1/3 Ozy PMPS-138,+10-136

Status
Not open for further replies.

donaleen and Ozy

Member Since 2013
previous http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=111124

We shot 2 hours late and took a dose reduction. I have a clock where I track Ozy Cycle time...I set it so 10 AM/PM is at 12. I am using it a lot today so I don't get confused about what time it is in his cycle.

Too tired to write much. Ozy is doing well. Thanks to Sandy, Wendy, Julie and Marje who all helped us through the night and advised us on what to do. Hugs to you all.

Update@AM+1.5: Ozy has the 5 Ps; he is feeling and looking really good, and he is playing quite vigorously. In fact, he is in much better shape than we are. It's like he has had a day at the spa. Not us, though. No 5P's for us. John says we are really failing preening.

Update@AM+7.5: We had an active play time. It was fun. He is a fun guy when he feels good.

Update: I modified my SS so it has links back to my condo. I think I will put one in once a week.

donaleen
 
Re: 1/3 Ozy AMPS-88,+1-103

Wow, Donaleen and John, you had a wild ride yesterday! You must all be exhausted. How lucky for you that Ozy puts up with that much poking. Cinco gets cranky if I just try to do a curve, let alone test every 30 minutes or more. Hope he surfs for you and doesn't give you any palpitations today. I know how you felt about watching him play - Cinco has never been a playful cat (since we've had him, I mean), so on the rare occasions that he does bat something around, I get all choked up. All kitties should play, and it makes you feel like they are feeling good when they do. Hope you can all get some rest, and keep up the good work - you are awesome beans!

:thumbup
 
Re: 1/3 Ozy AMPS-88,+1-103

How wonderful to see Ozy doing so well. I hope you can get caught up on some sleep. That's great your DH is willing to help you. You're both doing a great job.
 
Re: 1/3 Ozy AMPS-88,+1-103

dancing_cat dancing_cat dancing_cat
Just having my first cup of coffee ~O)
When I saw Ozy at 110 last night, 4 hours after he last ate I figured he was on his way to a bounce. . .today would be the day too try R. .
Ozy is indeed full of surprises!

After I got up today, as I was making the bed, I remembered you were considering a schedule change and that this may be ann opportunity to do so. I was so irritated that I did not think of it last night. . . :-x

But you guys did – :-D
Well done!

About using a BCS (which by the way stands for Big Chicken. . .Shot ;-) ) -
For HD kitties it’s always and option. Action can be particularly unpredictable with an IAA kitty. "know thy cat" is more of a challenge.
Remember-
• IAA can lead to an increase in the half-life of free (unbound) insulin in circulation because some bound insulin gets released into circulation.
• The increase in half-life can lead to prolongation of action.
• The release of insulin from the antibodies can happen at inopportune times

julie & punkin (ga) said:
right - i hadn't seen that option. hopefully the 2 hr stall + a 0.5u reduction is a combination that will keep up the momentum without getting him into the 30's today. :mrgreen:

Time will tell. I think it was a good choice, however Ozy must be monitored closely, which I have confidence you guys will do.

Stay tuned for the next episode of the Ozy show !

Oh one more thing. . .

You guys have earned it. :cool:
 

Attachments

  • BOS (252x400).jpg
    BOS (252x400).jpg
    73.2 KB · Views: 567
Re: 1/3 Ozy AMPS-88,+1-103,+3-145

Thank you Tricia, Julie, Carla and Sandy.

And thanks for the award, Sandy. Thank you, Sandy, for losing sleep with us and I'm sorry we did that to you. Except for the fact that it happened at night and I am exhausted, I find low numbers easier to deal with than the fear that grips me when he goes high and I worry about ketones. Now that scares me because I don't think there is much I can do. If he is low, I can feed him. What can I do when he is high?

Nap time...
 
Re: 1/3 Ozy AMPS-88,+1-103,+3-145

I'm happy to help. :cool:

many where the nights Jojo/Bunny and/or Jill/Alex were up well into the wee hours brainstorming strategy, offering guidance, holding our hands (not to mention holding their breath and biting their nails nailbite_smile) during BKs wild ride.
donaleen and Ozy said:
Update@AM+1.5: Ozy has the 5 Ps; he is feeling and looking really good, and he is playing quite vigorously. In fact, he is in much better shape than we are. It's like he has had a day at the spa.
So happy to hear this. .
donaleen and Ozy said:
Not us, though. No 5P's for us. John says we are really failing preening.
:lol: :lol: :lol:
At times like these I try to remember what the late Irma Bombeck used to say:

"If it's not on fire or blocking the fridge, it can wait"

Try and grab 40 winks where you can
BBL :cool:
 
Re: 1/3 Ozy AMPS-88,+1-103,+3-145

Sandy and Black Kitty said:
At times like these I try to remember what the late Irma Bombeck used to say:

"If it's not on fire or blocking the fridge, it can wait"

BWAHAHAHAHAHA i love that!
 
Re: 1/3 Ozy AMPS-88,+1-103,+3-145

Well done Ozy! Not too bad a start to the day given the delay and reduced shot. :-D :-D

I'm glad to see that you and John have your humor about you today Donaleen. Preening can wait. :lol: You are probably good for a nice 2-3 hour nap now. Or as the sign on my favorite printer shop said today "Tis the season to be tired - there's a nap for that".
 
Re: 1/3 Ozy AMPS-88,+1-103,+3-145

My remedy for all things the days....nap. In the sun :-D

I'm hoping what we might start to see is just a normal lev curve with some nice flat green....maybe up a little bit at the end of the cycle before the next shot onsets.

Hope you are sleeping!
 
Re: 1/3 Ozy AMPS-88,+1-103,+3-145,+5-116

Gee, and I thought there was going to some drama-rama in Ozy's condo. :-D :-D Kind of boring (anti-jinx).
Liz
 
Re: 1/3 Ozy AMPS-88,+1-103,+3-145,+5-116,+7-125

Thanks Wendy, Julie, Marje, and Liz. I DID have a nap for that. John had a nice long nap, too. He is in the basement working on a little project for a neighbor. I am still pretty comatose but awake.

We are ready to be the quiet folks with NO drama. I am down with boring.

Here is my BIG project for today. Overlaying clock time and what I think his Levemir cycles may be like.
 

Attachments

  • ClockLevemirTime.jpg
    ClockLevemirTime.jpg
    17.4 KB · Views: 508
Re: 1/3 Ozy AMPS-88,+5-116,+7-125,+9.5-123

Very nice day for Ozy especially after that low yesterday :-D

I can't see your project....it blurs if I try to enlarge it. :smile:
 
Re: 1/3 Ozy AMPS-88,+5-116,+7-125,+9.5-123

Fingers crossed you have a dull and uneventful night tonight. The first time I earned a BOS Award I had no idea what it was! When they explained it to me I laughed and laughed. Ozy is soooo beautiful and Pippin, omg, what a cute little peanut!!! Thank you again for the attention you paid us last night and today. Tiki wanders into the 30's all the time, when he dives it's always into the deep end of the lagoon. :roll: Thankfully, it's usually followed by a nice BOUNCE that allows me to recoup the following day. I am surprised Ozy's numbers haven't been higher today, but that's a good thing. Hopefully he is on his way to leveling out for you.
 
Re: 1/3 Ozy PMPS-138

Hi, Marje. It was a silly endeavor. The endeavor of a sleep deprived person. I am so tired tonight I feel almost weepy. I need sleep.

Hi, Tonya. Thanks for stopping by. I hope all goes well.

Just waiting for Ozy to finish eating so we can shoot and sleep.
 
Re: 1/3 Ozy PMPS-138

i know that so tired you want to weep feeling - it sucks. i hope you can get a decent amount tonight. yay for a boring day! and still, not bad numbers at all - everything under 200!

I tried to look at it too, but it's pretty tiny. good idea to try to graph the nadirs, though.
 
Hi, Julie. I got to sleep! John stepped up and did most of the testing last night. It was wonderful!

He has been blue all night, creeping toward yellow but at +10, he dropped to lower blues. I hope this dose works for him. As he crept toward yellow, my trigger finger got itchy.

We are adjusting to our new schedule (shooting at 10 and 10)...Dinner was a more relaxed affair and this morning is blessedly more relaxed as well. I did notice that no one but me was on last night at PMPS. Ten at night Pacific time might not be a good time for any advice....
 
Re: 1/3 Ozy PMPS-138

I was watching, but not logged on, at 10PM last night. Marje is often around then too, as well as Julie. Good to hear that Ozy is managing to hold onto the blues. :-D Give John a big hug from us - he did great!
 
I was watching, too, but finally went to bed at 11:30 to get some sleep. If it's quiet on the board, I just pop on and off to check and make sure there are no emergencies instead of getting on and staying on.

Glad you got some rest. John is doing super and I like Ozy's flat cycle. The higher numbers could be the delayed shot plus the reduction so let's just give him a. It and see what he does.

I won't be on the rest of the day or tonight.....we are having a big dinner party. Have a great day!
 
Thanks Wendy and Marje, my guardian angels.

I need some help with Ozy's civvie Pippin. Where should I post that? Here or Feline Health? Pippin is a tiny little thing, 5lb 10oz and fully grown.
 

Attachments

  • DSCN0058.JPG
    DSCN0058.JPG
    44.3 KB · Views: 435
I popped on and off last night around then too. I think we'll be able to give you help even shooting at 10/10.

You could ask about Pippin here in Ozy's condo - ya got a lotta eyes following you right now! :-D

I think it's perfectly possible we're seeing a little bit of a bounce from the 37. don't increase the dose! calm that trigger finger so we can see what he does with 6.0u. With Lev/Lantus, it takes a few cycles to readjust to a new dose. All of his numbers are still great and well below renal threshold, ie, they're not hurting his kidneys. We don't want him back in the 30's. Let's give him a chance to do his thing.
 
Pippin is Ozy's nearly three year old civvie. He weighs just 5lb 10oz (on a good day). Because he is so small, we worry about any health issues. He is tiny and he is skinny despite our best efforts. The vet would like him to be at least 6 lb, but we can't get him there.

I think he has a delicate digestive system. Higher carb foods don't agree with him. But no matter what we feed him, he throws up occasionally. In August it became so frequent that we had a house call vet visit. She found nothing wrong and his blood work was perfect. She was concerned about him for the same reasons we are... tiny, skinny.

However, he continues to throw up occasionally. Probably if he were larger, we wouldn't worry so much about it.

For a while we suspected hair balls but I don't think that is it. Mostly he throws up fresh food or sometimes a clear liquid. It's a forceful kind of throwing up.

I keep a Google Docs SS for him, detailing his throw up incidents.

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/ccc?key=0AqCxgyuIGH9TdEI2NE9pcUtqXzV1ZURWN1QxV1VkWFE&usp=sharing

We would appreciate any advice.

He is the star in John's heart.

thanks
donaleen and John
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top