1/3 Rocket PM BG 140-NS**He ATE :)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 1/3 Rocket PM BG 140-NS

Your vet sounds great and really understanding. All you can do is wait now, so try to get some rest. When you are rested and calmer Rocket will be too.
 
Re: 1/3 Rocket PM BG 140-NS

(((((((((CLAUDIA--ROCKET)))))))))) Sounds like you have a wonderful vet who really cares for you & Rocket!! You are both in my prayers & my Thoughts--
Hope tomorrow will be a brighter day!!! Big HUgs!! WE care about you...
 
Re: 1/3 Rocket PM BG 140-NS

(((Claudia)))...sorry to just get back in your condo now but we've been reading quickly to catch up. I'm so glad you got him in; so glad you do not have to worry about
his BG right now and perhaps you can get some rest. Wish I had been here earlier to also answer bupe question but looks like you got the info. Our Gussie takes maintenance dose of bupe...he weighs 10 lbs (4.5 kg) and gets .1ml bid. So I think you did a great job giving him the .32 ml....better to start at a lower dose then the vet says and see how he does....very smart. We are thinking of you and Rocket and keeping you close in prayers and thought. It sounds like your vet is right on top of everything. Please try to get some rest even if you make a bed next to him. I know we'll all be anxious to check in on you all tomorrow.
 
a small victory but well celebrated
he ate though i assist fed him..spoon fed him...not syringe

though it is gravy mixed in with baby food and liver dust....he ate it....a good serving

then as i had him on my bed i had his brush on the bed...he sort of pawed the brush almost as to indicate he wanted to be brushed so i did for a whole 16 mins...yes i counted the time....

then he wanted to go under the bed and got stuck...probably no energy to fight to get thru the blocking stuff...so i grabbed him and put him on his bed...he sort of looked drained from trying to get under the bed...he slept for a whole 10 mins....then i fed a lil more...this time not much interest....then he got up and went to pee in his litter box....another small victory...as it means he won't pee on his or my bed....

now he is under the bed...finally got thru....
next bupre dose is in 45 mins....
i think i will keep it at 0.32 or 0.40 but not the full dose....i'm hoping to have a good sleep....maybe!

overall....he seems to have had some sleep....and though i'm concerned at the results i think i'm really happy to see him look for me and knows my voice enough to want to be around...even if he goes under the bed....

i have to celebrate the small victories....i always do...all things considered....and yes he forever is my hero for pulling thru...even if it's slowly....

have not tested his bg....with the gravy i know it will go up....but i think until we know for sure what is going on he needs to eat...anything....and keep it in his tummy too....

yes...i'm tired...a bit more relaxed knowing this med has not done what the tramadol did....

VET DID SAY THAT OFTEN TIMES OTHER VETS RX TRAMADOL TO CATS THINKING THEY'RE SMALL DOGS AND SHE PERSONALLY USES IT AS LAST OPTION....SHE DOES NOT LIKE USING IT...SHE SAYS SHE WISHES IT WOULD BE PUT IN THE SAME CATEGORY AS METACAM....MEANING NOT TO BE USED IN CATS...PERIOD....
 
Wonderful news....baby steps moving forward. Please try to rest. He will need you tomorrow as he regains his strength. Sleep tight.
 
ni ni everyone...thank you for all your thoughts and prayers and well wishes....

he is eating again....this time on his own...he walked to his bowl and he got his bupre about half hr ago....gave same dose as earlier....

ni ni
 
Hi Claudia,

Such good news. Rocket ATE!!!! You guys have been in our thoughts all weekend. Take care. Will check for updates tomorrow. I hope you both get some rest tonight :YMHUG:
 
claudia, i'd give the full dose of bupe if he's still hiding. that's worrisome. it's within the normal dose range for his size. with pain, we have to stay ahead of it by keeping up with dose unless you start noticing any side effects like extreme spaciness.

right now i'm tired so i'm not positive on this (and whether you're juggling a different med that affects timing), but i'd suggest you give zofran 2 hrs before he eats. give it a little time to work on his nausea.
 
Hi Claudia & Rocket, We are very happy to hear that Rocket is feeling better and eating. That's wonderful! Keep up the good work. Today (Jan. 4th) will be a good day.

Many hugs,
Ella & Rusty
 
Small Victories!! I am so happy to see Rocket doing better!--Bupe is a great drug & pain med--I have given it to both my cats & they both did very well!
Prayers for continued recovery for our beloved Rocket! Big Get Better HUGS!--I'm also checking your condo several times a day!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top