1/3 Rocket PM BG 140-NS**He ATE :)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rocket & his Mom

Member Since 2010
yesterday viewtopic.php?f=9&t=33459

assist feeding not successful all night...not eating on his own either....relentless and agitated....sitting by waterbowl...pacing in litter box....

no insulin

no tramadol either

don't know if vet is open so i can't tell if i will take him in....the behaviour is upsetting....i fell asleep prob 2-3 hrs....and got up to find him sitting up in the bathroom where his water supply is....looks like he hasn't had any sleep either....

gave zofran at midnight....and assist fed him at 1....finished assisting at 1:30am....this is when i fell asleep....he didn't touch his food...i tested at +11.5 (i will go with that BG of 103)...tried feeding him for over half hr to no avail....

in 10 mins he gets the pheno...will wait the half hr to see if he wants to eat...if not the i'm cracking open a Clinicare can and syringe feeding him that though i know it's high in carbs....he needs to eat bottom line....

i'm extremely upset at this...not knowing which way to turn....very helpless....
 
Re: 1/3 Rocket AM BG 103-NS

Oh my guys .. I'm sorry you guys are going through this, and I really don't have any words of advice .. I know it helps just to let it out though so I will say that I will keep you guys in my prayers and be sending positive thoughts your way ...
 
Re: 1/3 Rocket AM BG 103-NS

Praying that the regular vet will be open this am!! You really need to see the vet that knows him--Sending our Most Potent Healing Vines, Prayers & Snowflakes to our friend Rocket--I know your own vet will help so much--Thinking of you every minute today--You need HUGS! And your vet!!
 
Re: 1/3 Rocket AM BG 103-NS

Sending positive thoughts and healing vines to you guys....I am so sorry about the night you had. Please feel better soon Rocket. (((Claudia & Rocket))) Counting the minutes until you can see your vet.....
 
Re: 1/3 Rocket AM BG 103-NS

WIshing that the vet is open Claudia. I'm thinking of you both and checking in as often as I can. My heart goes out to you. I know how worried you are. (((((((((Rocket)))))))))
 
Re: 1/3 Rocket AM BG 103-NS

Thinking positive thoughts that Rocket's regular vet will be open today. It is terrible to have to wait and suffer through a holiday weekend. Claudia, I'm praying for Rocket's health to return and for strength for you. You are doing everything you can. Your kitty will get better. Many hugs to you both,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 1/3 Rocket AM BG 103-NS

(((Claudia & Rocket)))

I hope your vet is in today! You're doing a great job, Rocket is lucky to have you for a bean. Please feel better, Rocket. Sending healing vines and positive thoughts for you guys. I don't know how you keep going, Claudia...I hope you can get some rest soon.
 
Re: 1/3 Rocket AM BG 103-NS

assist fed him some baby food and the gravy from the whiskas pouch....he won't touch the chunks....it's only 7:30 am....counting the seconds to see if by 8 they're open at the vet....but if they are it will prob be 9 am....he is restless

off to do fluids....see if that settles him a bit
 
Re: 1/3 Rocket AM BG 103-NS

Claudia....just sending more prayers and healing thoughts. We also hope you can get him into your regular vet today.
 
Re: 1/3 Rocket AM BG 103-NS

apt with vet at 10:20 today
i spoke with the vet tech at 7:45 am....i couldn't come back to laptop as Rocket finally got to sleep on his bed in the bedroom soon after i gave him his fluids....and if i got out of bed he would get up too...so i managed to get some sleep....prob a lil over 1 hr....

getting ready to leave in 40 mins.....

assist fed him about 20 mins ago some more baby food and the gravy.....he won't touch his food

vet tech....after i told her my ordeal....said on his file it says NO TRAMADOL UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES.....she says there is a flag on his file.....i told her i half the dose rx....she said his file is well flagged with it....so good thing i half the dose and only gave 2 times.....

she said it is due to him being on the PHENOBARBITAL AND PAST EXPERIENCE.....

so hopefully i'll get some answers soon.....
 
Re: 1/3 Rocket AM BG 103-NS-VET APT TODAY

Wow. Good thing you were able to talk to someone at your vet's office. And thank goodness you have the appointment.

Sending you prayers and good luck for some healing treatment and answers for Rocket.
(((Claudia)))
 
Re: 1/3 Rocket AM BG 103-NS-VET APT TODAY

glad yu r going to vet and that you checked that out.hope all goes well for you will be sending yu good thoughts and prayers
 
Re: 1/3 Rocket AM BG 103-NS-VET APT TODAY

Claudia, I'm glad you have an apt today..

Wow on the TRAMADOL.. good thing you didn't give it last night...

Also sending you and Rocket good thoughts and prayers. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 1/3 Rocket AM BG 103-NS-VET APT TODAY

(((((Claudia and Rocket))))) Glad you are on your way to the vet and hopefully they will help you and Rocket. I know exactly how you feel, my Ralphie is having some problems too and we can't get a line on it. Am sending positive vines, white lights and wise vettiebean vines your way. Will check back later for an update.
 
Re: 1/3 Rocket AM BG 103-NS-VET APT TODAY

Paws and fingers crossed that Rocket will be well, dx'd, and on his way to recovery by tonite-We are SO ROOTING for you!!
Be Well Dear Rocket!!
 
Re: 1/3 Rocket AM BG 103-NS-VET APT TODAY

Claudia, I am so sorry you are going through this. I feel so helpless not being able to do anything except pray. Even my DH is saying a prayer for you! Hope it goes well at the vet and you get some news about what is going on.
 
Re: 1/3 Rocket AM BG 103-NS-VET APT TODAY

I'm sending healing vines and prayers for Rocket today. I hope the vet can find some way to make Rocket feel better.
 
Re: 1/3 Rocket AM BG 103-NS-SMALL UPDATE

took him into the vet....vet sees the trembling i see...

couple of things

1)vet will check the phenobarbital levels to see where he is at...she said that if he is going LOW on his BG (by low she means below 100)....then perhaps he may not be able to sustain the phenobarbital levels....so if that's the case the pheno trumps insulin....

2)they need to keep him there for a couple of hrs to keep a close eye on him and take urine via cysto as he was not quite full to do it while we were there....she has the equipment to grow a culture and determine if it is a bacteria and he may only need abs

3)tramadol will take a while to get out of his system but with the subq it will be a lil faster

4)i told her about the er vet and her lack of knowledge...all she said to that was "don't even get me started...cats are not dogs and some people don't get that"

5)if he is in pain she said she will research until no end to determine what option there is with all his current meds....she noted that the arthritis wouldn't give him that amount of trembling so perhaps option 1 as above noted is what may be doing him in....

6)bp and temp reading was fine....except for last reading on bp that went to 230 but he was already oh so very cranky...he has maintained his weight from his last vet visit of Nov 1

7)she said for now though his BG was 103 and could be LOW based on the tramadol....that no insulin is to be given until we figure and stabilize him....she even said that with the pheno in place he may need to be a lil higher than 99 to be considered on remission....as this maybe what is causing his brain imbalance....

number 1 and 7 as above really scare the living daylights out of me....and looking back the mild trembling started when he started going low on his BG but i dismissed it cause i thought he was nervous or pissed at the constant poking....so now i'm upset that i might have done more damage to him

so that's that for now
he was shivering pretty bad when i left him so i left my winter coat on the floor for him to smell as well as his blankets....they kept him in a room not in a cage all by himself with baby food and water....

vet said she will get to the bottom of this and a plan in place....but cautioned me that as with any new plan with Rocket may be trial and error with any new med...so she said to be not upset if i see side effects...they also have buprenorphine on stock and she said we could talk more on that once she has finished her research on what is appropriate for him....

so this is it so far....i'm very anxious and upset at the same time...i just want him to be better....

btw she did ask about xmas trees and decorations and new things in the house....i showed her the pic of my xmas tree and she laughed...and no nothing new in the house aside from my folks...she laughed at that too...saying she'd be stressed out if her folks were staying with her....i guess she tried to make me laugh as i was distraught when talking to her...she knows how much i care for him....
 
Re: 1/3 Rocket AM BG 103-NS-SMALL UPDATE- LONG :(

I'm sorry you didn't get any real answers today, but hopefully with him there for a few hours the vet might get to the bottom of all of this, right? I know youre missing rocket, but he probably is in the best place right now ...
 
Re: 1/3 Rocket AM BG 103-NS-SMALL UPDATE- LONG :(

Prayers and whatever other stuff you need to get through this. Rocket is very lucky to have you on his side.

MJ&Donovan
 
Re: 1/3 Rocket AM BG 103-NS-first UPDATE- LONG :(

It sounds like your vet is doing her best to help Rocket and like she knows what she's doing. I think Rocket is in good hands. I'm still sending healing vines and prayers for Rocket. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 1/3 Rocket AM BG 103-NS-first UPDATE- LONG :(

it sounds like you have a very caring vet, that's so good to hear.

Sending healing vines for Rocket and calming ones for you
 
Re: 1/3 Rocket AM BG 103-NS-first UPDATE- LONG :(

Great vet! It sounds like she's knowledgeable and realistic and treats your feedback and observations with courtesy and respect. Do not beat up on yourself. From everything I've read, phenobarb is very safe. Drug interactions are tricky and you may have provided all of us with information about how insulin and phenobarb can effect one another.

Just one really dumb question. Is anyone in the house a smoker? If so, could Rocket have ingested any nicotine?
 
Re: 1/3 Rocket AM BG 103-NS-first UPDATE- LONG :(

just called vet to see how he is doing...the report i got is that the cysto has not been done as of yet...that he is actually resting on my jacket...good thing i left it there....that's all i know so far....

i'm pretty worried....though i know he is at the vet's the trembling is really bothersome....
 
Re: 1/3 Rocket AM BG 103-NS-first UPDATE- LONG :(

Sienne and Gabby said:
Just one really dumb question. Is anyone in the house a smoker? If so, could Rocket have ingested any nicotine?
nope...DH has asthma...pretty allergic to Rocket actually so heavily drugged in order for us 4 to live under one roof!
folks don't smoke either....no one that has visited us is a smoker...
he doesn't get into things...aside from going into boxes when we get stuff....like trying to fit himself into a shoe box for instance....
 
Re: 1/3 Rocket AM BG 103-NS-first UPDATE- LONG :(

Claudia your vet sounds awesome. She sounds very knowledgeable and has a plan in place. Rocket is in very good hands. Big hugs to you today. You did amazing taking care of him under such stressful conditions. Hugs to you.
 
Re: 1/3 Rocket is home-URGENT ? re:Buprenex dose???

sorry to use 911 icon
need to know and i postdd in health board
if the dose for buprenorphine is correct to give
he weighs 7.13 kgs
dose says buprenorphine 300 mcg/ml no flavour oral solution to be given 0.52 ml under tongue for 7 days

is that dose correct?

anyone with dosing experience with thsi med much appreciated input
 
Re: 1/3 Rocket -is home

i only managed to give him 0.32 of the dose....couldn't get him to cooperate further....

will update when i'm able to
 
Re: 1/3 Rocket -is home

Claudia & Rocket said:
i only managed to give him 0.32 of the dose....couldn't get him to cooperate further....

will update when i'm able to

Posted on health and pm'd you. If you got the .32 ml in the cheek pouch or under the tongue, it's a good trial to see if a lower dose is effective without being overly sedating. If it was swallowed orally mixed with other meds, it will likely not be effective.
 
Re: 1/3 Rocket -is home

typical dose range for his weight is 0.26 ml- 0.52 ml
so you're within that range
you gave it buccally?
linda's right, it will likely not be effective if swallowed orally
 
Re: 1/3 Rocket -is home

he held his tongue high as he thought i was pilling him so i'm certain it was under the tongue...no other meds were given...Calcitriol is roughly in 1 1/2 hrs....then pheno in 2 1/2 hrs from the bupre time....this is why i needed input right away....
 
Re: 1/3 Rocket -is home-VET's plan for him

i was sent home to give buprenorphine every 8 hrs....as posted earlier

plan

1)awaiting the urine culture to see what and if something is wrong and if so what type of abs he needs
2)bupre in place to aide him while we await results...if indeed he is in pain then he needs this med....
3)awaiting pheno levels to be checked and see if increase is needed
4)they took extra blood in case it's a pancreatitis flare up...in which case the bupre will help but they don't want me to spend the money just yet until the pheno and urine results are in and they also don't want me to bring him in to take extra blood so they thought ahead of time
5)i'm to give her a full report on how he is doing and not doing tomorrow morning....vet tech told me i can call her at 7:30 (they have call display so they know when it's me calling)
6)for now no insulin is to be given....no denosyl either as this has bad effect with a med that is processed thru liver...so note to those that give liver supplements and bupre and tramadol....that combo is no good and good thing i stopped all supplements when he did not look well....even the aluminum hydroxide
7)i'm to assist feed if need be...she said it was ok to give cypro but she thought once he is ok i can give whatever food he wants and if assisting is ok then withhold the stimulant...she said so long as he eats...but if he doesn't then the stimulant is in place....btw....mirtz can not be given to him....does not go with the pheno....for those out there that need that info
8)so now it's wait and see what happens with the bupre and his eating and peeing and all that stuff....

i told dh he is to completely block under the bed as Rocket found a way to get in there again....

so...will update when possible...thank you for your prayers, thoughts and words of encouragement....i'm still aprehensive with the new med in place...and he is the poster child for all things to go wrong....vet knows that too....she tells me he is the only complicated case she has in her clinic...and she has seen many things but he always amazes her how he responds....she said in part it's me...always being on the look out for the slightest anomaly....

so i'm really really tired...relieved but not really...i will try to do check spots on the bg and with any luck i can....she said he can't go hypo if there is no insulin given...so now i worry about what he has had and what's left in the shed.....

sent folks to buy me lots of diff kinds of food for him....gave them a long list....along with more babyfood...gave them the jar for them to bring me what i asked for....
 
Re: 1/3 Rocket -is home-VET's plan for him

(((((((((((((((((((((((((Claudia & Rocket))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))))
 
Re: 1/3 Rocket -is home-VET's plan for him

WCF and Meowzi said:
did you get a chance to discuss his calcium lvl with vet?
vet thinks it's a combo of getting double dose of Cosequin (he was getting 2 capsules daily) and perhaps the LRS too...but wouldn't say it's for sure....his iCa and PTH was fine last checked....and he has only been upped with the Cosequin since Aug 2010.....so the August lab report was fine....she said to give only 1 capsule for now and see if that lowers it...if by next test it's high we will look into it further....
 
Re: 1/3 Rocket -insulin question

Hi, Claudia & Rocket.. following your posts & thinking of the two of you :YMHUG:
I'll let others more experienced answer, but I suspect his shed is about out, he is really maintaining great #s too.
 
Re: 1/3 Rocket -insulin question

no he wont hypo with whats in the shed claudia.u didnt shoot today so he wont be having any shed hypo situations going on. i know its hard but try to get some rest while rocket naps so you feel better.so far youve done all the right things.you lisetned to your gut and that was spot on.dont worry about the amount of bupe you got into him it will be fine.alot of times a little less is ok.you can see how he is.. see how he does and u can bump it up a little more util yu reach the dose the vet rx ed for but many cats are on a little less.itll be ok.meanwhile yu rest up whenever yu can.youre a good mom
 
Re: 1/3 Rocket PM BG 140-NS

your answers and the pm bg say it all

considering the stress too...

shed is drained

can't give insulin until results on the pheno are in....

he is not sleeping....looks high....lip smacking....shortly he gets his meds
 
Re: 1/3 Rocket PM BG 140-NS

Hi Claudia..
Sounds like your vet is as determined as you are and that is nice to hear...
I am thinking bout you guys, sending hugs and prayers!
I hope you get some sleep tonite!!
I am sure you have some comfort but again, like you said not much but at least some...give mr.rocket some love and snuggles from me eh! an mowgli sends his purrs...
Mowgli lip smacked on the tram too, even for a day and a half after...
 
Re: 1/3 Rocket PM BG 140-NS

Hi Claudia, You are doing a terrific job today. Everything you have written is very clear and will be good future reference for you, and for others here, too. I'm so glad that Rocket got to see your vet and to learn that she is a really good vet. We are continuing to send heaps of healing vines, positive thoughts, prayers, and snowflakes. Get some sleep tonight, both you and Rocket.

Many hugs,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 1/3 Rocket PM BG 140-NS

((((((Claudia)))))) I'm happy that you got to your vet and have a plan. Try to get some rest, ok? He's not on insulin so no worries there. Just grab him and go curl up in bed with him.
 
Re: 1/3 Rocket PM BG 140-NS

your vet sounds awesome, Claudia. Sending prayers and white lights to Rocket.
 
Re: 1/3 Rocket PM BG 140-NS

he's hiding under the bed...managed to assist feed a lil bit of baby food....he managed to get under the bed again...i guess he is not that spaced out from the med!

keeping a close eye on him though....will assist feed shortly....with all his meds on board i think he needs quiet time...tried the cuddling with him on the bed but was short lived...lasting only 15 mins....at least i managed to give him my warmth....so he can be ok under the bed....
 
Re: 1/3 Rocket PM BG 140-NS

Claudia, I'm glad you saw Rocket's vet today. She seems like a good vet, she has a plan. Hope you can get some rest tonight. More healing vines, positive thoughts, prayers for you and Rocket... :YMHUG:
 
Re: 1/3 Rocket PM BG 140-NS

get some rest tonight Claudia. a good night's rest will make everything seem better tomorrow. your vet sounds good, thorough and sensitive to your thoughts as well. all this is good.

go to bed honey. you prolly won't be able to sleep the night thru but you need some rest.

keep us posted.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top