1/3 Ozzy PMPS 275, +2.15 215, +4 246

Status
Not open for further replies.
Ozzy didnt eat much of his breakfast...seems upset a little. Maybe he can "tell" I am going back to work. Is that possible? LOL.

Filled his auto feeder and left the rest of his breakfast out.

Shot .75u at 7:30am.
 
Last edited:
Good morning, Jo....just wanted u to know Elmo and I r holding u and Ozzy in heart and prayer. That he will be safe and u will have peace. And yes, I believe our fur babies can read us like a book when comes to sensing things :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::)
 
Great job. Not too bad but I'd sure like to see him get out of this flat yellow!

Have a great day at work....sorry you have to go back.

I'm glad you might be able to check on him and make sure he's eating. I worry more about the ketones coming back when I see a former DKA cat not eating. Just want to have that on your radar to be sure you get a ketone test whenever possible.
 
Great job. Not too bad but I'd sure like to see him get out of this flat yellow!
You and me both!
I'm glad you might be able to check on him and make sure he's eating. I worry more about the ketones coming back when I see a former DKA cat not eating. Just want to have that on your radar to be sure you get a ketone test whenever possible.
He is actually a really good eater which I'm thankful for. He woke me up at 4am this morning licking my hand for some nummies. I had already pre-programmed the feeder but I don't think he is used to it yet since I have been home for a few weeks and have not been using it for every meal. He's also pretty scared of the feeder when it rotates. I had to take him to the kitchen to show him his meal in the feeder and he was frightened of the bowl. Silly kitty!!! :cat:

Will try to get a ketone test tonight.
 
Wrong way, Ozzy.

Had he eaten, Jo?
I know! Just got back home and did a +9. He headed back down into yellow.

Some of their food was gone from this am but not all. Got him to eat a small snack when I came home at 2pm (307 reading) and then tested him again at 4pm and he came back down. Sometimes I think when he doesn't eat enough, his BG actually goes up not down. Is that possible?
 
he finished off some food in kitchen about hr ago...about1.5oz. Should I try to feed him again before 7pm? That's in 30 mins.
 
@Marje and Gracie @Chris & China
put down some homemade chix and he didnt want it. tried some friskies pate and he is eating now. His appetite is wierd and unexpected today.

Tried to get a ketone test on him 3xs tonight with no luck. Will try again after his dinner.

Shooting in less than 10 mins. Going with .75U again, right?

PMPS 275
 
.75u or 1u tonight? what do you guys think? This is cycle 7. PMPS 275 with some pink this afternoon. Im 6 mins late to shoot at 7pm.
 
Last edited:
Sorry.....We’ve been out all day and then to dinner.

I’m concerned about the not eating. If you didn’t shoot, what do you think about shooting 1u?
 
Tried again for a ketone test and he just won't pee for me tonight. I did get a test on Figgie (welcome to the fun!!) and he is not a diabetic and the result looked mixed between negative and trace too.
 
I wanted to get that to you quickly. I’m just suggesting 1u because the not eating as well and him acting “weird” and you not being able to get a ketone test has me a little worried.

I’ll be home tonight to watch out for you two. It would be good if you can focus on getting food and water into him even if you have to syringe it. Is he active?
 
Thanks! Sorry for the bother! Hope you had a nice night out and a great dinner! It's cold out here. My brother lived in Tuscon and I know it's freezing there! Stay warm!!!
 
I’m glad he’s feeling ok but I still think it is best to be sure he’s eating and drinking well.

For any lurkers: the advice to raise the dose is only because of Ozzy’s history with DKA, his flat numbers, his eating being off a bit today, and we have no ketone tests for today. Please do not follow this dosing advice; it is meant for Ozzy under these circumstances only.
 
I'm glad you increased tonight....it's what I would have suggested too

Ozzy is looking better on the lantus though.....isn't having those wild dives and bounces!! Now we just have to find a better dose for him!!

Work that juice Ozzy!!

(don't forget to keep your spreadsheet updated)
 
Thanks Ms. Chris!!:)

I think he looks more stable and predictable on lantus now too..although its still early. I feel a LOT more comfortable saftey-wise on this insulin.

Gonna update spreadsheet here soon. Been keeping paper records since I have less access to laptop when at work. Work computer won't let me access Google Drive. Darn firewalls!!
 
I have literally been stalking him all night for a ketone test. Just watered down his 9pm snack really good so I'm hopeful. He is peeing in secret!!! o_O
 
That's a pretty good drop. He gets a nice onset.
It's an ok drop, right? I think last time he had a drop like this, he leveled out quickly and didn't go too much lower during the cycle (see AM cycle on 1/2/2016).

Haha...he probably can't figure out why you are so suddenly interested in his pee!
I tried a new tactic right now. Tried to toss him in the box right after his 9pm meal (that I watered down good) and he still wouldn't pee. So I locked him out of the room with the litter box and am going to take him back in there shortly and see if he'll pee then for me. Poor kitty!!!

Spreadsheet is updated!!! It's going to be hard to update it throughout the day. I write down written records and can update it in the evening. But will post numbers as tests are completed.

Set my alarm to get a +4. Should be up till then...but just in case...
 
Ya!!! My tactic worked---- took him back into the litter box and finally got him to pee. I really think he's getting a little traumatized with me constantly putting him in the LB. Poor Kitty! I feel bad....he must think he's in trouble or something!:(

So his ketone test looked mostly negative to me. I tested Figgie earlier this evening (he does not have FD) and their tests looked exactly the same so I feel comfortable saying his ketone test is negative. YAY!:):):)
 
Absolutely. I am headed to bed since he's safely high.

It is very unlikely I'll be up at 7 your time tomorrow. There should be people on in the morning...the east coasters will have been up awhile....in case you need help deciding whether to shoot.

There should be night owls like Tricia around tonight if you get in a bind but let's hope we just see some nice blue.

Here's for a nice blue surf. Hope your day back at work went well.

Great job on the ketone test. Nighty night!
 
+4 = 246.

BG went up. Kind of disappointing. o_O

Going to bed....he's high so no worries he's going to drop too low.

Hopefully he will level out and have a lower nadir later tonight. Hoping for a good PS # tomorrow am.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top