1/3 Xander - AMPS 134 +5 157 PMPS 90 +3 60 +3.5 71

Albert & Xander

Member Since 2025
I just wanted to give a quick update on Xander.

Yesterday he ate really well, above average. But after his +9 snack and 3rd cerenia dose, he threw up a hairball along with the food. This morning he wasn't eating that great so the vet wanted him to come in for a checkup. He was very dehydrated, so they gave 200ml sub q fluids, a cerenia injection, and mirataz on his ear. They want me to come back Monday for a follow up to see if he is improving or should be admitted for more intensive hydration. Hopefully the meds and fluids turn him around tonight. He seems restless, not sure if that's from the mirataz or the stress of the vet today. He did surprisingly well at the vet for not having a dose of gabapentin before hand. Other than that, he seems very normal, even playing right before we left for the vet.
Maybe I can also ask if I can give the fluids at home rather than admitting him, if still needed Monday. I really don't think he would take well to that, or eat his food without me. They also suggested Hill's ID prescription digestive care food, but I expressed my hesitancy to try due to his finickyness as well as the high carb content.

I was sent home with a tube of mirataz as well as ondansetron if I feel its needed.
 
I just wanted to give a quick update on Xander.

Yesterday he ate really well, above average. But after his +9 snack and 3rd cerenia dose, he threw up a hairball along with the food. This morning he wasn't eating that great so the vet wanted him to come in for a checkup. He was very dehydrated, so they gave 200ml sub q fluids, a cerenia injection, and mirataz on his ear. They want me to come back Monday for a follow up to see if he is improving or should be admitted for more intensive hydration. Hopefully the meds and fluids turn him around tonight. He seems restless, not sure if that's from the mirataz or the stress of the vet today. He did surprisingly well at the vet for not having a dose of gabapentin before hand. Other than that, he seems very normal, even playing right before we left for the vet.
Maybe I can also ask if I can give the fluids at home rather than admitting him, if still needed Monday. I really don't think he would take well to that, or eat his food without me. They also suggested Hill's ID prescription digestive care food, but I expressed my hesitancy to try due to his finickyness as well as the high carb content.

I was sent home with a tube of mirataz as well as ondansetron if I feel its needed.
Hi Albert, thanks for the update. We’ve been thinking about you and Xander.

Glad they gave him some fluids, hopefully that will help him feel better.

You have more Cerenia at home, right? I would keep up with that each day if he’s still off his normal.
And you can try the ondansetron if you think he’s nauseous.

I’m glad to hear he. Shaved at the vet. Good boy, buddy 💓
Sending you lots of healing vines 🍀🍀🍀🍀🍃🍃🍃🍃💓💓💓
 
Aww thank you! :bighug:

He kept following me around the house, so I gave him a bit of food and he gobbled it up. Outside of his usual eating hours, but shouldn't affect his sugar too much. So glad it seems to be working!

I do have cerenia. I'm going to continue to give him a dose tomorrow as well as another dose of mirataz.
 
Question for those who give mirataz:

What do you use to wipe their ears? How long after application do you wipe them?
 
Some wipe them the next day, and alternate ears each time. I personally just took a warm, wet washcloth to the ears, but others used specialty cat wipes. My girl seemed fine with how I did it though. I've used that way for putting both Mirataz and Methimazole on the skin.
And since you're used to needle pokes, giving subq should be a breeze. To make myself feel better, I studied some diagrams of cat anatomy. It showed that there's nothing major in going to hit, in putting the needle and fluid in that area. Which made me feel much better about doing it.
It's weird. My cat Angel did the Exact same as yours. Ate amazingly yesterday and even that night for once. Then had a hairball this morning around 5 or 6, and then the up some of her food shortly after. Hasn't eaten as well today. They need to get out of this funk asap
 
1/1 Xander AMPS 157 +3 76 +4 77

I missed your report that he's not been feeling well! Poor buddy!! Are they thinking it's pancreatitis??? Why is he dehydrated?

Are you putting water into his food to help with dehydration?

Is the Ondansetron the quick melt version? That's what Jude has, and I melt it in a few drops of warm water, put it in a syringe, and give it to him in the side of his mouth. He HATES it, but it's such a small amount that it's all over quickly. We give Mirataz too--the transdermal. His agitation could be from that. You might try giving a reduced dose--that's what I've done with Jude, and it works, just not for as long, so you'll need to time the onset with his mealtime/shot time. I wipe Jude's ear with a warm washcloth.

Giving sub-qs is a bit of a learning curve, but not too difficult. If you decide to do it, I recommend two things: Terumo needles and a pole for the bag. The needles (and I would search Tanya's CKD site for the best size gauge) are super sharp and they slide in very easily (worth the extra $). The other thing is the bag pole--they aren't expensive, and they allow you to move around to the places where Xander is resting to administer the fluids. People also use the shower rod to hold the bag, but I just found the bag pole so much easier.
 
Aww thank you! :bighug:

He kept following me around the house, so I gave him a bit of food and he gobbled it up. Outside of his usual eating hours, but shouldn't affect his sugar too much. So glad it seems to be working!

I do have cerenia. I'm going to continue to give him a dose tomorrow as well as another dose of mirataz.
Wipe the ear (I used witch hazel) And apply to the opposite ear next day. Let each ear have a rest so no irritation)

And wear a latex glove or finger cot on your finger. You can absorb it in your skin if you don’t protect your finger!

Hope he continues to improve 💕💕
 
1/1 Xander AMPS 157 +3 76 +4 77

I missed your report that he's not been feeling well! Poor buddy!! Are they thinking it's pancreatitis??? Why is he dehydrated?

Are you putting water into his food to help with dehydration?

Is the Ondansetron the quick melt version? That's what Jude has, and I melt it in a few drops of warm water, put it in a syringe, and give it to him in the side of his mouth. He HATES it, but it's such a small amount that it's all over quickly. We give Mirataz too--the transdermal. His agitation could be from that. You might try giving a reduced dose--that's what I've done with Jude, and it works, just not for as long, so you'll need to time the onset with his mealtime/shot time. I wipe Jude's ear with a warm washcloth.

Giving sub-qs is a bit of a learning curve, but not too difficult. If you decide to do it, I recommend two things: Terumo needles and a pole for the bag. The needles (and I would search Tanya's CKD site for the best size gauge) are super sharp and they slide in very easily (worth the extra $). The other thing is the bag pole--they aren't expensive, and they allow you to move around to the places where Xander is resting to administer the fluids. People also use the shower rod to hold the bag, but I just found the bag pole so much easier.
Where do you get the quick melts Mary?
@Mary & Jude
 
1/1 Xander AMPS 157 +3 76 +4 77

I missed your report that he's not been feeling well! Poor buddy!! Are they thinking it's pancreatitis??? Why is he dehydrated?

Are you putting water into his food to help with dehydration?

Is the Ondansetron the quick melt version? That's what Jude has, and I melt it in a few drops of warm water, put it in a syringe, and give it to him in the side of his mouth. He HATES it, but it's such a small amount that it's all over quickly. We give Mirataz too--the transdermal. His agitation could be from that. You might try giving a reduced dose--that's what I've done with Jude, and it works, just not for as long, so you'll need to time the onset with his mealtime/shot time. I wipe Jude's ear with a warm washcloth.

Giving sub-qs is a bit of a learning curve, but not too difficult. If you decide to do it, I recommend two things: Terumo needles and a pole for the bag. The needles (and I would search Tanya's CKD site for the best size gauge) are super sharp and they slide in very easily (worth the extra $). The other thing is the bag pole--they aren't expensive, and they allow you to move around to the places where Xander is resting to administer the fluids. People also use the shower rod to hold the bag, but I just found the bag pole so much easier.

His PLI test came back 12/31 at 13.2 and he was diagnosed with pancreatitis (I gotta add that to my signature now). Im guessing the dehydration is coming from the reduced eating lately as well as the 2 vomits he's had so far. He doesn't drink other than from his food, and doesn't really tolerate soupy food.

I think the ondansetron is the regular kind, but he's not too bad with pills. After his mouth foaming incident with the cerenia, I bought a pack of gel capsules and he barely notices I pilled him now. I don't think he'll need it, the mirataz seems to be working A LOT. He's been super focused on acquiring food since we left the vet.

If he continues to eat well tonight, I think ill try adding some additional water to his meals.

Thank you for the advice!
 
His PLI test came back 12/31 at 13.2 and he was diagnosed with pancreatitis (I gotta add that to my signature now). Im guessing the dehydration is coming from the reduced eating lately as well as the 2 vomits he's had so far. He doesn't drink other than from his food, and doesn't really tolerate soupy food.

I think the ondansetron is the regular kind, but he's not too bad with pills. After his mouth foaming incident with the cerenia, I bought a pack of gel capsules and he barely notices I pilled him now. I don't think he'll need it, the mirataz seems to be working A LOT. He's been super focused on acquiring food since we left the vet.

If he continues to eat well tonight, I think ill try adding some additional water to his meals.

Thank you for the advice!
I just went back and read most everything. Dang. I missed a couple of days on the forum, and people/cats began falling apart!! I'm so sorry for you and Xander, but I'm glad that you know what's been happening with little mister.

That's great that he's good with pills. Jude is a hard no on pills. Cerenia also comes in transdermal form as well.

Wow. So you're going to need to figure out when he's having these flares, I guess. There is this if you are on Facebook: Log into Facebook

Hang in there buddy. It's good information but it's always stressful when things become more complicated.

Where do you get the quick melts Mary?
@Mary & Jude
Staci, my vet gave them to me 🤷‍♀️ He just said they were quick melting pills that would be easier for me to get into Jude (and they are easier, especially since I can't pill Jude at all).
 
I just went back and read most everything. Dang. I missed a couple of days on the forum, and people/cats began falling apart!! I'm so sorry for you and Xander, but I'm glad that you know what's been happening with little mister.

That's great that he's good with pills. Jude is a hard no on pills. Cerenia also comes in transdermal form as well.

Wow. So you're going to need to figure out when he's having these flares, I guess. There is this if you are on Facebook: Log into Facebook

Hang in there buddy. It's good information but it's always stressful when things become more complicated.


Staci, my vet gave them to me 🤷‍♀️ He just said they were quick melting pills that would be easier for me to get into Jude (and they are easier, especially since I can't pill Jude at all).
It's definitely been a lot for me lately (and im sure Xander as well), but we'll get past it! One the bright side we have some answers now, and it pushed me to finally start making some effort to work on my anxiety/panic disorder that's been building for quite a while.

I'm surprised his numbers have been pretty reasonable lately despite all this (Except for today with the vet stress). I also learned that he's pretty good with the vet and probably doesn't need gaba beforehand anymore. We had to leave right after I called the vet to squeeze him in so didn't have time to dose him, and he acted about the same minus the post-visit recovery from wobbliness.

Once we get past this that will be the next challenge, figuring out when he's having a flare or if it'll pass in a day or two as it has in the past. At least I have the meds on hand now. I'll see Monday if the vet recommends getting the ultrasound done now or waiting a bit.

I'm really impressed by this vet clinic! A lot of money in one week though. But if I can get him eating better, i'll make all that back in wasted Fancy Feast savings 😝
 
Could also be that she is feeling better?? Are they giving her anything for pain?
The vet didn't give anything for pain. I know they're really good at hiding pain, but I haven't seen any evidence of pain such as his facial expressions, behavioral changes, or numbers that have changed recently.

He just ate his first serving really intently. I didn't give him too much at once to make sure his stomach can handle it. I think the mirataz and fluids is exactly what he needed.
 
He's SO HUNGRY tonight. I'm overjoyed that thr mirataz is working, but feel bad that's hes so hungry. I'm not too sure how much they gave him at the vet.

I should probably not do a full dose tomorrow afternoon.
 
Question for those who give mirataz:

What do you use to wipe their ears? How long after application do you wipe them?
I dampen a paper towel with water. I dampen one side and leave the other side dry for wiping the ears dry after I clean them. I clean both ears every morning as I split the dose into both ears. I rub half in one then the rest in the other.
 
Back
Top