Pumbaa
Member Since 2012
Pumbaa's last thread was on 12/31.
Well, I aborted the dose reduction from 2.75U to a fat 2.50U after 5 cycles because I couldn't bear to see Pumbaa in those high numbers any longer, even if he was still clearing bounces. Such a small, earned dose decrease, but it failed, as far as I can tell.
Yesterday (1/2/13) he started his "drop all day" pattern, and went down from an AMPS of 266 to a recorded low of 82 at PM +6. The only reason he stayed in the 80's last night was because I was feeding him 13% carbed food every time I tested him, as I was trying to prevent a bounce today, and trying to prevent him from going so low that he would earn a dose reduction. While I excelled at picking the right percentage of carbs to feed him to manage keeping him in the 80's last night, I failed to prevent a bounce, which reared its ugly head late this morning. *sigh*
If you don't read/haven't read the entire 12/31 Pumbaa thread, here is a brief recap:
1) Chippendale's thought that Pumbaa had "stellar" numbers at his 3.25U dose. I strongly disagreed with that as Pumbaa earned a dose reduction (hitting 44 while being given higher carbed food), on his second cycle at 3.25U on 12/15. Then, on 12/17, when the shed from the 3.25U dose was most likely kicking in, if you just look at the recorded numbers, they look wonderful. But, if you mouse-over each cell of that morning's cycle, you will see the extreme effort it took for me to keep Pumbaa up in those numbers, via higher carbed food, including 19% carbs, given every hour. My point was that any cat, who has to be fed 19% carbs food every hour to keep their numbers above 50, is on too high of an insulin dose. Not a stellar or ideal dose.
2) While my goal is to get Pumbaa regulated (between 250 and 40 -- that is MY definition of regulated) on a daily basis, and keep praying that he stops bouncing/diving, Pumbaa and his diabetes is no longer the primary concern in my life, as it has been for the last 9 months. I've let too many things slide in the last 9 months, including my business, my health/sleep, my house/yard, and doing the things I need to be doing for my mom. I no longer play Pumbaa's games when he tries to avoid testing/shooting. I make an attempt to catch him, but as soon as he starts the "let's play keep-away with mom" games that used to eat up so much of my time, I ignore him, and wait until he comes out and I am easily able to grab him. I've admitted that I'm not Super Woman, and have retired my Super Woman bra!
3) The financial stress caused by not being able to concentrate on work due to being bleary-eyed from staying up all night testing Pumbaa has to stop. If we are homeless, because I can't pay the bills, where is Pumbaa going to get his care from? Just like on an airplane, when they explain taking your own oxygen mask first so that you don't pass out before helping others, I need to take care of me, and concentrate on paying for the roof over our heads and our necessary expenses, as the primary goals. Rather than chasing that elusive "perfect dose" where Pumbaa will stop bouncing and diving, while causing me to be up for 24 hours straight testing him.
Part of my decision for 2013 was based on my own health and concerns of continued financial stress, as well as input from Mel and Sheila and Marje. But the kick in the head was what Jill posted on one of my threads:
Feline diabetes is no longer representing the total sum of my life. I can't allow it to if I am going to survive and be able to care for Pumbaa in the first place.
I hope you all understand my position as of 1/1/13.
Suze
Well, I aborted the dose reduction from 2.75U to a fat 2.50U after 5 cycles because I couldn't bear to see Pumbaa in those high numbers any longer, even if he was still clearing bounces. Such a small, earned dose decrease, but it failed, as far as I can tell.
Yesterday (1/2/13) he started his "drop all day" pattern, and went down from an AMPS of 266 to a recorded low of 82 at PM +6. The only reason he stayed in the 80's last night was because I was feeding him 13% carbed food every time I tested him, as I was trying to prevent a bounce today, and trying to prevent him from going so low that he would earn a dose reduction. While I excelled at picking the right percentage of carbs to feed him to manage keeping him in the 80's last night, I failed to prevent a bounce, which reared its ugly head late this morning. *sigh*
If you don't read/haven't read the entire 12/31 Pumbaa thread, here is a brief recap:
1) Chippendale's thought that Pumbaa had "stellar" numbers at his 3.25U dose. I strongly disagreed with that as Pumbaa earned a dose reduction (hitting 44 while being given higher carbed food), on his second cycle at 3.25U on 12/15. Then, on 12/17, when the shed from the 3.25U dose was most likely kicking in, if you just look at the recorded numbers, they look wonderful. But, if you mouse-over each cell of that morning's cycle, you will see the extreme effort it took for me to keep Pumbaa up in those numbers, via higher carbed food, including 19% carbs, given every hour. My point was that any cat, who has to be fed 19% carbs food every hour to keep their numbers above 50, is on too high of an insulin dose. Not a stellar or ideal dose.
2) While my goal is to get Pumbaa regulated (between 250 and 40 -- that is MY definition of regulated) on a daily basis, and keep praying that he stops bouncing/diving, Pumbaa and his diabetes is no longer the primary concern in my life, as it has been for the last 9 months. I've let too many things slide in the last 9 months, including my business, my health/sleep, my house/yard, and doing the things I need to be doing for my mom. I no longer play Pumbaa's games when he tries to avoid testing/shooting. I make an attempt to catch him, but as soon as he starts the "let's play keep-away with mom" games that used to eat up so much of my time, I ignore him, and wait until he comes out and I am easily able to grab him. I've admitted that I'm not Super Woman, and have retired my Super Woman bra!
3) The financial stress caused by not being able to concentrate on work due to being bleary-eyed from staying up all night testing Pumbaa has to stop. If we are homeless, because I can't pay the bills, where is Pumbaa going to get his care from? Just like on an airplane, when they explain taking your own oxygen mask first so that you don't pass out before helping others, I need to take care of me, and concentrate on paying for the roof over our heads and our necessary expenses, as the primary goals. Rather than chasing that elusive "perfect dose" where Pumbaa will stop bouncing and diving, while causing me to be up for 24 hours straight testing him.
Part of my decision for 2013 was based on my own health and concerns of continued financial stress, as well as input from Mel and Sheila and Marje. But the kick in the head was what Jill posted on one of my threads:
my life has changed.most, but not all, of the early and late shots you see on alex's ss for the last couple of years reflect real life rather than tricks of the trade. i'm so not a morning person and have a very active social life. i've also come to realize i have a cat with diabetes, but feline diabetes does not represent the total sum of my life. :mrgreen:
i also believe in the KISS method.
i think there's been a tendency over the last few years to make treating feline diabetes too hard...
Feline diabetes is no longer representing the total sum of my life. I can't allow it to if I am going to survive and be able to care for Pumbaa in the first place.
I hope you all understand my position as of 1/1/13.
Suze