
+6 147 relion micro, 0.60z 8%
+7 0.1mL Bupe, FDCK
+9.5 3/4PP with 3mg Zobaline, FDCK
PMPS 227, 7th cycle @1.5u, 1.4oz 8%
+1 293, 0.6oz 8%
+2 197, 0.8oz 8% + 1 drop honey
+3 202, 0.9oz 8%
+5 163, 0.9oz 8%
overnight: 0.9oz 8%


Today Zener - Relion Micro unless noted otherwise
1/3/2012
AMPS 365, 8th cycle at 1.5u, 1.6oz 8%
+1 371, 0.6oz 8%

Good morning LL! Zener is doing fine this morning. His appy is great. He is an honorary member of the CPC but he's not a full-fledged member like Mannie and punkin. The bupe is definitely helping. Our regular vet said the pancreas test was normal (fPL test was fine) and she had no idea what could be causing his pain. So we have an appointment for Friday with a second vet to see if she has any ideas.

We got an email from our pet communicator and she said the diabetes is affecting his stomach and asked if he had been vomiting (no vomiting that we've seen). His appetite is on and off (seems to be correlated with the bupe to me). The dental was hard on him but necessary. Any ideas about any of this?

She also said "Remember to deep breathe and get centered when you get scared about his health. Especially when you realize that you can only work with the problem but cannot really solve it." I guess that goes with Zener's advice to pet more and worry less. :lol: :lol: Zener found some nice blues yesterday so we are going to hold at this dose and see what happens. He is definitely feeling better since Sunday night.

Thinking of Isil and Tifil today, beans who have lost their fur babies recently, and others who are ailing.
Liz
 
Re: 1/3 Zener AMPS 365;+1 371

Yay for good appy and CPC! Come on down to flat yellow Zener! Tarragon seems to think it is pretty fun there right now.

Wow on the animal communicator comments! I remember Pat (Raja & Shadow) saying once that she noticed Shadow seemed to slump a little when she tested his BG. She would test Raja and Raja's numbers are usually better and her expression would be happy when looking at the meter. Then, when she tested Shadow, she caught him watching her as she read the meter and her reaction was frustration. That was a turning point for me and my reaction to any testing for T. I guess my whole point in that was that the kitties sure are more aware of our anxiety than I ever thought. That must be why Zener told you to pet more and worry less. Sweet boy.

Have a great day Liz & Anne!!
 
Re: 1/3 Zener AMPS 365;+1 371;+2 320

Hi guys .. very interesting post Melissa .. I know our girls can definitely tell when we don't feel good, they must certainly be able to tell when we get numbers we either love or hate .. Never thought of that before .. Anyways, glad to hear Zener is feeling better and that his appy has returned .. good job little man! Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 1/3 Zener AMPS 365;+1 371;+2 320

Feeling better and a decent appy is great! I hope he is starting on the road that leads to better numbers. The +2 is a good drop. Get it steady Zener.

I like the comments on our attitude when testing. Weezer may be looking in any direction during pokie, but as soon as I put the meter to her ear, she looks me right in the eye and holds it until I get the readout.
 
Re: 1/3 Zener AMPS 365;+1 371;+2 320

I kinda figured our kitties knew how we were feeling about FD. When Leo got his bout of pancreatitis I started worrying big time always so scared it would happen again, then pretty soon I started noticing he was starting to dislike coming home with me. I put 2 and 2 together and started trying to worry less and make it more fun for him to be home with me. Now, everything is back to normal and he's happy to be home again. Zener has some good advice to pet more and worry less, he's a very wise kitty.

I saw yesterday's comment about the Betty ford feline center and had to LOL :lol: :lol:

I hope the Z man comes down for y'all today!
 
Re: 1/3 Zener AMPS 365;+1 371;+2 320;+3 385;+6 402 dose?

Anne taking over for Liz, who is out for a run. bcatrun_gif

Today Zener - Relion Micro unless noted otherwise
1/3/2012
AMPS 365, 8th cycle at 1.5u, 1.6oz 8%
+1 371, 0.6oz 8%
+2 320, 0.6oz 8% + 2 drops honey, 1/4PP with 2.5mg pepcid
+3 385, 0.6oz 8%
+5 0.1mL Bupe, 0.65oz 8%
+6 402, 0.5oz 8%

Looks like he may be bouncing off the blues but not sure. We are still not back up to the dose we were at before his appetite disappeared and frankly, are a little nervous to increase, worried that his appy could disappear again. The "emergency" syringe feeding episode scared us both. nailbite_smile But, we don't like these high numbers on a regular basis either, what a conundrum! Would love eyes on his SS and any ideas or input on his dose. There is a link below to his new 2012 SS with the relion meter as well as his 2011 SS with the alpha trak.

We are taking him to a more "cat interested" vet in town on Friday to see if we can find a source for what seems to be recurrent pain for a second opinion. Our regular vet, who we really like, seems stumped. The vet we are going to on Fri works at the only 24 hour emergency clinic in town, so if we had a night or weekend emergency we would go here. At least we will get established here for future emergency care, paws crossed we don't need it!

@Lisa - we are all in agreement about the pinks (and worse) and love the blues (and better)!

@Melissa & T - flat yellows would be lovely! The AC comments we read here are fascinating. And we regularly check in with our AC since Zener's diagnosis. We always learn something helpful. We plan to chat with the vet on Friday about options for treating nausea.

@Devon - I reckon these kitties know lots more than we can imagine! We are working on reminding ourselves to love on him no matter the numbers.

@Linda - having a decent appy is a real relief for the beans. And we are doing our best to follow Zener's guidance on pet more, worry less. We are taking more time petting and loving on him both before and after testing, no matter the numbers. The big guy is doing his very best!

@Tracy - Zener is a wise kitty. He has handled his congenital disability with such grace and optimism. We are trying to follow his lead! Right now he is on 0.1mL of Bupe 1x/day, so hopefully rehab will not be in his future! :lol:

My condo visiting is still limited as the less time I spend in "visual stimulation" the better I still seem to feel. Thank goodness I discovered audio books! :roll:
 
Re: 1/3 Zener AMPS 365;+1 371;+2 320;+3 385;+6 402 dose?

We are still not back up to the dose we were at before his appetite disappeared and frankly, are a little nervous to increase, worried that his appy could disappear again.
hi there! you asked for thoughts...
the higher numbers were to be expected after backing the dose down. yes, it will take more insulin to pull zener's numbers down, but increasing the dose is a decision no one can make for you. if you increase and he loses his appy again you may have to resort to syringe feeding. that's why no one can make the decision for you.

something i should probably mention...
oftentimes when momentum is lost you'll have to surpass the last good dose in order to get back where you were.
 
Re: 1/3 Zener AMPS 365;+1 371;+2 320;+3 385;+6 402 dose?

Thank you Jill, just the thoughts we needed! We will discuss our dose plan tonight. Does this look like a bounce to you or is it just not enough insulin? His last good dose was a s1.75 so perhaps back up to 1.75?
 
Re: 1/3 Zener AMPS 365;+1 371;+2 320;+3 385;+6 402 dose?

Hi Anne and Liz, sorry to see Zener up there so high again. I sure hope another set of eyes and hands from this other vet can shed some light. Good luck with dosecrease decisions. I always worry when I go up too. Jetta went up by over half a unit before we broke through this last time, so I agree with what Jill said.
 
Re: 1/3 Zener AMPS 365;+1 371;+2 320;+3 385;+6 402 dose?

Good luck with the Vet on Friday for a second opinion on Zener's recurring pain, so sorry to hear Zener is still not up to par. Anne, hope you feel better soon, too.
 
Re: 1/3 Zener AMPS 365;+1 371;+2 320;+3 385;+6 402 dose?

Evening! Looks like a bounce from those blues..I Know what you Mean with the Anxiety level & the cat's behavior..Moonie can read me so so well, & I have definitely been anxious enough to raise her BGs many times!!--When I test her, I always tell her she is such a good girl, but when I miss a poke or her ear wont bleed, I usually cuss or moan till I can try again! She knows that too...

Did Zener have xrays after the dental?? Moonie had 2 dentals & had canines removed during both--
I only ask because after one of the surgeries, she started doing a weird chewing with her mouth sometimes for a second?(I think it was her 1st with the evil vet) I always wondered if the dental had caused that?
Whatever you decide, we support you!! Good luck with the vetty appt--Hope it helps a lot! Hugs & Lubs from us.
 
Re: 1/3 Zener PMPS 437 dosecrease

With numbers like this and re-found appy, we decided to put on our courage knickers and increase his dose tonight. We increased a bit above his last good dose thanks to Jill's expert advice.
Today Zener - Relion Micro
1/3/2012
AMPS 365, 8th cycle at 1.5u, 1.6oz 8%
+1 371, 0.6oz 8%
+2 320, 0.6oz 8% + 2 drops honey, 1/4PP with 2.5mg pepcid
+3 385, 0.6oz 8%
+5 0.1mL Bupe, 0.65oz 8%
+6 402, 0.5oz 8%
+10 FDCK
PMPS 437, 1st dose @1.75u, 2.15oz 8%

@Jaq - thanks for the info on Jetta's latest breakthrough. Paws crossed this new juice is helpful for Zener too. :?

@Ann & Maggie - Zener feels much better even when on a small amount of Bupe once a day, so we are interested to see what the cat vet says on Friday. We will keep everyone posted on the results of our visit. I am making small improvements and go back to the people vet on Thursday for a recheck. ;-)

We have paws crossed more juice will bring the big guy's numbers down, and are grateful he is asking for food again! :-D Currently, the big guy is outside in his backyard doing his big business. Not expecting to see much this cycle, and perhaps some NDW. We will test often early in his cycle and see what happens. Hope all in LL have a quiet and peaceful evening!
 
Re: 1/3 Zener PMPS dosecrease 437

I was going to say the last best dose,as Jill advised, but you did it all by yourself!!
This could be the breakthrough dose, paws & fingers crossed!--Great Job.. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/3 Zener AMPS 365;+1 371;+2 320;+3 385;+6 402 dose?

Roni and Moonie said:
Evening! Looks like a bounce from those blues..I Know what you Mean with the Anxiety level & the cat's behavior..Moonie can read me so so well, & I have definitely been anxious enough to raise her BGs many times!!--When I test her, I always tell her she is such a good girl, but when I miss a poke or her ear wont bleed, I usually cuss or moan till I can try again! She knows that too...
I must have been posting when you were Roni! We were wondering about a bounce off the blues too and Jill took a look at our SSs and advised it looked like not enough insulin, especially since he had been on a higher dose that we had to decrease only because of his poor appy. So, off we go!

Roni and Moonie said:
Did Zener have xrays after the dental?? Moonie had 2 dentals & had canines removed during both--
I only ask because after one of the surgeries, she started doing a weird chewing with her mouth sometimes for a second?(I think it was her 1st with the evil vet) I always wondered if the dental had caused that?
Whatever you decide, we support you!! Hugs & Libs from us.

Yes, Zener had x-rays post-dental and all was clear. We had the last bit of his stitches removed last week, as they were loose and may have been bugging him. His chewing has increased since his dental with less mouthing and swallowing. Thanks for your support on whatever our decisions!
 
Re: 1/3 Zener PMPS dosecrease 437

Good luck with the dosecrease! So glad to hear Zener is eating well again, and hopefully Friday's vetty visit will shed light on the pain issue. Glad to hear you're doing better, too, Anne!

Have a great night!
 
Re: 1/3 Zener PMPS dosecrease 437;+1 528;+2.5 326

Every now and then (like now), pink looks pretty good! :lol:
PMPS 437, 1st dose @1.75u, 2.15oz 8%
+1 528 UGH, 0.8oz 8%
+2.5 326, 0.8oz 8% & 3/4PP with 3 mg Zobaline

@Amy - thanks for the good wishes for Zener and me too! :-D
 
Re: 1/3 Zener PMPS dosecrease 437;+1 528;+2.5 326

Hi Guys,
Thinking of you tonight and wishing you luck with Zener's dosecrease. It worked for Rusty this fall. I learned the lesson that it is what is happening now that you deal with. When the kitty loses momentum, it is time to increase. The old saying is that "sometimes you have to go up to come down".

Glad that Zener is feeling better in general and we hope that you can find the answer for his pain. It's good you're going to get another vet's opinion.

Have a good evening. Anne, we hope that you are feeling better.
Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 1/3 Zener PMPS dosecrease 437;+1 528;+2.5 326

*snickers* ya made me laugh liz, with the comment about the brazilian. working around teenagers whose #1 interest is anything remotely sexually related, or anything that with innuendo could be MADE to look like it could possibly sexually related . . . well, what can i say. i've been warped. :lol:

interesting comments about the AC, i'd never heard of it before i came here, but a lot of the comments seem logical. anya would probably say punkin gets too much attention, and she'd be right. what can ya do, though, when one is sick?

hope this new dose is better for zener without affecting his appetite. i'll be curious about your experience with the new vet. our new one is the ER clinic as well - and i was thinking that wasn't a bad idea, just in case.
 
Re: 1/3 Zener PMPS dosecrease 437;+1 528;+2.5 326

Good luck with the new dose!! Hope this brings his numbers back down and he continues to eat. He's had a time of it lately but
he has the BEST beans!!

Great that his fPLI came back normal. Good luck with the new vet on Friday!
 
Re: 1/3 Zener PMPS dosecrease 437;+1 528;~2 326;~3 335;+5 31

It's a flat low pinky surf after the color that cannot be typed.
PMPS 437, 1st dose @1.75u, 2.15oz 8%
+1 528 UGH, 0.8oz 8%
+2.5 326, 0.8oz 8% & 3/4PP with 3 mg Zobaline
+3.5 334, 1.0oz 8%
+5 318, 1.0oz 8%

@Ella - thanks for the reminder of "sometimes you have to go up to come down." That's exactly what was happening before the dental, so here we go again! :roll:

@Julie - we're glad to know we aren't the only warped cat owners! :lol: he is eating like a lumberjack and without any appy stimulant or fortiflora on his food. It's like we have an alien zener pod. :lol:

@Marje - we are mostly hoping he continues to eat so well. It makes it much easier to relax with dosecreases! He has had a time of it and never complains. Thank you for your kind words. Our AC says Zener complains of his stomach bothering him at times - not sure if it's pain or nausea. We were delighted his fPLI came back normal and are anxious to see if the new vet has any ideas on his pain source.

I am gradually feeling better with periods during the day without feeling dizzy or like a power boat is in my head. Had been hoping to get a jump start on the semester and instead spending a lot of time just doing nothing but sleeping. At least I have a fancy diagnosis to justify my lazing around. ;-)

Ni ni LL. I-) I-) I-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top