1/3 Rosie AMPS 157 +5 97

Status
Not open for further replies.

Carol in Chicago

Member Since 2017
Updated spreadsheet for 2018 and added BW results from yesterday to labs tab. Rose was in to visit the vetty bean again yesterday to re-check the skin abscess that showed up last week and put me in panic mode (until I found out it was just an abscess). Still no clue where it came from, but it is going away with ABs. :facepalm:

BW is confusing me (again). Rose started p-binder 1 month ago to reduce phos. I'm so disappointed to see that it moved down only slightly from 9.4 to 9.1 which is still too high. Does this mean I need to increase the dose? It was 1/2 tsp per day (about 1/16 tsp for each meal / snack).

Previous.
 
Hi Carol and Rosie,
:bighug:
I am no pro but I think it is not too wrong to say "these are the early days" in honesty..
I think you should let some more time to settle it all down - the new p-binder thing , the AB course, etc - and let all of it to start working and then see what with P levels and the BG , too...

BUT, to receive answers about the P binder dose - I'd post separately, maybe in the Main Forum?
or just to rename/ re-title your current post to something more P b. dose related question?
 
From Tanyas ckd site

Controlling Phosphorus Levels with Phosphorus Binders

If your cat will not eat a therapeutic kidney diet, or if his/her phosphorus levels are still too high (over6 mg/dl(US) or 1.9 mmol/L (international)), despite feeding such a diet for a month, products called phosphorus binders are used. These are simply added to the cat's food: they bind with some of the phosphorus in the food in the intestine, thus preventing it from being absorbed and thereby reducing levels of phosphorus in the cat's body.
 
I don't know, but I have a question.
Are you giving the binder with food? As far as I understand you need to give the binder with food, what I don't know is if you need to spread the daily dose over each meal.

Great to see you Gill. Thanks for checking in on us. Happy New Year. Yes. I took the total amount (1/2 tsp) and divided it across all meals and snacks so that some is mixed with all her food. This plan is not flawless, but I thought it would make a more significant improvement. The possible problems I see with my approach are:
Maybe the total amount is too low and should be increased.
I'm still using a high p food (FF). Maybe I should use low p and also add binder.
Maybe the proportions should be adjusted (mix more with a meal less with a snack).
She does "steal" food from others, but this is usually after eating her own (with the binder mixed in).

I think I'm going to increase the binder and then recheck in a few weeks. I had tried other low p foods, but it is hard when there are other cats and stealing is involved. Rosie doesn't play much, but she does get some joy out of thievery. ;)
 
Hi Carol and Rosie,
:bighug:
I am no pro but I think it is not too wrong to say "these are the early days" in honesty..
I think you should let some more time to settle it all down - the new p-binder thing , the AB course, etc - and let all of it to start working and then see what with P levels and the BG , too...

BUT, to receive answers about the P binder dose - I'd post separately, maybe in the Main Forum?
or just to rename/ re-title your current post to something more P b. dose related question?

Thanks Tanya. Happy New Year to you and your family! I'm not patient enough to wait, so I'll make an increase based on what I know so far and re-check. It is funny, when I was at the vet yesterday the subject of diabetes didn't even come up, and her BG was normal in the BW. We are now on to tougher problems...
 
S
Great to see you Gill. Thanks for checking in on us. Happy New Year.
Happy New Year to you too.:bighug::bighug::bighug:

Rosie doesn't play much, but she does get some joy out of thievery. ;)
Sounds like George. I have to be the food police at dinner time. Kittens food is LC, but not low P.

Maybe you should speak to the vet regarding the binder dose??

I'm still using a high p food (FF). Maybe I should use low p and also add binder.

Feeding lower P and a binder would seem to make sense in an attempt to lower overall P intake


Maybe the proportions should be adjusted (mix more with a meal less with a snack).
That's where my mind was going when I was responding to your post, but I haven't got any experience of this, I've put out the question to a few folk that have.
 
Hi Carol

You have to be careful with phosphorus dosing if you are using aluminum hydroxide. Is that the one you are using? It’s a great one and my preferred one but you do have to be careful of aluminum toxicity. So please do not arbitrarily raise the dose.

For where her P level is, she should be getting 40-50 mg/lb. If she is still 10 lbs, that would be 400-500 mg a day. One half a teaspoon of loose powder is usually 600 mg. I would suggest you focus on using a much lower P food. Each meal or mini meal you feed should have P binder mixed into it.

I hope that helps.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top