1/3 Ruby PMPS 116/+2 96/+4 53/+5 68/+6 70

Katherine&Ruby

Member Since 2020
Yesterday was a day of finicky eating. Realized that Ruby does not like to chew on the stringy pieces of chicken in a lot of Weruva foods and prefers pates. :rolleyes: Maybe the pet store will let me exchange these cans for something else. The vet said her teeth "were not too bad" so I'm hoping the chicken avoidance is a pickiness thing and not a dental thing.

I would hold the dose longer and see how she fares.

@tiffmaxee ?

Bhooma, thanks for your this. This is the direction I was leaning and wanted some more experienced thoughts on the matter. I don't want to rush things unnecessarily and wind up again with reductions that won't hold.

Healing thoughts to all of the sick kitties and hugs to you beans who love them so. Have a beautiful Sunday, everyone! :bighug::bighug:
 
Surf safely, Ruby :cat:

FWIW, my kitties don't like the stringy meat either. They currently eat Wellness Pates (Chicken and Turkey) but note they are veryyyyyy low carb per their website (<1%).

Have a wonderful day, Katherine :bighug:
 
+3 = 57. Fed 1 oz 8% LC and she polished it off in a jiffy. Am resisting the urge to feed her MC. Will see where she is at in a bit.

FWIW, my kitties don't like the stringy meat either. They currently eat Wellness Pates (Chicken and Turkey) but note they are veryyyyyy low carb per their website (<1%).
I hope you can find some LC pates for her that she will enjoy.
[QUOTE="Diane Tyler's Mom, post: 2711493, member: 24974"Tyler will only eat pates also[/QUOTE]

I have an array of Weruva pates she really likes, but I do like to mixed it up with foods containing whole bits of meat rather than processed pates when I can. Somehow I feel like her body would react better to pieces of meat rather than processed pates because that's what she would eat in the wild.

UPDATE: Ruby just projectile vomited her whole +3 meal. This is the first time in a month she has thrown up. She's happily chomping away at a fresh bowl of food now so I hope it was a scarf and barf. Vomiting and being picky about food isn't a good combo. Keeping an eye on all of this.
 
Hopefully it's a case of scarf and barf and the finicky eating just her not liking the non-pate food.

Try giving her a little more food and see if she is interested in eating and keeps it down? Test in 30?
 
Hopefully it's a case of scarf and barf and the finicky eating just her not liking the non-pate food.

Try giving her a little more food and see if she is interested in eating and keeps it down? Test in 30?
Hi Bhooma, I replenished her food after the vomiting and she gobbled it up so I will test her again in a bit.
 
+6 = 55. She refused to eat anything since +4 but just cleaned her bowl so she should be coming up. Looks like she really does want a reducie.

She's seeing good numbers on this dose. Let's wait for a drop below 50 to reduce? Unless you find you are propping her up with HC too often.
 
She's seeing good numbers on this dose. Let's wait for a drop below 50 to reduce? Unless you find you are propping her up with HC too often.
Agreed! I'm trying hard not to prop her up. Not using any HC only MC and at much smaller amounts than I have in the past. I'm feeding her less of the higher percentage LC foods these days and more under 5%.
 
Don't feed and test again in an hour. I would hold the dose. I looked at your SS comments. You are giving her a little HC now and then but it's fine.
Will do! I'm so glad you pointed out my MC/HC misunderstanding. Feel totally silly. :) I have to track down more 10-14.9% carb foods now as I thought I had a good system going on here but I was over doing the carbs. :p Hope that hasn't affected her numbers too much overall. That's my primary concern.
 
+6 = 70. She's flattened out, thank goodness! Just fed her a nice bowl of 4% LC and am headed to bed. Thanks for supporting me, @Bandit's Mom !

Ruby seems to have taken you on a wild goose chase today.
I've been working hard to steer her away from a lime green number but I might have to face the music soon as she seems to be quite persistent today. Have a great day, Katy!
 
Back
Top